Chevron Left
Introduction to Who Wrote Shakespeare(으)로 돌아가기

런던 대학교의 Introduction to Who Wrote Shakespeare 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
120개의 평가
64개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This free course from the University of London explores critical thinking, and the interpretation of texts, through the Shakespeare authorship question. Using doubt about Shakespeare’s authorship as our playground, we will explore the key concept of authorship attribution, while developing skills in literary analysis, interpretation, and argument. Through forensic exploration of key texts, you will learn why Shakespeare’s authorship is questioned, and what evidence is cited on both sides of the debate. For those of you interested in exploring the works of Shakespeare from a new angle, or just wanting to hone your analytical thinking skills, this course offers an introduction to a fascinating area of interest. Those of you already interested in the Shakespeare authorship question will be encouraged to question your own assumptions in fruitful ways. Whether undertaken as a standalone course, or as preparation for the University of London BA in English, this course will be food for thought....

최상위 리뷰

TA

May 19, 2020

Ros Barber did a wonderful job, opening my eyes to all kinds of possibilities! The experts she brought in were very knowledgeable as well as entertaining! Thanks to Coursera for making this a reality!

JQ

Feb 21, 2018

Great Course with many interesting and innovative concepts. Thanks to all the folks who must have worked hard and long to put this course on the internet. Dr Quincy

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Who Wrote Shakespeare의 62개 리뷰 중 51~62

교육 기관: Ana R O A

Jan 14, 2019

Simply mind opening!

교육 기관: Eleonora D

May 04, 2020

Really intresting

교육 기관: Rob S

Mar 16, 2018

Well done

교육 기관: luce n

Mar 03, 2018

G

교육 기관: Toni P

Mar 25, 2018

This course provided some excellent, detailed material for exploring various aspects of the Shakespeare authorship question. I especially enjoyed the content of the interviews with Mark Rylance, Greg Thompson and William Leahy, partly because, on a mooc there needs to be a human dimension, but mostly because they gave thought-provoking into this issue from their own specialist and knowledgeable perspectives.

I understand why it was not possible to include material on other candidates, and internal evidence from the texts, on this course but I feel that it is difficult to avoid these two key aspects of the debate. It would be great if the University of London provided further courses in these two areas, linked to this one.

It is always good to get to know your fellow participants on the programme, and I enjoyed conversing with a number of individuals on the threads on various aspects of the SAQ. However, it was noticeable that only a small number of participants took part in these discussions. It would be worth thinking through whether there might be a better way of bringing participants together in a way which encourages everyone to exchange views and ideas, rather than just a dedicated few.

Ros Barber managed the course very well, dealing with problems effectively, and presenting the evidence in an engaging and well-conceived way. The only issue I had with the content of the course was the use of quizzes to test the memory,, and the fact that this was mainly on information which tended to be favour a non-Stratfordian perspective. I didn't feel that this was a very effective way for me to test my own critical thinking on the various matters discussed, although I understand that it would be difficult for the small team involved to deal with written material from participants.

교육 기관: Geoff W

May 03, 2020

This being my first course I'm reluctant to award 5 stars. Perhaps I would have if I had completed others to compare it with. I found it well structured and remained focussed on the central questions, most significant lines of argument and most relevant evidence. Being a somewhat 'controversial' topic it was pleasing to see a preamble that both acknowledged this fact and provided helpful information and suggestions as to how best to approach such a topic, even in a climate of 'internet trolling' and the like. Thanks for all your hard work, Ros Barber in in particular of course.

교육 기관: Margaret S

Mar 26, 2018

I greatly enjoyed the course and found it quite informative. Dr. Barber’s open attitude encouraged us to reflect and ask questions of both the evidence and ourselves. Me only bémol is the forum, which at times was very contentious, people with an agenda fir disruption, people who wanred only to push their rather already cemented ideas. For this reason I didn’t participate much in the forums. But still, I am quite pleased with the course.

Gwen

교육 기관: John B

Mar 09, 2018

Excellent course. I thoroughly enjoyed it. I loved Dr. Barber's presentation and especially the discussion interviews. I have been interested in the authorship question for many years and was very happy to see it given such a presentation. I have long thought that the actual facts of the authorship should be taught in schools rather than the assumptions that have built up around the lack of factual evidence.

교육 기관: Steven J L

Mar 17, 2018

Excellent, thorough introduction to the principle textual, artistic, contemporaneous sources

교육 기관: Joy S

Jun 10, 2018

Lots of detailed info about the evidence for and against.

교육 기관: Soniya.M

Jun 19, 2019

Awesome course for college students

교육 기관: Catherine S

May 06, 2018

It started great, but seemed to drag by the midpoint. By the end I had to force myself to finish.