Chevron Left
Songwriting: Writing the Lyrics(으)로 돌아가기

버클리음악대학교의 Songwriting: Writing the Lyrics 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.9
stars
416개의 평가
132개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

There’s a songwriter lurking somewhere inside you, peeking around corners, wondering if it’s safe to come out. Now it is. This course is an invitation to let your inner songwriter step into the sunlight. All it takes is a simple “yes” and you’ll be climbing that windy hill, marveling at the view. If you haven’t written any or many songs, this course will show you an efficient, effective process for tailoring songs to express your ideas and emotions. If you have, you’ll look at your process differently, taking control of aspects of the process you may have not noticed. The course will start by examining the tools available to you, all revolving around the essential concept of prosody. You’ll learn to use your tools to enhance your message—to work compositionally at the same time you’re developing your ideas. You’ll be working both lyrically and musically, though musically it’s not necessary that you either read music or play an instrument. If you play, great, and you’ll be encouraged to play and record your musical responses to the assignments. If you don’t play, the course offers you a number of musical loops to work with. All you’ll have to do is sing your melodies over the loops. Assignments will ask you to post something for peer review—sometimes lyric lines or sections, sometimes melodies, sometimes both. None of it has to be polished. The course is about writing, not performing. Most important, you’ll have a lot of fun....

최상위 리뷰

SJ

Aug 31, 2016

If i could give this course more than 5 stars I would. It has revolutionized my approach to writing lyrics and given me tools and techniques that really blow my mind. Definitely recommend!

CT

Jan 23, 2017

Pat presents with a great demeanour and covers a lot of ground in this course.\n\nI'm definitely a better songwriter for it. This includes the secret to removing writer's block.

필터링 기준:

Songwriting: Writing the Lyrics의 131개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Tze-Ern C

Aug 07, 2019

This was my first exposure to songwriting and I learnt a lot, especially about rhyme types and melodic rhythm. Pat Pattison is a very dynamic, engaging and effective teacher. I particularly appreciated the detailed step-by-step examples in writing a song and singing it with effective phrasing.

I can't give the course five stars, though, because of the peer review system. Students are to grade one another's assignments, quite often on subjective aspects. Sometimes I had difficulty knowing how to grade someone else and sometimes I didn't agree with how I was graded, but there is no recourse to discuss or adjust the grading. I often wished I had opted for the free version of the course and saved myself the aggro. I think I would have preferred it if we were required to upload our work to a forum and exchange comments instead - there might be more exposure and interaction with a lot less frustration that way.

As reflected in the course title, this course was primarily about writing lyrics. I hope that there will be a follow-up course about composing melodies.

교육 기관: Naiya C

Nov 24, 2017

Good course, but got to the end of the first test (thinking this was a peer-graded / checked course) and was only given the option to upgrade (pay) to complete. So I filled out ALL those answers... and realized only at the end of the test that if I couldn't afford the $49 per month or $49 per certificate, that I'd just have to scrap my work. I did buy a book from the professor (on Amazon). It's an okay course, but mostly it seems like a plug for books written by the person teaching the course. I'd gladly donate a few bucks to complete this course, but I don't want to pay a monthly fee. This is still a pretty good deal as far as online courses go, but I think they would get more buyers if they charged $15 or $20 per course, rather than $49 per month / per certificate.

교육 기관: Jacqueline H

Oct 20, 2019

Enjoyed this course! It gives me a starting point on where to start with songwriting. Particularly enjoyed learning about song form, prosody, rhyme schemes and phrasing. Thank you Pat Pattison, Berklee and Coursera for making this course available!

Only feedback I would have would be with the peer review scheme - It looks like all the students who were on the same class as me had finished their course, so there was no one left to review my final assignment (even after I had reached out in the discussions area, and even in the Facebook group). Hopefully there's a better way of getting graded for the final assignment rather than fully relying on peer reviews for your final grade.

교육 기관: Shunyo J

Aug 31, 2016

If i could give this course more than 5 stars I would. It has revolutionized my approach to writing lyrics and given me tools and techniques that really blow my mind. Definitely recommend!

교육 기관: Shawn F

Nov 04, 2016

This course was so much better than I thought it would be. Pat Pattison illuminated a level of craftsmanship within songwriting that I didn't realize existed, and I loved every new technique and discovery. He takes you through the process step-by-step, and you practice in bits and pieces along the way, so that by the time you are called on to write a complete song at the end, you feel prepared and excited. I learned a lot about writing, but I also learned a lot about the art of teaching writing. I highly recommend this course. It's so, so good. So good.

교육 기관: KEITA E

Dec 25, 2019

I enjoy this course a lot !

At first I thought that I would learn some basic things (so I took my time at first and didn't enjoy it a lot) but I really learned things and I improved my writing.

But I think that the submission system should be reviewed because if there's no one to review you, you can't progress.

The instructor was excellent !

And it is a little too expensive for a French college student but I know that It's not like that in others countries.

But I can't afford all the courses.

Thanks for everything !

교육 기관: David H

Sep 08, 2016

Excellent course. I have been writing songs for years, some of which might be considered good. However, I always knew I didn't really know how to write songs as a craft. That's why I took this course. The course has now provided me with the toolbox to begin approaching songwriting as it really is, a craft based on skills one learns and develops. I very much would like to take a another course with Pat Pattison, because this one was huge fun! Thanks Pat, Thanks Berklee, Thanks Coursera.

교육 기관: Jesse T

Feb 15, 2018

This class really opened my eyes and ears to powerful concepts and techniques related to songwriting and finding my unique voice in the music I create. From the first week to the last, Pat Pattison's teaching exceeded my expectations and has gone above and beyond to deliver a quality educational experience. I can't say enough to recommend this course to anyone interested in the fundamentals of songwriting, practical, creative tools that will help you unlock your potential as a songwriter.

교육 기관: Thomas B

Oct 12, 2019

If you want to be a lyricist, you have just found the instructor who literally wrote the book. I studied with Pat Pattison at Berklee over the course of four full years and earned my B.M. in songwriting. To refresh skills and stimulate myself as an active writer, I took this online course. 100% satisfaction and a deeper knowledge of the art. This course really does not have a downside. wishing you the best of success and a learning experience that is without equal. Thomas Busk

교육 기관: Ashley G

Oct 10, 2016

Was completely surprised by this course. There is so much information presented in a clear, understandable, and intriguing way. I was engaged the whole time. This class has been the catalyst I've needed for awhile to inspire me to pick up my guitar daily and make progress on ideas. Its so great to have a dependable structure to work with as opposed to hoping inspiration is enough to get me something good. I am so thankful this course exists and it so accessible. Highly recommend!

교육 기관: Allyanova I S

May 02, 2019

The course helps to understand the scheme and the whole system of writing songs from the point of view of technology. It turns out incredibly beautiful and beautiful! I learned a lot of subtleties. Thanks to the teacher for a very accurate and idle explanation of not simple things.

I have learned a lot. It’s very joyful that there are practical exercises, it’s important to apply the knowledge gained to practice.

I'm very grateful!

교육 기관: Edward C

Aug 17, 2016

I've been writing instrumental music for about 5 years now but could never put lyrics to my work. This course is proving to be really helpful and has provided lots of techniques and tools that are incredibly useful. On top of that I have to praise the instructor Pat Pattison. He has a lot of charisma and makes these lessons really fun - I've had to pause the videos a few times now just to laugh at his witticism.

교육 기관: Nancy C

Nov 25, 2018

An extremely helpful class that provided me with tools for approaching lyric writing. Pat Pattison is a terrific teacher; I really enjoyed his lectures and examples. I looking forward to more opportunities to learn from him. I recommend this class to anyone looking to learn the basics of songwriting and/or to try to break a block and get writing again.

교육 기관: Katrina F

Feb 18, 2018

What a great intro to songwriting! At first I was a little put off because it felt like the professor was somewhat vague, dreamy, or indirect. But I hung on and soon caught on to his teaching style. This has opened the door to the world of songwriting for me. It helps that I have already been working at it for a few years. Pat is wise.

교육 기관: Cathi T

Oct 13, 2019

I see songs in structures with rhymes in different ways as soon as the first video for this course. English is my second language, and I am able to apply it in Mandarin as well. By reading Prof. Pattison's words after received my certificate, his genuine and sincere messages lift my confidence to a different level.

교육 기관: Odile S

Mar 20, 2018

This course gives an explanation about prosody and how rhyme works, not merely teaches how to work with it but also the why. Before the course I wondered why to bother use rhyme and rhythm, as long as it feels good. Now I more deeply understand how it works and know better how to write a poem.

교육 기관: Francesca A L

Mar 23, 2017

I would strongly recommend this course to anyone wanting to learn songwriting techniques. Pat Pattison is great and makes learning fun! I feel I have learned so much in such a short time. Loved every minute of it and I hope some day to be able to take other courses with Pat!

교육 기관: David R C

Aug 10, 2016

This course opened my eyes to a number of concepts which seem blatantly obvious now that I know them, but which I had never considered before taking the course. The reasons I couldn't quite put my finger on as to why certain lyrics of mine seemed off. Highly recommended!

교육 기관: Mario A A S

Jan 06, 2020

One of the best courses in my life. If you want to express yourself through songs, this is the course. Fr one, this course gave me new inspiration to write my music and be able to make my dares come true ! Thank you very much Patt, Berklee online and Coursera Team!

교육 기관: Deleted A

Mar 04, 2017

I am impressed at how there is theory and study behind the art of writing songs. The course opened my eyes to this vast and interesting subject.Pat Pattson is a fantastic teacher with incredible didactics, knowledge and personality. I just have to thank you.

교육 기관: Alicia C

Apr 14, 2018

I learned so much about the art of songwriting, and this course made me consider things I'd never thought of before. I also loved how pertinent the lessons were to other forms of written and verbal communication. The whole experience was just stellar.

교육 기관: Rasmus M

Nov 02, 2016

Great course. Just what I needed as a beginner in writing lyrics. I've been singing/playing/producing, but never really try to write lyrics. This course opens up the subject and gives you the opportunity to understand that writing lyrics is a craft.

교육 기관: Anthony K

Jul 23, 2019

This course gives you an incredible toolbox to advance your songwriting skills whether you've never done it before or are a seasoned vet. The approach alone is worth it's weight in gold. The course is definitely a steal in this information age.

교육 기관: Chinedu O

Aug 05, 2017

Excellent course! It has unlocked so many doors and potential I would not have been able to discover on my own! There's nothing to think about! This IS the class you want to take if you seek to truly further your songwriting skills and concepts!

교육 기관: Carlos A D

Oct 30, 2017

Excellent course, videos and material are excellent and the progression of the course and assignments are on point in helping the learning experience. An amazing scientific approach to achieve the highest level of communication through lyrics.