Chevron Left
Gender, Family, and Social Change in Contemporary South Korea(으)로 돌아가기

연세 대학교의 Gender, Family, and Social Change in Contemporary South Korea 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
76개의 평가
18개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course examines the transformation of Korean society beginning around the turn of the 20th century to contemporary times. In particular, it explores how shifting categories of masculinity, and by contrast, femininity have impacted upon, and in turn been influenced by social, cultural, and political change. Using multiple disciplinary lenses, we will critically examine how gender intersects with political, social, and economic developments starting with the Confucianization of Korean society during the Joseon Dynasty (1392-1910) up to the contemporary moment of globalization and neoliberal reform. The class will draw on a variety of topics such as traditional views of women, religion, race, class, education, patriarchy, sexuality, imperialism, modernity, war, globalization, the diaspora, among others. Special attention will be placed on the historical, transnational and transdisciplinary connections....

최상위 리뷰

CB

Feb 21, 2018

Excellent course. I strongly recommend it for anyone interested in Korean culture. I took it because I am writing about KPOP and sexuality but I learnt much more and am really glad I did it.

JQ

May 28, 2017

Interesting course, especially to learn of Korea today in comparison to 50 years ago when I lived there about a year. Fascinating to see the changes socially. Thanks so much!

필터링 기준:

Gender, Family, and Social Change in Contemporary South Korea의 18개 리뷰 중 1~18

교육 기관: Eva W

Feb 03, 2019

A lot of work but 100% worth it.

교육 기관: Catherine H

Dec 22, 2018

I really enjoyed this class!! It really gives valuable insight to why the Korean societal structure is the way that it is, from a long-standing historical standpoint up to modern day ideas and opinions. I would highly recommend this class!

교육 기관: Seonghyun P

Apr 04, 2019

A great overview of current issues that South Korea and its people have to deal with.

교육 기관: JOHN Q

May 28, 2017

Interesting course, especially to learn of Korea today in comparison to 50 years ago when I lived there about a year. Fascinating to see the changes socially. Thanks so much!

교육 기관: Juan S S A

Aug 07, 2017

This is a wonderful course to understand Korean culture. For everyone who is interested in the success of Korea, its economic development, education model and social changes; this course provide a solid and wide introduction with historical perspective to understand the evolution of the country, focusing on gender roles, traditional family conception, the profound confucian heritage, sexuality construction, women empowerment movements and evolution of Korea during the XX century.

Instructors Hyun Mee Kim & Yoo Theodore Jun made an amazing job preparing the material and explaining the most important aspects of the evolution of the country and the historical background behind all the social realities of Korea. The strategy of the course consists mainly in exposing an important social matter, provide the historical background and additional material to go deeper, focus on causes and consequences and contrast the past with the present. Students are asked for a personal analysis based on the exposed material to ensure a good understanding of each topic.

Congratulations to Yonsei University for its courses. Well-developed, stunning instructors and interesting approach to ensure learning. Thank you so much.

교육 기관: Colette B

Feb 21, 2018

Excellent course. I strongly recommend it for anyone interested in Korean culture. I took it because I am writing about KPOP and sexuality but I learnt much more and am really glad I did it.

교육 기관: Thainá R

Dec 25, 2017

This is a very great course I'd like to recommend to everyone who is interested about Korea society.

교육 기관: Robin S K

Aug 10, 2017

Excellent information, especially the historical background of Korea and its influence on societal culture.

교육 기관: Nino D

Jan 08, 2018

I highly recommend taking the course to anyone who wishes to learn more about Gender, Family and Social Change in Contemporary South Korea. The lectures were very interesting and comprehensive. I enjoyed watching and reading materials and, also, writing assignments very much! I am sure you will be as satisfied as I am after you finish this course.

교육 기관: Juan S R G

Oct 04, 2019

I loved this course, I'm so thankful for this, I had the chance to get close to the Korean culture from a completely different perspective.

교육 기관: Karen Q

Oct 04, 2018

A good history and issues surrounding gender in Korea.

교육 기관: Michael R

Jun 14, 2017

This course was very interactive, and it provided lots of resources on the side as well. It was challenging and allowed interaction with other learners as well. Thank you for this course.

교육 기관: Jessica R

Mar 18, 2018

It was an interesting course. I've learned lots of new contents and information related to Korean society, and delved into some other topics, which were more familiar.

Texts, articles, and videos suggested are engaging, and fundamental in order to better understand the subjects.

교육 기관: Valeria C R N

Nov 19, 2017

I would put 5 stars because it's amazing but too short :'(

교육 기관: Jonathan H

May 18, 2017

Very interesting course, could be improved by some work on the subtitling.

교육 기관: Lydia C H

Oct 07, 2019

I really like this course. It does show a point of view I wasn't expecting to learn about Korea and it really opened my mind and eyes a bit. It is a really well-taught class and I am enjoying it!

교육 기관: Joy S

Aug 28, 2017

Good overview of how things stand in South Korea. Slightly hard to understand as it is taught by Koreans with Korean accents.

교육 기관: Burcu F

Oct 20, 2019

Unfortunately I couldn't get what I expected from this course. The videos were not enthusiastic, mostly based on info-graphs and pie charts. Quizzes were mostly based on parrot-fashion.