Chevron Left
Sports and Society(으)로 돌아가기

듀크대학교의 Sports and Society 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
1,062개의 평가
289개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Sports play a giant role in contemporary society worldwide. But few of us pause to think about the larger questions of money, politics, race, sex, culture, and commercialization that surround sports everywhere. This course draws on the tools of anthropology, sociology, history, and other disciplines to give you new perspectives on the games we watch and play. It's the new and improved version of Professor Orin Starn's original "Sports and Society" for Coursera, which drew more than 40,000 students. We will focus on both popular sports like soccer (or “football,” as anyone outside America calls it), basketball, and baseball, and also lesser-known ones like mountain-climbing and fishing. You will never watch or think about sports in the same way again....

최상위 리뷰

MM

2016년 11월 11일

I loved this particular course. The topics are relevant. Each topic is supported by historical facts and examples and how is it relevant in the present time. It was a great learning experience!!!

RK

2017년 1월 13일

This course tells us about how social customs and traditions have contributed to the evolution of sports and how sports has vice versa reflected the changes in social order of any age.

필터링 기준:

Sports and Society의 289개 리뷰 중 76~100

교육 기관: Michael R

2020년 5월 10일

Videos were awesome and readings were still applicable even in 2020. Only feedback would be update some of the readings to more current and a section on E-Sports.

교육 기관: Joshua J F

2017년 6월 12일

The content and delivery of the course were excellent. Professor Orin Starn is a star educator: knowledgeable, entertaining, funny, engaging, and very accessible.

교육 기관: Susan M

2022년 2월 1일

​I really enjoyed this course. I am a sports fan but learned so much! Things I never thought of! Really liked the professor. He made this course so interesting!!

교육 기관: Valeria F

2020년 6월 13일

Very interesting cours! i've enjoyed evrey single lecture.

I learned a lot about sports world, that's great!

Thank you Professor Orin Starn and Duke University.

교육 기관: Carlos A H H

2020년 8월 29일

Muy bueno. Naturalmente, el curso no puede ser detallado, aunque sí remite a una cantidad conciderable de fuentes para continuar con estudios sobre el deporte.

교육 기관: Patricia G

2021년 5월 25일

I signed up for this course to learn about the history of global sports and found the course and professor to be detailed, informative, and very interesting.

교육 기관: Timothy T

2019년 9월 10일

Very interesting and a lot of great information. Easy to pick up and learn, and get through it to broaden my knowledge of sports! Had a great time learning.

교육 기관: Andrew V

2017년 4월 8일

This course was very good and well structured. Professor is very professional. I get a lot inmportant information and many fun moments. Thank you so much

교육 기관: Donald L C

2021년 11월 8일

As a Physical Education major, average athlete, and coach, this was an excellent opportunity to study play, games and sport from a different perspective

교육 기관: Anne M v B

2018년 4월 25일

I really enjoyed the course! I feel it touches all of the subjects around sports and helps you understand the evolution and impact they have in society.

교육 기관: Willard J

2019년 5월 23일

Really great course that explores the various ways sports have an impact and are reflections of human society and various cultures. Really interesting!

교육 기관: Junior L A

2020년 5월 22일

Excelente curso, excelente material, super entendible y agradable. Muchas gracias a todo el equipo que hizo posible tremendo curso!. Felicitaciones!

교육 기관: Yash C

2017년 11월 11일

ABsolutely loved the course, Dr. Starn's words are very intricate and have taught me very well. Looking forward to more classes by him on coursera.

교육 기관: Jose O G B

2020년 7월 24일

For all those who are in the sports bussiness, it is fundamental to understand the role it plays in modern society and economics, great content

교육 기관: varun h

2020년 5월 7일

This course was really helpful in order to understand the various different aspects of different types of sports.Prof. Orin was simply amazing.

교육 기관: Devan F

2020년 6월 28일

Well, throughout lectures that were interesting and engaging. I found that I was never bored and that it was challenging but still manageable.

교육 기관: Tim H

2019년 9월 13일

Great course that brought to light something we watch and do everyday but without knowing the history of it. Look forward to further courses.

교육 기관: Pietro R

2020년 10월 27일

The teacher is quite engaging, the man has showmanship! Add that the content is really interesting and you get a 5 stars course. Recommended!

교육 기관: ADITYA S

2018년 5월 27일

The course covers every aspect on which the modern sports foundation have been laid. Many thanks to Mr. Orin for sharing his knowledge to us.

교육 기관: Annigje F

2016년 1월 21일

Great course! Basic info on how sports were, and are, looked at from a society point of view. Broad information about many various subjects.

교육 기관: Launee R

2021년 4월 28일

Very good course. As a PE teacher it has allowed to greater understand the sociology behind some of the content I teach. Very enlightening.

교육 기관: Carlos A M P

2017년 7월 4일

This is a great journey with the great Orin Starn's guide through the history and different perspectives of sports in the human history.

교육 기관: Dawit A

2021년 10월 26일

An eye opening course that helps to shed light on different aspect of sports. Really enjoyed it and learned to see sport holistically.

교육 기관: Claudia R B

2020년 10월 29일

Great course , excellent classes .

I really enjoyed it .

It was great to have a course which analysed sports from this perspective .

교육 기관: Abhishek G

2017년 9월 1일

This course has given me a whole new perspective of looking at Sports now. It's been enriching, informative & insightful. Thank You!