Chevron Left
Script Writing: Write a Pilot Episode for a TV or Web Series (Project-Centered Course)(으)로 돌아가기

미시간주립대학교의 Script Writing: Write a Pilot Episode for a TV or Web Series (Project-Centered Course) 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.4
428개의 평가
162개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

What you’ll achieve: In this project-centered course*, you will design a series bible and write a complete pilot episode for your own unique television or web series, be it drama or comedy or something in between. You’ll learn to break down the creative process into components, and you’ll discover a structured process that allows you to produce a polished and pitch-ready script in just a few weeks. Completing this project will increase your confidence in your ideas and abilities, and you’ll feel prepared to pitch your first script and get started on your next. This is a course designed to tap into your creativity and is based in "Active Learning". Most of the actual learning takes place within your own activities - that is, writing! You will learn by doing. "Thank you so much for your direct way of teaching this course. It was encouraging for us all to creatively flow and find our own voice in writing and developing our scripts. This aspect was very important to me." Ingrid The course curriculum is simple: you’ll write, revise your work, and share feedback with your peers. I am a proponent of Experiential Learning (active learning). My lectures are short (sometimes just two minutes long) and to the point, designed in a step-by-step process essential to your success as a script writer. I will guide you but I won’t "show" you how to write. I firmly believe that the only way to become a writer is to write, write, write. “David's lecture style for this course is inspired. The videos are succinct and engaging. When I watch the lectures I feel David’s sincere desire for me to create something truly amazing. He is teaching us how to write a script, and he is providing wisdom and tools that will help us do so in a compelling way - by writing; not by watching him talk at us.” - A R Adamson What you’ll need to get started: To begin with, any basic word processor will do. During week two, you can choose to download some free scriptwriting software such as Celtx or Trelby or you may choose to purchase Final Draft, or you can continue to use your word processor and do your own script formatting. Learner Review: "I am in love with this course. Having never written a script before, or any substantive fiction since college (15 years ago) I had a small idea in my head that has now exploded into something I really believe in. David's guidance is spot on, he's his own compelling story teller, he gives you enough, and then you have to figure it out, make it happen, WRITE! WRITE! WRITE! " *About Project-Centered Courses: This is a ‘project-centered course’, which means it is designed specifically to help you complete a personally meaningful real-world project, with your instructor and a community of learners with similar goals providing guidance and suggestions along the way. By actively applying new concepts as you learn, you’ll master the course content more efficiently; you’ll also get a head start on using the skills you gain to make positive changes in your life and career. When you complete the course, you’ll have a finished project that you’ll be proud to use and share. Time: 1-2 hours of study, 30+ hours of active project work...

최상위 리뷰

AA

Jun 14, 2016

David Wheeler is awesome, and I love this course! I am so glad that Coursera and Michigan State University have partnered to offer this course to those of us who have a thirst for learning! Thank you!

JF

Sep 28, 2016

Fantastic course, loved the way it walked you step by step through the process and the formatting. This course could have been ten weeks and still wouldn't be enough. Awesome hands on learning.

필터링 기준:

Script Writing: Write a Pilot Episode for a TV or Web Series (Project-Centered Course)의 160개 리뷰 중 101~125

교육 기관: Annette B

Mar 29, 2019

Excellent preparation for those of us interested in writing scripts for movies, t

교육 기관: Karolina A A

Jun 17, 2019

Awesome and very good course. Thanks for them you can get very useful knowledge

교육 기관: Jenifer V

Jun 22, 2019

This has been the best learning experience for me.

교육 기관: Brainerd P

Jul 10, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed doing this course. I really learnt how to write a script for digital media. The sessions were really well crafted and kept us moving a step at a time towards the final goal. I was also very impressed by the sincere feedback I got from my peers. It was indeed a bunch of us learning together, a scriptwriting skill and it was a fantastic experience. I am thoroughly pleased that I am able to exit this course with 30 pages of script that have been peer-reviewed! I highly recommend this course to all budding screenplay writers!

교육 기관: Matthew R

Jul 17, 2019

This course really helped me organize my ideas and be able to succinctly get my script together in an organized way.

교육 기관: Gustavo A R R

Jul 20, 2019

Great course! It has helped me face the blank sheet fear and also has out me on work while analyzing my virtues and defects!

교육 기관: Mikhail P

Jul 20, 2019

Really helped me to finish my script, finally! thanks!

교육 기관: Robert M

Jul 23, 2019

This course changed my life and helped me harness a genius within i never thought i had!

교육 기관: Gill K

Aug 06, 2019

I loved this - wanted a "companion" to keep me going on the latest script idea - and found many! David's course is really user-friendly and introduced me to new approaches which made the process much easier than what I've done in the past. I've got a first draft I'm genuinely happy with - very highly recommend this!

교육 기관: Fiona B R

Aug 05, 2019

I really learnt a lot from this course, would highly reccommend.

교육 기관: Christopher P W

Aug 09, 2019

I truly loved this. I never knew how much of my story I had to give and this has put me on my way. Thank you so much.

교육 기관: Bryan G

May 07, 2019

It was a great learning experience!!

교육 기관: JK S

Apr 26, 2019

excellent

교육 기관: Alexander J C

Aug 21, 2019

It is very useful for my future in Script writing thank you for teaching me it. It is One of the best class I have ever been in.

교육 기관: Layla a

Sep 11, 2019

This is not a class where poetry is appreciated, it is also a continual pleasure to which one can return from time to time to enter an atmosphere of exchange, reflection and new discoveries. This course should never ends :)

교육 기관: Mariano H G R

Oct 25, 2019

Un curso genial y muy práctico. Gracias!

교육 기관: Manuel A R S

Sep 05, 2019

Very practical and demanding :)

교육 기관: EDUARDO V S

Sep 07, 2019

More than EVER, we need good storytellers. Put a human face on The Other. Shed light on a Deeper Truth. Engender Empathy. Fan the flames of Hope. Motivate people to Act. Make us Laugh. Make us Cry. Make us Thrilled. Make us Think. But mostly, make us feel our Shared Humanity

교육 기관: Rex E

Nov 30, 2019

Exceptional!

Have no time to currently complete; will cancel and start over next year. Don't care about certificate but believe course deserves payment so will cheerfully pay once again.

교육 기관: susana h

Oct 17, 2019

I learned so much from this course.

교육 기관: Zeid A

Mar 15, 2019

It's a great course that helped me learn a lot. I wish the grading was depended on on more people other than course colleagues.

Thank You

교육 기관: Adam R

Aug 26, 2018

Thoroughly enjoyed the course. A lot of the assignments really helped me to fully flesh out my, initially, basic idea into a much greater story. I did find one or two things that seemed to oppose my understanding of script writing 'rules', but aside from this it was a fantastic course.

교육 기관: Ciera M

Dec 29, 2016

Very enjoyable course! However, I think that it would have been nice to have some more professional viewing of our work, since several of us were taking in this information for the first time.

교육 기관: Adrienne R

May 10, 2016

This course is a great introduction to the art of script writing. You'll gain an understanding of basic script formatting, get in the habit of writing consistently and have the benefit of your script being reviewed by peers.

교육 기관: Tim M

Nov 30, 2016

Great course. Learned a great deal about script writing. Much of the peer feedback was very helpful and useful, but a small portion of the peers were did not seem to be very engaged or helpful.