Chevron Left
Writing in the Sciences(으)로 돌아가기

스탠퍼드 대학교의 Writing in the Sciences 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.9
별점
5,606개의 평가
1,917개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course teaches scientists to become more effective writers, using practical examples and exercises. Topics include: principles of good writing, tricks for writing faster and with less anxiety, the format of a scientific manuscript, peer review, grant writing, ethical issues in scientific publication, and writing for general audiences....

최상위 리뷰

SD
2020년 2월 25일

Respected Dr.kristiani sainani madam and coursera.\n\nI thank you for the wonderful classes and presentations, it really didn't made me feel that i was learning online course but as in class learning.

KK
2020년 9월 14일

Hello Kristin\n\nThank you for teaching me the basics of academic writing and editing with proper grammar. In this course, I was introduced to the scientific panel which further enriched my knowledge.

필터링 기준:

Writing in the Sciences의 1,962개 리뷰 중 176~200

교육 기관: Danijela P

2020년 6월 24일

Scientific writing seems so easy and simple when Dr. Kristin Sainani speaks about it! When you try it yourself, of course, it's not quite like that ... at least in the beginning :) This course allowed me to get one step (and not a small one!) closer to that goal. It helped me structure the topic in my head and make things simpler and easier - in thoughts and sentences. I am infinitely grateful for that!

교육 기관: Maciej B

2020년 6월 7일

It is an excellent course, full of precious information and it was a pleasure to take part in. Some of the information were very surprising to get to know, as some teaching models of how to write papers are usually totally different (lots of clutter and passive voice). Thus, it made me feel more comfortable to change my mind about scientific writing and try to experiment on this, using gained knowledge.

교육 기관: Anne T

2019년 12월 17일

I found Writing in the Sciences incredibly helpful and challenging. I wish I had known about this course when I was handed a manuscript assignment without having had any previous experience writing a journal submission. Dr. Kristin Sainani is clear and concise (and personable!) in her presentations. I highly recommend this course for anyone who is or will be writing scientifically or needs a refresher.

교육 기관: Swadhin S

2020년 5월 25일

The course covers lots of technical aspects of writing manuscript, review, recommendation letter, and science news. The course is very helpful for biological science grad student/postdoc. There are real examples of good and bad writing from Nature/Cell/Science journals. The quizzes at the end of each module are easy—if someone carefully listens to the video. I would highly recommend taking this course.

교육 기관: Adam R

2020년 6월 8일

As a high school student in South Korea, this course has assisted me in developing the writing skills that I did not have and also helped me to receive grant for my current project!

It is a great course that is so helpful now and I believe it to be even more helpful in the future!

Thanks to Dr. Sainani and many other doctors and professors who have put in their effort to create this WONDERFUL course!

교육 기관: Fabio M M

2020년 11월 23일

Very complete course, which give an exhaustive overview of all there's to learn about writing in the science, with many practical examples and exercise. Dr. Kristin Sainani is a very competent scientist and writer and very able to communicate the lessons with explanations and humor. She also gives her personal opinion on various aspects of writing, which is good in this case, in my opinion.

교육 기관: Heder d V

2019년 1월 2일

This course has been an eye-opener. I used to dread writing new, original articles. I could barely bring myself to start. This course has provided me with useful tips and tricks to start writing more effectively. It has also thought me more on the basis of writing, and on some tendencies that exist in academic writing.

Thanks to this course, I now look forward to writing my next manuscript!

교육 기관: Jorge V

2018년 7월 23일

The course has met all my expectations as it added pertinent information to my knowledge and answered basically all of my questions towards scientific writing style. Kristin Sainani has proven overwhelming qualified as a writing coach, encouraging me to write more confidently and clearly. And last but not least, this course addresses only what is relevant or pretinent to a piece of writing.

교육 기관: Reza J

2021년 10월 18일

I found this course almost necessary for anyone who's interested in continuing an academic career as a PhD student. It was a bit hard for me to solve the assignments as I'm not a native English speaker but later it became a reason to be able to search more deeply and efficiently ! I've recommended this course almost anywhere online, to pay Coursera back ! thanks for this great opportunity.

교육 기관: Simone S

2020년 6월 4일

It was a pleasure! A great course I can only recommend.

Very well chosen real-live-examples taken from current research literature.

I was able to deepen my grammar knowledge in English as well as gain experience with writing styles. I have developed a feeling for the linguistic differences between German and English. And I was surprised how precise you can be with a few well-chosen words.

교육 기관: Ana C d S

2020년 6월 20일

An incredible course! I can’t say enough about how much I’ve learned. It leads you through most types of texts you might find in scientific field in a very simple though complete way. However, I’d recommend it to students - specially graduate - from areas related to Medicine or Biology. Math, Physics or Engineering students might feel a bit bored, althouh they can benefit from it as well.

교육 기관: Sheetal D

2020년 6월 7일

The teacher is very enthusiastic and has done wonderful job. The difficulty level of the course increases slowly and steadily. I think there can be one more session on news and communication article. Grant writing module is really useful. My only criticism is course gives examples mainly from biological sciences and other sciences are kind of ignored. In all wonderful learning experience.

교육 기관: Safeena A

2018년 11월 2일

This course has polished the hidden scientific writer inside me. This was a totally new experience, and I am very thankful to Coursera team for offering such skill-polishing courses. The most important thing I learnt from this course is that scientific writing is not always meant to be too hard to understand, we can make our writing very simple and easy to understand. Highly recommended!

교육 기관: Lluis C B

2020년 8월 30일

I would like to acknowledge Dr. Kristin Sainani for the great initiative of this course, open to the broad scientific audience. Writing in Science is comparable to switch on the lights—everyone assumes light will happen, but the difference when turns to write in science is that most of the time it does not. Here comes the need for more similar courses along the scientist's career path.

교육 기관: Pedro C S F

2018년 6월 6일

I am happy that this was my first (actually finished) on-line course. I really liked it. It is very well done, very pragmatic and instructive. I found the teacher great - engaging, fun, direct... I liked her a lot. I have started applying some of the learning, I hope the course content will stay on-line because I am sure I will need to revise certain areas as I put them to practice.

교육 기관: Suping R

2020년 9월 25일

The course gives a thorough training of scientific writing. The course provides a lot of demo editing to help students to understand. Every minute in this online course worths the value. I should have learned this course when I was in graduate school. I recommend this course to anyone who is in the science field. I hope I still can access to the course to review from time to time.

교육 기관: KAVATI V

2020년 7월 20일

The course is very nicely delivered. The Instructor Dr. Kristin Sainani is very effectively taught this course. I learned how to read a research paper and write its summary. Writing a lay-summary of a scientific paper, writing a scientific news story was really interesting. The quizzes and peer reviewed assignments were awesome. I strongly recommend this course for future learners.

교육 기관: shazia s

2021년 2월 5일

Kristina Siani is the best course conductor of Coursera, and I take her as my real teacher. The course is excellent, and it has prepared me well for writing quality studies. I am incredibly thankful to the Coursera team, Stanford University, and Madam Kristina Siani for giving me the opportunity of attending such a knowledgeable course with the best delivery I have ever experienced

교육 기관: Carol R

2020년 5월 3일

Excellent course! Dr Kristiani Sainani presents in a very pleasant and engaging manner.

25 years in the medical field and I learned much to benefit from this course. Details on approaching and organizing your scientific paper invaluable. Many essential tips. Makes writing for the author and audience more interesting. I know I will refer back to my notes during my doctorate studies.

교육 기관: Ahmad A D

2018년 9월 16일

I am so pleased and happy. I have no words to describe my feelings. I would say that this course made a breakthrough in my writing knowledge. This course answered too many questions that I have had in my science writing. I have tried to ask many people who are experts in writing in the science field, however, I did not get enough and adequate answers. Thank you so much Dr. Sainani.

교육 기관: Eric B

2020년 3월 29일

This is an amazing course! I am a researcher, and I intend to make it mandatory for all the grad students who come into my lab - everyone should take this course at the beginning of their graduate degree. Some small topics are missing: 1. Reporting Guidelines (equator-network.org) - key in writing papers. 2. Describing statistical analyses. But, in general this course is an A++!

교육 기관: Faride U F

2020년 6월 29일

Me gustó mucho este curso puesto que tenía todos los requerimientos que yo quería para mejorar la parte de escritura de textos científicos. Creo que viene detallado conforme a áreas y eso también me agradó mucho. El único pero que le pongo es la calificación por compañeros, puesto que varias tareas no fueron revisadas por nadie y eso no me permitió mostrar el curso como concluido

교육 기관: Maureen B

2020년 3월 20일

The instructor was very knowledgeable; she provided many opportunities to apply the skills we learned. The skills and knowledge I learned are applicable to what I want to do and I believe my writing has improved as a result. I also review other people's work, and this course helps me in that regard as well. I recommend it and I will definitely sign up for another Coursera course.

교육 기관: Pierre O

2019년 1월 24일

Despite targeting medical students (and being an outsider– I am an ecologist), the course is well explained and gave me many tips in the different fields that touch scientific writing: writing research papers, grant applications and popular summaries.Totally recommend 200%.

N.B. The teacher is awesome and an amazing communicator. The mentors are awesome too and give great advises.

교육 기관: Francisco L L

2018년 4월 16일

Excellent tips for writing and structuring your work. Some parts (examples) are focused on specific research (medicine, biology, ...) and the vocabulary can be found difficult to read, nevertheless it does not affect in any way how the course is taught or assessed.

I am a Phd candidate and I feel it was the right choice to take this course to improve my scientific writing skills.