Chevron Left
Improving your statistical inferences(으)로 돌아가기

아이트호벤 공과 대학의 Improving your statistical inferences 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.9
별점
719개의 평가
236개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course aims to help you to draw better statistical inferences from empirical research. First, we will discuss how to correctly interpret p-values, effect sizes, confidence intervals, Bayes Factors, and likelihood ratios, and how these statistics answer different questions you might be interested in. Then, you will learn how to design experiments where the false positive rate is controlled, and how to decide upon the sample size for your study, for example in order to achieve high statistical power. Subsequently, you will learn how to interpret evidence in the scientific literature given widespread publication bias, for example by learning about p-curve analysis. Finally, we will talk about how to do philosophy of science, theory construction, and cumulative science, including how to perform replication studies, why and how to pre-register your experiment, and how to share your results following Open Science principles. In practical, hands on assignments, you will learn how to simulate t-tests to learn which p-values you can expect, calculate likelihood ratio's and get an introduction the binomial Bayesian statistics, and learn about the positive predictive value which expresses the probability published research findings are true. We will experience the problems with optional stopping and learn how to prevent these problems by using sequential analyses. You will calculate effect sizes, see how confidence intervals work through simulations, and practice doing a-priori power analyses. Finally, you will learn how to examine whether the null hypothesis is true using equivalence testing and Bayesian statistics, and how to pre-register a study, and share your data on the Open Science Framework. All videos now have Chinese subtitles. More than 30.000 learners have enrolled so far! If you enjoyed this course, I can recommend following it up with me new course "Improving Your Statistical Questions"...

최상위 리뷰

MS

2021년 5월 13일

Eye opening course. My first introduction to some of the issues surrounding p-values as well as how to better utilize them and what they truly represent. My first introduction to effect sizes as well.

YK

2017년 3월 1일

Excellent course. The lecturer has written code snippets that let the students visualize the meaning and interrelationship of p-values confidence-intervals power effect-size bayesian-inference.

필터링 기준:

Improving your statistical inferences의 235개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: Kim S

2017년 6월 13일

An excellent course that provides a good introduction into the various statistical methods. I have definitely learned a lot of very useful information that I know I will use a lot in the future. I would really like to see a follow-on course on Bayesian Statistics now that I have got a taste for it!

교육 기관: Emmanuel D

2018년 4월 10일

A real pleasure to take this course ! The videos are extremely pleasant to watch and give away a lot of knowledge, without ever having this feeling of getting lost ! The assignments are fair and extremely useful as well as the exams ! Will definitely recommend (and actually already have ! =P)

교육 기관: David M

2020년 8월 15일

I've been involved in research for years, and wish this course had existed earlier in my career. I have learned more about statistics through this course than I did in the decade I spent on the bench in research science. This course should be required for anyone working in science.

교육 기관: Emma R

2020년 6월 16일

Excellent course, I highly recommend this to anyone working in research. Content is comprehensive and paced well, with modes of learning well implemented across lectures, practical work, testing, wider reading and content for extension learning. I really enjoyed this.

교육 기관: Georgios P

2018년 6월 25일

An intermediate course, which will grant new knowledge to everyone who is interested in making better inferences. It also needs a great deal of studying from external sources for all those who encounter these topics i.e. Type I error inflation, for the first time!

교육 기관: Benjamin F

2018년 8월 16일

Taking this course was the best decision of the start of my grad school. It has massively improved my ability to interpret other papers and plan my own experiments, as well as changing how I view psychology/science in general. Plus Daniel is a great teacher :)

교육 기관: TIAGO B L

2022년 1월 11일

The best course I've ever taken on Coursera (and I've taken a dozen or more). Professor Lakens teaches with great care and attention and all the lessons are meticulously crafted, full of references and extra materials. Thank you very much for the opportunity!

교육 기관: Pavol K

2017년 8월 16일

Amazing course. Definitely worth to accomplish. Highly recommended for every researcher, lecturer, PhD. student or student that is interested in prestent state of art regarding choosen important topics statistics and methodology, especially in Psychology.

교육 기관: Anna S K

2018년 3월 22일

Great course with practical examples and exercises! Clearly explains typical statistical misunderstandings and provides tips for a responsible and honest scientific practice. I really enjoyed it and already recommended it to all of my colleagues.

교육 기관: Ryan M

2019년 9월 7일

This course was fantastic. I believe I learned more in this class than I learned in three formal behavioral statistics courses. I highly recommend this course to other grad students, and I look forward to the next course that Lakens is creating!

교육 기관: Jose P

2018년 10월 9일

A great course to learn or refresh theoretical concepts behind statistical inferences. There is also a lot of hands-on material and additional content. I think I will come back to the videos and slides when I want to refresh some concepts.

교육 기관: Nic B

2017년 7월 17일

This is an excellent course for firming up statistical knowledge and replicable research practices. Likely useful for all psych/cognitive science PhD students and researchers further along who come from the frequentist training tradition.

교육 기관: Laurent W

2020년 10월 6일

Very good course, with a lot of practical work, which is nice. Also very clear lectures explaining the topics and not too difficult but definitely not too easy exams! Overall fantastic course, which provided me interesting new insights.

교육 기관: Sarah M

2021년 5월 21일

Even after taking several undergraduate and graduate statistics courses, this class was a great refresher and taught me knew information! I thoroughly enjoyed it and will implement what I learned to improve my research practices.

교육 기관: Tim B

2017년 1월 5일

This was a really well presented course, giving a fantastic overview of inferential statistics and always presented with a sense of humour! A number of really useful tools where introduced which I will be using again and again.

교육 기관: Martine K

2018년 6월 21일

Really great course! Was already familiar in statistics, but learned a lot about making inferences based on statistical tests. Lectures and assignments are very clear. Would recommend it to everyone interested in statistics.

교육 기관: Esthelle E

2019년 1월 23일

It was truly an awesome course! I learned a lot from the very well done videos, and well thought-through assignment. Would recommend to anyone trying to marry theory and application in ways that are actually helpful! BRAVO!

교육 기관: Stephen S

2020년 6월 10일

Such a great course. Daniel Lakens does a fantastic job explaining the nuances of statistical repeatability with well thought out examples and helpful tools. This is hands down of the best Coursera courses I've completed.

교육 기관: J R

2021년 5월 18일

The course helps you interpret statistical results and gives a foundation for making better studies. The course did a good job of making analysis first and doesn’t require a student to have strong programming skills.

교육 기관: Max K

2019년 11월 28일

This course will actually improve your statistical inferences. It's helpful to get an overview and better understanding of different statistical approaches and a nice introduction into Baysian stats. Would do it again!

교육 기관: Meghana J

2019년 10월 17일

The course is well-structured and excellently taught. The content is well researched and presented. The assignments are very practical and educative. (The philosophical references in the course content were on point!)

교육 기관: Jaroslav G

2018년 2월 5일

I found this course very well-structured and easily accessible and understandable even to students, while being highly profound and covering most important and and recent pressing topics in methodology and statistics.

교육 기관: Srinivas R

2017년 10월 9일

A course taught by a single individual - that packs more learning and knowledge into it than many rote courses. A course that I have returned to and will return to many times in the future to brush up on fundamentals.

교육 기관: Chandrani S

2021년 9월 10일

L​earning through implementation and practice are the best way and this course had a lot of those. The difficulty level was just right and using R programming and Open Science assignment had been a great experience.

교육 기관: Jonas S

2016년 11월 16일

Very well designed course, from a didactic as well as from an entertainment point of view. I was able to close many gaps in my inferential statistics knowledge and now feel much more confident in my interpretations.