Chevron Left
Script Writing: Write a Pilot Episode for a TV or Web Series (Project-Centered Course)(으)로 돌아가기

미시간주립대학교의 Script Writing: Write a Pilot Episode for a TV or Web Series (Project-Centered Course) 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.5
별점
494개의 평가
194개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

What you’ll achieve: In this project-centered course*, you will design a series bible and write a complete pilot episode for your own unique television or web series, be it drama or comedy or something in between. You’ll learn to break down the creative process into components, and you’ll discover a structured process that allows you to produce a polished and pitch-ready script in just a few weeks. Completing this project will increase your confidence in your ideas and abilities, and you’ll feel prepared to pitch your first script and get started on your next. Here is a link to a trailer for the course. To view the trailer, please copy and paste the link into your browser. https://vimeo.com/423035246/6b3c18c4c5 This is a course designed to tap into your creativity and is based in "Active Learning". Most of the actual learning takes place within your own activities - that is, writing! You will learn by doing. "Thank you so much for your direct way of teaching this course. It was encouraging for us all to creatively flow and find our own voice in writing and developing our scripts. This aspect was very important to me." Ingrid The course curriculum is simple: you’ll write, revise your work, and share feedback with your peers. I am a proponent of Experiential Learning (active learning). My lectures are short (sometimes just two minutes long) and to the point, designed in a step-by-step process essential to your success as a script writer. I will guide you but I won’t "show" you how to write. I firmly believe that the only way to become a writer is to write, write, write. “David's lecture style for this course is inspired. The videos are succinct and engaging. When I watch the lectures I feel David’s sincere desire for me to create something truly amazing. He is teaching us how to write a script, and he is providing wisdom and tools that will help us do so in a compelling way - by writing; not by watching him talk at us.” - A R Adamson What you’ll need to get started: To begin with, any basic word processor will do. During week two, you can choose to download some free scriptwriting software such as Celtx or Trelby or you may choose to purchase Final Draft, or you can continue to use your word processor and do your own script formatting. Learner Review: "I am in love with this course. Having never written a script before, or any substantive fiction since college (15 years ago) I had a small idea in my head that has now exploded into something I really believe in. David's guidance is spot on, he's his own compelling story teller, he gives you enough, and then you have to figure it out, make it happen, WRITE! WRITE! WRITE! " If you have any concerns regarding the protection of your original work, Coursera's privacy policy protects the learner's IP and you are indeed the sole owners of your work. *About Project-Centered Courses: This is a ‘project-centered course’, which means it is designed specifically to help you complete a personally meaningful real-world project, with your instructor and a community of learners with similar goals providing guidance and suggestions along the way. By actively applying new concepts as you learn, you’ll master the course content more efficiently; you’ll also get a head start on using the skills you gain to make positive changes in your life and career. When you complete the course, you’ll have a finished project that you’ll be proud to use and share. Time: 1-2 hours of study, 30+ hours of active project work...

최상위 리뷰

AA

Jun 14, 2016

David Wheeler is awesome, and I love this course! I am so glad that Coursera and Michigan State University have partnered to offer this course to those of us who have a thirst for learning! Thank you!

JF

Sep 28, 2016

Fantastic course, loved the way it walked you step by step through the process and the formatting. This course could have been ten weeks and still wouldn't be enough. Awesome hands on learning.

필터링 기준:

Script Writing: Write a Pilot Episode for a TV or Web Series (Project-Centered Course)의 192개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Greg B

Jun 05, 2020

This was a very informative course. I finally got a grasp on correctly and consistently formatting a screenplay. AND an added bonus was that I got to use a script I'd already written for the course. It's really helped me edit my pilot down and get it to a place where I can really move forward with cleaning and adding to the story line. And I got to make my first series bible. And I'm so proud of the work I've been able to do. I can't wait to see where I go from here.

교육 기관: lisa r

Mar 29, 2016

I have found this course to be well planned out, easy to follow and very informative. I have been considering scriptwriting for some time and even bought books on how to get started but this course has been much more effective than any book. This course has given me the tools and the know-how of what is required to write a script.

I am in my last week at the moment and the confidence and skills this project-centered course has given me are immeasurable.

교육 기관: Krystal W

Oct 27, 2018

The direction and guidance offered in this course has improved my writing structure significantly. The course was successful in teaching professional screenwriting techniques and has encouraged me to be creative and to explore various avenues to establish my voice. Also, the feedback I received from my peers were all lovely and helpful critiques that I will reflect on when reviewing my script and when writing new ones.

Thank You!

교육 기관: Sunny B

May 27, 2020

AMAZING!!! Thank you, Mr Wheeler, for being an intriguing teacher. Always clear, concise and straight to the point, but you do it interestingly. I hope you will take a look at my pilot script because I'd like you to see what your course has helped me to produce! In addition, a special thanks also to all the support staff that helped guide and answer questions throughout the course on the forums. This is fantastic! Keep it up.

교육 기관: Irene P

Dec 27, 2016

Through this course, I transformed a scene I wrote for a full length movie into a pilot for TV. I'm happy I learned the process and I'm working on the series episodes to follow. Thank You for developing this course. The lessons were explained well and the videos were very helpful. I'm especially glad this course was presented through Michigan State University. That was a deciding factor in signing up for it. Go Spartans!

교육 기관: Misi Z C

May 17, 2020

I really like this course, really like Mr. Wheeler weekly videos, it seen short, but is enough, it already have all what you need to know. And I really like the sentence he said on the first class "The best way to learn about writing is just to write." After that I start writing on it, and I really like it. At the end I really want to thanks my peers give me all the advice, after the course we can start on our own.

교육 기관: Meghan L

May 15, 2018

This course is not for the faint of heart in that unlike some other online courses, you will be expected to write... a lot. And participate... A LOT. And while it's work, there is a ton of satisfaction to be had from writing your own completed script and getting the feedback of your classmates. It's been a great learning experience overall and highly recommend it to anyone motivated or interested in this subject!

교육 기관: Denzel O

Jul 14, 2017

The idea for peer review is great because we're all students of this course and so we can learn from each other while being inspired. David Wheeler's methods work because they don't only teach, they encourage. And there's a lot to do to keep your mind busy through assignments. And anybody from everywhere in the world can start from no knowledge of script writing to full understanding. Great. 5 stars. Thank you.

교육 기관: Erin S

Nov 01, 2017

This course is great! I've been wanting to write a web series, and this class taught me how to make it happen. I learned how to create the overarching plan (called a bible) for the first season of the show, and I learned how to write scripts. I finished the class with a plan in hand and scripts for the first three episodes. I would recommend this course to anyone who wants to create a TV or web series.

교육 기관: Nicole N

May 28, 2020

The course was an amazing hands on an informative course. It was very practical and I got to learn not only through my work and the professor but through the work of others. Getting feedback from my peers and giving it back was very helpful and educational. I 1000% recommend this course. I plan to use the skills from this course to write more on my current story and even make a new one

교육 기관: Amaan H K

Apr 17, 2020

This is the first ever online course I have ever done, and I must say it has been such a lovely experience. The interactions with the peers, the feedbacks, and constantly improving my skills has been a major boon, especially for the times we are living in. Thank you so much for keeping us sane under this lockdown. I didn't believe I could finish this course, much less write a script!

교육 기관: Alesha R A

Feb 24, 2016

I am in love with this course. Having never written a script before, or any substantive fiction since college (15 years ago) I had a small idea in my head that has now exploded into something I really believe in. David's guidance is spot on, he's his on compelling story teller, he give you enough, and then you have to figure it out, make it happen, WRITE! WRITE! WRITE!

교육 기관: Teresa E

May 05, 2018

This course is very fast paced and challenging but I really loved it. It doesn't leave enough time for self doubt and really forces you to actually do some writing. I would recommend this course for first time writers but also for more experienced writers who need a deadline and a structure to get them to write and to finish something. Love the course!

교육 기관: Simran K

Feb 13, 2020

This was my first course on coursera and I am so glad I started with this. I have learned how much effort is put into making a script and this journey couldn't have been easy without the efforts of the mentor. I loved how we were given the basic guidelines and asked to work through things, really made me feel like i have truly earned the certificate.

교육 기관: Deepanjan P

Apr 20, 2017

A great course to wake yourself up and get running in the world of script writing. I recommend this course to every individual who is ready to work and earn rather than just buying a online certificate. Finally David sir small but powerful video sessions are excellent. Do not go by the length of the videos. They are absolutely to the point.

교육 기관: Afnan L

Dec 30, 2017

This course had me write my first completed pilot episode. I enjoyed the process of being critical about my writing. I would have loved if the instructor provided some theory into the course as well. It seemed more like a workshop than an academic course. Being able to speak "expert" lingo and jargon helps in getting ahead in the industry.

교육 기관: Ameer Q

Jun 13, 2017

A big thank to David Wheeler, it's a lovely way to teach about the script writing. I'm very much happy that by taking that course I wrote my first TV Pilot, and its not only writing, I learned what made me stop to write. off-course I'm not perfect not but now I earned the craft to write and learn more. Thank you for this Course.

교육 기관: Luis C

Oct 06, 2016

Script Writing: Write a Pilot Episode for a TV Course changed my life. I took several courses in Coursera at the time, but this was the most engaging. It really made want to learn and to achieve the goal of producing a final script. I recommend it to all who look for a real way to understand the process of writing for a TV show.

교육 기관: Gill K

Aug 06, 2019

I loved this - wanted a "companion" to keep me going on the latest script idea - and found many! David's course is really user-friendly and introduced me to new approaches which made the process much easier than what I've done in the past. I've got a first draft I'm genuinely happy with - very highly recommend this!

교육 기관: Abraham G V

May 11, 2019

I enjoyed the experience of having to create my own story from scratch. I thought I knew everything about creating characters and scripts, but it turns out it's a little bit more complex than I expected. Anyways, I enjoyed it very much and want to keep creating more and more amazing stories to share with the world.

교육 기관: Deleted A

Jun 20, 2017

No plans to be a script writer but now have an appreciation of those so engaged. A very demanding profession with creativity on a deadline. Not for me, but respect for those so engaged. Additionally, able to watch and appreciate the structure of content ... definitely enhanced viewing and reading .. forsooth.

교육 기관: Christina B

Jun 05, 2020

Great experience and feedback from participants. I do wish there was a way to respond to comments for the specific assignments. Some people asked questions (TA included) that I didn't get a chance to respond to. But all in all, great course. I'm presently taking the course for to complete a screenplay.

교육 기관: Fonda J

Nov 15, 2016

This was a great course for anyone who has ever wanted to try their hand at script writing. I am brand new to script writing and I applied every lesson I learned in this course and did some research on my own to develop my pilot. You will feel accomplished once you complete this class, it is worth it!

교육 기관: Charlotte P

Oct 04, 2018

This class has motivated me to write the pilot of a story that I had in mind for a couple of weeks and I love it. Compared to other online classes, I love that we have feedback from other classmates. However, I would have liked the teacher to tell us more information on how to write a good script.

교육 기관: Margot R M

Jun 09, 2016

Eventually I got my head around it. It was a challenging but I was concerned about being told to 'just do it' when I had no idea what I was just to do. I think the beginning was a little confusing, and also reading others scripts when there was no background to understand where it was going.