Chevron Left
Sports and Society(으)로 돌아가기

듀크대학교의 Sports and Society 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
384개의 평가
79개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Sports play a giant role in contemporary society worldwide. But few of us pause to think about the larger questions of money, politics, race, sex, culture, and commercialization that surround sports everywhere. This course draws on the tools of anthropology, sociology, history, and other disciplines to give you new perspectives on the games we watch and play. It's the new and improved version of Professor Orin Starn's original "Sports and Society" for Coursera, which drew more than 40,000 students. We will focus on both popular sports like soccer (or “football,” as anyone outside America calls it), basketball, and baseball, and also lesser-known ones like mountain-climbing and fishing. You will never watch or think about sports in the same way again....

최상위 리뷰

MM

Nov 12, 2016

I loved this particular course. The topics are relevant. Each topic is supported by historical facts and examples and how is it relevant in the present time. It was a great learning experience!!!

RK

Jan 14, 2017

This course tells us about how social customs and traditions have contributed to the evolution of sports and how sports has vice versa reflected the changes in social order of any age.

필터링 기준:

Sports and Society의 76개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Rohan C

Jul 24, 2017

Orin Starn has a unique and interesting way of communicating his ideas and knowledge. The course has helped me to deepen my knowledge about the relation of sports and society.

교육 기관: Martin S

Aug 08, 2016

Great course that look at sports from an anthropological view and exposes many ideas that even the hard

교육 기관: Pablo M

May 01, 2017

Simple, informative, and useful.

교육 기관: Jose R

Dec 08, 2016

Very interesting lectures with loads of examples

교육 기관: Jan J

Jun 07, 2016

awesome instructor, great energy and even better insides

교육 기관: Ana E T H

Feb 06, 2018

Excellent course!

I enjoyed the course because it goes deep enough into the topics for begginers...

I specially liked the video about corporate athletes.

I'm a soccer fan!

교육 기관: Abhishek G

Sep 01, 2017

This course has given me a whole new perspective of looking at Sports now. It's been enriching, informative & insightful. Thank You!

교육 기관: JOACI J C

Jul 06, 2018

amazing!

교육 기관: Annigje F

Jan 21, 2016

Great course! Basic info on how sports were, and are, looked at from a society point of view. Broad information about many various subjects.

교육 기관: Stacey B

Jan 28, 2016

AMAZING COURSE!!

교육 기관: Rajesh S M

Nov 02, 2017

best

교육 기관: Yash C

Nov 11, 2017

ABsolutely loved the course, Dr. Starn's words are very intricate and have taught me very well. Looking forward to more classes by him on coursera.

교육 기관: ADITYA S

May 27, 2018

The course covers every aspect on which the modern sports foundation have been laid. Many thanks to Mr. Orin for sharing his knowledge to us.

교육 기관: Jennie v d B

Jun 14, 2018

This class is so fun and touches on so many topics (and sports)!

교육 기관: Andrew V

Apr 08, 2017

This course was very good and well structured. Professor is very professional. I get a lot inmportant information and many fun moments. Thank you so much

교육 기관: darshan p

Mar 31, 2017

Really good and comprehensively researched course.

교육 기관: Hernadi F

Sep 12, 2017

These lecture are amazing and very unique. I got new perspective about Sports particularly the rise of sport with age-by-age

교육 기관: Luv R A

Mar 21, 2018

I really got some new insights about sports and how the climate of sports has changed and some really good facts about sport.

Thanks for the lovely lectures Mr. Orin!

교육 기관: Scott S

Jun 18, 2018

Very Interesting.

교육 기관: Aroosha R

Mar 12, 2018

I learned a-lot through this course. Thank you for introducing.

교육 기관: MICHAUD

Jan 28, 2018

Ce cours était très captivant et intéressant! Merci beaucoup!

교육 기관: Joshua J F

Jun 13, 2017

The content and delivery of the course were excellent. Professor Orin Starn is a star educator: knowledgeable, entertaining, funny, engaging, and very accessible.

교육 기관: Nasiba I

Aug 02, 2016

Such a passionate lectures,very interesting and useful.

교육 기관: Unal G

May 11, 2016

I loved this course, clear and rich instruction. highly recommended

교육 기관: Senga69

Dec 25, 2016

Excellent cours qui offre un point de vue original sur nos sociétés modernes.