Chevron Left
Soul Beliefs: Causes and Consequences - Unit 2: Belief Systems(으)로 돌아가기

러트거스 뉴저지 주립 대학교의 Soul Beliefs: Causes and Consequences - Unit 2: Belief Systems 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
164개의 평가
40개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Throughout history, the vast majority of people around the globe have believed they have, however defined, a “soul.” While the question of whether the soul exists cannot be answered by science, what we can study are the causes and consequences of various beliefs about the soul and its prospects of surviving the death of the body. Why are soul and afterlife beliefs so common in human history? Are there adaptive advantages to assuming souls exist? Are there brain structures that have been shaped by environmental pressures that provide the foundation of body/mind dualism that is such a prominent feature of many religions? How do these beliefs shape the worldviews of different cultures and our collective lives? What is the role of competing afterlife beliefs in religion, science, politics, and war? This course explores several facets of this relatively unexplored but profoundly important aspect of human thought and behavior. The course consists mainly of 70 to 80 minute lectures, typically broken up into 3 segments, recorded from a course offered by Rutgers University School of Arts and Sciences. These videos include slides and some embedded video clips. Most lectures are accompanied by slides used during the lecture, also including recommended reading assignment which may provide additional opportunities to reflect on your studies. Due to the lengthiness of this class and natural progression, the online course has been separated into 3 units, this is Unit 2....

최상위 리뷰

MM
2016년 6월 21일

An excellent presentation. Guest lecturers outstanding. Forces a person to really question beliefs rather than accepting at face value. Excellent points raised by learned professionals.

GC
2015년 10월 22일

Amazing class that really helps you to look your core beliefs and understand why and how your are the person that you are!\n\nReally good professors and materials~ 10000 worthily!

필터링 기준:

Soul Beliefs: Causes and Consequences - Unit 2: Belief Systems의 40개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Richard L

2017년 6월 19일

I am unable to complete this course as I did not receive enough peer reviews on the final assignment. I know I was the first student to submit this assignment as there were no others to peer review. When they became available I reviewed more than required as it was apparent student enrolments were low. Coursera's only response to what is a chronic problem is pathetic. It says you should enrol again and hope that in a few years you might be able to complete a unit. It should instead require the institution which offers a course to ensure its tutors clear any backlog (which would not be time consuming as the issue is caused by low enrolments).

교육 기관: Daryl R

2015년 11월 2일

This course was well assembled, presented and interesting. Regardless of your beliefs or lack of there is food for thought for everyone. The instructors and guest speakers did an excellent job. This course has a lot to offer and finally addresses things many people just won't or don't talk about but should.

Perhaps in understanding one another in a educational way we can learn to live together if nothing else.

Among my highest recommendations.

교육 기관: Kimberly K

2015년 11월 28일

This three unit course on Soul Beliefs I have found to be very interesting and it is something that connects to one's everyday life and is thought-provoking in that regard. It is also a very unique opportunity, you won't find this course elsewhere. Anyone who has worked and enjoyed unit 1 will certainly want to carry on with the subsequent courses.

교육 기관: Omar C

2017년 8월 24일

Great experience! This is a unique course, I always have been interested in the relation between psychology and religion and, I never believed it will be molded in an academical way with this mastery. I already enroled in the last unit!

Don't miss it, is a great chance to deeper your knowledge in this exciting subject.

교육 기관: Ramnath S K

2021년 1월 11일

Exceptionally insightful course which touches upon beliefs and traditions and questions the rationale behind these. This course questions our established time honored beliefs and analyses these in a very rational way without raising one's hackles. I would love to do it again.

교육 기관: Jeanne C

2018년 4월 4일

Excellent course. Congratulations to the team that put this material together! You have answered questions and addressed issues which have been on my mind for a long, long time. I will recommend this course to everyone that I know.

교육 기관: Tarey L K

2015년 10월 19일

This class was both informative and enjoyable. The two professors made their lectures interesting and thought provoking and the guest lecturers were an absolute delight. I highly recommend this course series to one and all.

교육 기관: Mark M

2016년 6월 22일

An excellent presentation. Guest lecturers outstanding. Forces a person to really question beliefs rather than accepting at face value. Excellent points raised by learned professionals.

교육 기관: Gabriela C

2015년 10월 23일

Amazing class that really helps you to look your core beliefs and understand why and how your are the person that you are!

Really good professors and materials~ 10000 worthily!

교육 기관: Alaa H

2019년 12월 20일

A unique course that combines science, religion, psychology, and history for the purpose of understanding human nature and the human mind. Thanks for the valuable course.

교육 기관: Nobuko S

2021년 3월 13일

Thought provoking with lots of concrete scientific evidence to support the topic. Enjoyed the class and assigned readings very much.

교육 기관: John M

2015년 11월 9일

The professorsoffer science and facts; the superstitious offer dogma.

교육 기관: Bruce B

2016년 12월 22일

Thoughtful, multi-disciplinary course.. Bravo for the effort.

교육 기관: Alejandro P

2015년 8월 16일

Interesting contents, and good presentation.

교육 기관: Heidrun S

2016년 8월 7일

great subject and even greater professors!

교육 기관: Andrea H

2015년 12월 27일

very enlightling and also very important!

교육 기관: Susan H

2019년 4월 17일

Always enjoy learning from Prof. Ogilvy

교육 기관: Sharon D

2015년 10월 15일

Very thought provoking. Great class.

교육 기관: Manuel F B B

2017년 8월 29일

I think it is very interesting.

교육 기관: Bart S

2016년 9월 8일

great class, please repeat it

교육 기관: Hilary A

2016년 1월 11일

Loved it …..thank you.

교육 기관: Winston A W

2021년 2월 2일

Excellent, thank you.

교육 기관: Mohamed S E

2018년 2월 13일

Amazing, must have

교육 기관: Emil

2018년 11월 11일

Very nice course.

교육 기관: Puneet K

2015년 10월 3일

Great experience