Chevron Left
Improving your statistical inferences(으)로 돌아가기

아이트호벤 공과 대학의 Improving your statistical inferences 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.9
별점
715개의 평가
236개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course aims to help you to draw better statistical inferences from empirical research. First, we will discuss how to correctly interpret p-values, effect sizes, confidence intervals, Bayes Factors, and likelihood ratios, and how these statistics answer different questions you might be interested in. Then, you will learn how to design experiments where the false positive rate is controlled, and how to decide upon the sample size for your study, for example in order to achieve high statistical power. Subsequently, you will learn how to interpret evidence in the scientific literature given widespread publication bias, for example by learning about p-curve analysis. Finally, we will talk about how to do philosophy of science, theory construction, and cumulative science, including how to perform replication studies, why and how to pre-register your experiment, and how to share your results following Open Science principles. In practical, hands on assignments, you will learn how to simulate t-tests to learn which p-values you can expect, calculate likelihood ratio's and get an introduction the binomial Bayesian statistics, and learn about the positive predictive value which expresses the probability published research findings are true. We will experience the problems with optional stopping and learn how to prevent these problems by using sequential analyses. You will calculate effect sizes, see how confidence intervals work through simulations, and practice doing a-priori power analyses. Finally, you will learn how to examine whether the null hypothesis is true using equivalence testing and Bayesian statistics, and how to pre-register a study, and share your data on the Open Science Framework. All videos now have Chinese subtitles. More than 30.000 learners have enrolled so far! If you enjoyed this course, I can recommend following it up with me new course "Improving Your Statistical Questions"...

최상위 리뷰

MS

2021년 5월 13일

Eye opening course. My first introduction to some of the issues surrounding p-values as well as how to better utilize them and what they truly represent. My first introduction to effect sizes as well.

PP

2020년 6월 28일

Excellent explanations. Strong examples. Helpful exercises. Highly recommended for anyone who ever has to conduct inferential statistics or read anything that reports a p value or bayes factor.

필터링 기준:

Improving your statistical inferences의 235개 리뷰 중 126~150

교육 기관: Katia D

2018년 2월 11일

Great course! Although I was struggling with lecture 2 (Bayesian Statistics)––It was very mathsy and a bit difficult to follow.

교육 기관: Ester N

2022년 1월 24일

L​earned a lot during this course and it left me with a lot of challenges with planning my own research. I am very grateful.

교육 기관: Cesar Y

2019년 2월 25일

Practico sin hacer a un lado lo teorico, te dan un marco mucho mas amplio para la interpretacion y planteamiento de hipotesis

교육 기관: Bernhard E

2021년 1월 2일

Great course; didactically and scientifically excellent. I would recommend it to all PhD students in the empirical sciences.

교육 기관: Agustin E C F

2019년 11월 5일

This is a great course!. It tackles common misbeliefs and approaches the topics both in a technical and coloquial manner.

교육 기관: Ezra H

2020년 5월 19일

Very well structured. Every week covered a different important topic. Overall a useful course for empirical researchers.

교육 기관: Maojie T

2020년 1월 1일

I think it's a useful course for me, but I think some content in the last week is a little bit trivial for me...

교육 기관: John B

2018년 7월 17일

very well organised course and deepens understanding. Excellent resources provided also, e.g. books and papers.

교육 기관: Davide F S

2017년 5월 21일

Clear, concise, and engaging explanation of many statistical concepts that can be readily applied in research.

교육 기관: Yeison F V F

2021년 12월 12일

A perfect course to keep learning and to clarify the doubts about the essential of statistical inference

교육 기관: Amy M

2016년 11월 2일

Great lectures and really helpful simulations. Very engaging and interesting. Full of useful resources.

교육 기관: Lydia A G

2020년 5월 28일

Highly recommendable course. It puts clarity from the most basic concepts to some other new insights.

교육 기관: Sandra V

2016년 12월 10일

Extremely useful cours, especially the first 5 weeks! Pleasant and enjoyable. Definitely recommended!

교육 기관: Fengyuan L

2020년 7월 31일

excellent course. It solves lots of my question over the p value as well as the statistic analysis.

교육 기관: Habiba A

2016년 12월 29일

Easy to follow, light workload, and most importantly: very useful material of supreme importance.

교육 기관: Thijs

2019년 8월 14일

Great course. Already had some knowledge about statistics, but this course really improved it.

교육 기관: Rahul P S

2021년 9월 21일

The instructor has explained fine details in statistical inferences. Very informative course.

교육 기관: Cezar D S d S

2021년 5월 28일

Awesome course! I've had amost given up on learning this topic. Thanks for renewing my faith

교육 기관: Mr. J

2020년 2월 24일

Superbly Done synopsis of statistical gotchas and best practice against them. Very Valauble.

교육 기관: Morio C

2020년 1월 2일

Great course, clear and helpful. I will definitely recommend it to colleagues and students.

교육 기관: Jose M S

2017년 6월 17일

Quite interesting and well structured. The contents of this course deserve a wide audience.

교육 기관: Tamires M

2020년 11월 30일

I never thought I would say that about statistics, but: It was fun! Thank you Dr. Lakens!

교육 기관: Patrick H

2020년 8월 10일

This course should be taken by any psychologist (and actually anyone who does statistics)

교육 기관: Eva D P

2017년 1월 23일

Probably the best stats course I've ever taken (and also the most fun and enlightening)!

교육 기관: Carlo D V

2020년 8월 21일

This course was very useful. I recommend it to anyone who wants to deepen these topics.