Chevron Left
Start the UX Design Process: Empathize, Define, and Ideate(으)로 돌아가기

Google의 Start the UX Design Process: Empathize, Define, and Ideate 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
5,897개의 평가
1,043개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Start the UX design process: Empathize, Define, Ideate is the second course in a certificate program that will equip you with the skills needed to apply to entry-level jobs in user experience (UX) design. In this course, you’ll complete the first phases of the design process for a project that you’ll be able to include in your portfolio. You will learn how to empathize with users and understand their pain points, define user needs using problem statements, and come up with lots of ideas for solutions to those user problems. Current UX designers and researchers at Google will serve as your instructors, and you will complete hands-on activities that simulate real-world UX design scenarios. Learners who complete the seven courses in this certificate program should be equipped to apply for entry-level jobs as UX designers. No previous experience is necessary. By the end of this course, you will be able to: - Empathize with users to understand their needs and pain points. - Create empathy maps, personas, user stories, and user journey maps to understand user needs. - Develop problem statements to define user needs. - Generate ideas for possible solutions to user problems. - Conduct competitive audits. - Start designing a mobile app, a new project to include in your professional UX portfolio....

최상위 리뷰

TB

2021년 9월 29일

This course is very good & massively designed for student's who are biginner in UX field. The lecturers are also self proffessional experienced UX designer. Is not is great for carrier!!! Pretty cool!

ND

2021년 8월 5일

My instructor was engaging and communicated very well. The transcription was super handy and I loved that the reading after the lecture re-emphasized the content of the lecture. Excellent. Thank you.

필터링 기준:

Start the UX Design Process: Empathize, Define, and Ideate의 1,129개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Melissa H B

2021년 7월 8일

Though I rated this course above average, it could use some work in certain areas. It's above average because t​here are many excellent elements, including links to outside reading for further in-depth understanding. I learned a lot and find the content very engaging.

W​hat I found confusing and frustrating were the time assessments and some of the course structure.

Examples:

1. Google tends to underestimate the amount of time assignments will take. I often spent 3-4 times longer to complete peer graded assignments than the stated time calculation, meaning that missed deadlines were common. Other students in the forum, and an off-site chat room, have given the same feedback. I suspect that the time assessments were made by experienced UX designers who can whip through these activities with ease. Many of us UX students are brand new to this, and are still absorbing basic concepts.

2​. In this course, topics that will be needed in course 3 were introduced both before and after the competitive audit activity, which was confusing and took time away from the lengthy work of completing my 1st competitive audit. The ideation part, with the Crazy Eights exercise is the main example. It would make sense to complete a competitive audit first before ideating. Again, this feedback is backed up by other students.

3​. Now that I've started Course 3, I see that we don't spend any time ideating before jumping in to the wireframing and design prototype phase. In course 2, we did an ideation exercise for the CoffeeHouse scenario. There was no mention that to prepare for Course 3 we should ideate for our personal projects. This means that before getting into the work of Course 3, students must back-track and go through the ideation process.

4​. Why is this important? Because the course is designed to be completed in 6 months. While students can take the course at their own pace without penalty, the longer it takes, the more money we pay, and the longer it will take to get a UX job. In future, I think it would be helpful if a little more time were spent on ideation for our personal projects. That could be added to Course 3, making it a 4-week course. I know that these certification courses are new, so I hope that my feedback helps to improve the content and structure of the course.

Thanks!

교육 기관: Mark C

2021년 6월 2일

C​ourse was great but I'm not happy with the fact that my assignment has not been graded and its been almost a month now.

교육 기관: Ramiro C

2021년 3월 16일

Very wordy and not really any meat to the content.

교육 기관: Melanie R

2021년 5월 24일

I wish there was a way to dispute some of the peer reviews or to have an actual instructor double check the peer reviews because I was peer graded incorrectly and had to resubmit the same project three times just to be graded appropriately. I also wish there was an easier way to reach out to an instructor with questions.

교육 기관: Chrissy B

2021년 7월 28일

There is not a path to receive feedback from an instructor. Projects are graded by peers who may or may not have an adequate understanding of the English language and do not have experience in UX or an understanding of the project.

IF I could receive feedback from an instructor at the end of the course either via the discussion board or slack, I would give this 5 stars but as it stands, the course is extremely lacking in helping you actually learn what you did correctly and what you did incorrectly (or could be improved upon).

교육 기관: Joshua D

2021년 5월 3일

The creators of this course seem to just skip over necessary steps in the UX process. Multiple people have mentioned these issues in the discussion forums.

교육 기관: Mihir V M

2021년 8월 8일

G​reat course. Helped me learn about UX research, why it is important and how to do it. Learn some amazing techniques like crazy eights and HMW. Instructors are good and explains everything neetly.

교육 기관: Crysten S

2021년 6월 9일

Coursera itself has some ux issues which is funny when taking a course specifically on ux design. Doing the discussions is basically useless because as far as I can tell there is no way to later easily locate your submission or replies to other submissions to actually engage in any type of conversation or discussion. But the rest of the course was excellent! I learned a lot and feel like I really understood the reasoning behind all the steps and methods which is even more important for me.

교육 기관: Roman K

2021년 3월 25일

Don't like the speaker

교육 기관: Angela C

2021년 5월 11일

Beautifully designed course that is user friendly, and SUPER easy to use/navigate. The course has engaging and entertaining content that makes it easy to stay engaged and motivated. Nice job Google!!

교육 기관: Natalie D

2021년 8월 5일

My instructor was engaging and communicated very well. The transcription was super handy and I loved that the reading after the lecture re-emphasized the content of the lecture. Excellent. Thank you.

교육 기관: Maliah L T

2021년 9월 8일

I fell off and didn't begin working on the final assignment for a WEEKS. I just got so busy. I kept resetting my deadlines multiple times. It's such a relief to finally have this course completed.

교육 기관: Rachel L

2021년 3월 24일

Very good course with a really solid project to follow through each week. Going through all the steps helped me think about project design with an eye towards the user experience in new ways.

교육 기관: kirti s

2021년 6월 23일

As a researcher myself, I feel that the course could have been improved or made more interesting. ​

교육 기관: Barbara P

2021년 4월 27일

The course material was great - very informative and thorough. HOWEVER, I have had consistent problems accessing the Google docs for course 2. I can't finish the week 5 assignment to complete course 2 because I'm denied access. The only other option is to download a file that I can't open either, because I don't have a Microsoft account. Others have posted on the discussion forum that they've had the same problem, so it's not just me. I moved on to course 3, but I have no idea if I'll be able to access files that I need to download. If I have the same problem, I'm considering saying that this course was a waste of time and money.

교육 기관: Tushar B

2021년 9월 30일

This course is very good & massively designed for student's who are biginner in UX field. The lecturers are also self proffessional experienced UX designer. Is not is great for carrier!!! Pretty cool!

교육 기관: Soraya C C

2021년 4월 28일

I really liked the content but some things are confusing (For example the competitive audit report is quite confusing, I have found simpler audit reports online. The gaps and the weakness thing is quite confusing)

I don't like peer review, I'd prefer if a professional reviewed my work or I was given an exam like in previous lessons.

교육 기관: Gunay H

2021년 5월 3일

Some assignments were confusing (week 5) - the google drive file was not opening (week 5)

교육 기관: Barbara M

2021년 7월 12일

G​ood informative course but very disappointed with the peer grade reviews.

교육 기관: emily s

2021년 9월 26일

Google does a poor job of preparing their new students to conduct their first interviews. There are no examples to watch, like they provide for the Usability tests in course 4. It makes very little sense to give us multiple examples to watch for an unmoderated Usability test (where we have little interaction with our users) more than half way through the course BUT NOT do any of that for the start of the course where we are very new and doing a study with very high interaction with the users.

Provide video examples for the Interview portion of section 2 to better prepare new students for this highly interactive task. Some people have never done this before and you throw us in the pool in the deep end before teaching us how to swim. Google, if you're reading this, be better.

교육 기관: V A

2021년 7월 30일

I'm a complete beginner and honestly, Not much to learn here.

교육 기관: Jamie M

2021년 10월 24일

The course is blah blah and don't see the direction of it.

교육 기관: Emma S

2021년 5월 19일

Emily is an absolutely fabulous instructor! She speaks at the right speed, she is lovely, her voice is harmonious, and I had the sense that her enthusiasm to help us learn was genuine. I'd take any class she teaches. The material in his module is great too! It was much more difficult than I imagined it would be, but that's good. Having to do everything twice (once for the Coffee Shop example, and once for my own project) is great learning experience. Thanks! I look forward to the rest of the courses.

교육 기관: Robin D C

2021년 7월 3일

Really interesting but only disappointed that there is no proper guidance for the project we are doing. Discussion forums are useless, since I didn't receive any reply for my very first discussion. So I had to stop and avoid wasting time giving a long paragraph in discussion forum. It will be really good, if we get a chance to consult the lecturers personally, and ask the queries we have and guide us to the good output.

교육 기관: Alexej C

2021년 7월 3일

Very great course for both a UX beginner and someone who already has some basic knowledge, but would like to go through the whole process of researching customer needs from the very beginning.