Chevron Left
Writing in the Sciences(으)로 돌아가기

스탠퍼드 대학교의 Writing in the Sciences 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.9
별점
4,014개의 평가
1,382개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course teaches scientists to become more effective writers, using practical examples and exercises. Topics include: principles of good writing, tricks for writing faster and with less anxiety, the format of a scientific manuscript, peer review, grant writing, ethical issues in scientific publication, and writing for general audiences....

최상위 리뷰

SD
2020년 2월 25일

Respected Dr.kristiani sainani madam and coursera.\n\nI thank you for the wonderful classes and presentations, it really didn't made me feel that i was learning online course but as in class learning.

KK
2020년 9월 14일

Hello Kristin\n\nThank you for teaching me the basics of academic writing and editing with proper grammar. In this course, I was introduced to the scientific panel which further enriched my knowledge.

필터링 기준:

Writing in the Sciences의 1,382개 리뷰 중 1276~1300

교육 기관: José A M

2019년 1월 10일

awesome

교육 기관: Martha C

2018년 3월 19일

Great.

교육 기관: Nasratullah T

2020년 11월 22일

great

교육 기관: Dina S B

2019년 12월 20일

great

교육 기관: aya s

2019년 3월 21일

great

교육 기관: Ishan P D

2018년 4월 23일

Great

교육 기관: Ketan G

2018년 12월 11일

Good

교육 기관: Ser X P

2018년 11월 2일

Good

교육 기관: ahmedyousef

2020년 6월 12일

O

교육 기관: Fernando E

2020년 6월 11일

.

교육 기관: Nasser a a

2020년 4월 16일

.

교육 기관: Zaid

2020년 4월 15일

A

교육 기관: Tarek S

2019년 7월 27일

.

교육 기관: Katherine A

2017년 12월 26일

E

교육 기관: Mehdi K

2020년 2월 17일

The main instructor is a great teacher. I have particularly enjoyed the first half of the course that gives general writing tips, applicable to manuscripts as well as lay articles. I enjoyed the optional edit videos, they are very informative. The anecdotes about writers/scientists/plagiarism, etc. are also very entertaining.

The second half of the course is not always as focused on writing (e.g. interviewing/being interviewed, social media, etc.), which is ok, but not what I expected. For example, I did not find Amy Adams' videos very useful. For social media in particular, I expected to learn how to write punchy yet accurate social media posts (since this course is about writing). Instead, the video was more of an introduction to "what is social media".

The certificate provided by Stanford Online has some layout issues, I hope this can be fixed soon.

Overall I recommend this course for beginner writers, it is very useful!

교육 기관: Carlos C

2018년 12월 17일

I really liked this course. This is the first time someone taught me how to write effectively for different purposes. I mean, teaching these things is so valuable, but no professor I have had since high school has ever taken the time to teach this simple concepts with examples as well, such as cutting the clutter, using more verbs, using the active voice instead of the passive voice, etc. Although I started this course to just learn how to write effectively, I didn't like the last units because they consisted on how to write papers, how to submit them, etc., and I wasn't searching for that. But for everything else, excellent course and excellent professor. The course is designed to constantly test your skills and make sure you learns all the writing principles. Also, and especially for me that English is not my native language, I have seen that I can use this principles to write effectively in Spanish.

교육 기관: Nedyu Y

2019년 5월 15일

I was searching for slightly different course, more in direction 'Medical writing', and found by chance the one by Dr. Kristin Sainani. Still, I found the course very useful! I is structured very well and covers all topics needed for academic writing. It goes even beyond, covering particular types of written pieces like review papers, grants, letters of recommendation, and personal essays. I found units 1, 2, 3, discussing the key principles of effective writing at grammatical level, very useful, but my favourite was unit 8 about the communication to broader audiences (e.g. writing newsletter articles) including handling media relations. Great asset of the course are the live demos - really excellent job! Units 4, 5, 6, 7 were very informative, but less useful for my area of work.

A small recommendation would be to improve the sound of some few videos.

교육 기관: John W

2017년 10월 29일

A very nice overview of writing for the sciences -- everything from journal articles, peer reviews, letters of recommendation, to news items and press releases. Many of the main points were known to me -- remove jargon, use the active voice -- were already known to me, but it always good to be reminded. I also learned some new things -- for example, I had never heard of a "nut-graf" before!

One suggestion for improvement: the series of (three?) interviews with Kristin's colleagues were somewhat repetitive. I believe she asked the same series of questions to each of the three subjects. It would have been better, in my opinion, to focus on different topics with each one, and give each interview its own unique subject.

All in all, a very well-organized and well-taught class.

교육 기관: Sherrill H

2020년 11월 9일

I would recommend this as an interesting and useful course for coming to grips with difficulties faced when communicating scientific activity to non-scientists and also for thinking about how to promote/market one's own research to others within the scientific field, like funding committees or journal editors. I'm still not convinced that peer assessment adds much to the quality of learning, at this level, because course participants represent such a wide range of scientific knowledge and experience.

교육 기관: Aleem A

2020년 4월 30일

This is really useful and informative course for both beginners and advanced level researchers. I learned many practical things from this course which will continue to help me throughout my academic career. I suggest some reordering of the units for future editions of the course: for example: the first three units delved right into the sentence-level editing. It would be much more efficient and engaging if the next editions start right from the pre-writing phase (unit 4 of the current course).

교육 기관: Rouletta B

2019년 11월 18일

Very informative, most of the information is presented in a way that is easily viewed and understood. The biggest con is that when the edits/markups are performed using pen/pencil on the slides are basically impossible to see on the Coursera format. If we could view them full screen or as actual slides it might be easier, but to try to follow someone's edits verbally is really difficult. Overall the course was fantastic!

교육 기관: Akshay w

2020년 8월 29일

The course offers you all the fundamental and comprehensive guidelines in a very practical and easy to understands way.Dr.Kristin Sainani is a great tutor. I loved the optional editing videos, they really gave me an insight into editing. I would recommend this course to everyone who wants to hone his/her skills in Scientific Writing. I hope Coursera comes up with more such courses on scientific and medical writing.

교육 기관: tanujsapra

2018년 7월 8일

Overall I really liked this course. Even with many years of experience in writing and publishing papers, I learnt a lot. There were certain instances where I did not agree with Dr. Sainani's recommendations. But one's writing choice and style sometimes boils down to personal taste and the scientific content. I hope there is an advanced version of this course in the near future.

교육 기관: Stacey C

2020년 10월 8일

I really enjoyed the beginning part of this course, with lots of tips on how to remove clutter, cut out jargon and improve clarity. The latter part of the course- discussing how to do media interviews etc. didn't feel like it belonged in the course. I loved the parts that focused on preparing manuscripts, as that will have a lot of value to me down the road.