Chevron Left
English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics(으)로 돌아가기

펜실베이니아 대학교의 English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
1,358개의 평가
448개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Welcome to English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." If you want to get a Coursera Verified Certificate for free, please fill out the Financial Aid form. This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in improving their English skills in the sciences. In this course, you will explore some of the most innovative areas of scientific study, while expanding your vocabulary and the language skills needed to share scientific information within your community. In unit 1, you will learn how to preview texts and practice some of the language used to make comparisons when talking about global warming and climate change. In unit 2, you will examine the chemistry of climate change and the language of cause and effect. In Unit 3, you will learn about some of the impacts of Climate Change and the language used to describe these effects. In Unit 4, you will learn reading strategies that can help you explore the science behind some new energy systems. In the final unit, you will investigate practical advances in Nanotechnology that help slow down climate change, while developing your own research skills in English. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

최상위 리뷰

UF

Apr 08, 2018

Great efforts are done to design the course.It was really effective and informative course.It was amazing to know about different renewable resources and technologies discussed in the course.

EO

May 12, 2020

The course was comprehensive in helping me understand how to approach science writing, especially in the area of climate change. Am confident this will help me a great deal in my work.

필터링 기준:

English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics의 440개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Ali M A

May 04, 2020

This is a great course for both STEM students and laypersons. It is such a rich seam of information on the planet, the kind of damage we are causing on a daily basis, and on ways to save mother Earth. The course is well balanced, easy to navigate, and sure to boost the English of all enrollees, even expert users! I do recommend wholeheartedly!

교육 기관: Samson Z

Nov 06, 2019

As a audio learner, I much appreciated the use of technology in the class in conjunction to discussing ,readings and presentation projects. I think it's one of the most progressive lit courses I’ve ever taken between the somewhat unknown readings and way of instruction. I feel like my writing has not only improved by my mind is more open.

교육 기관: Jose A R N

Jul 18, 2017

My name is Jose Antonio from Brazil. I am looking for a new Data Scientist career (https://www.linkedin.com/in/joseantonio11)

I did this course to complete my CV in English to the area of Data Science. 


The course was excellent and the classes well taught by teachers.

Congratulations to Coursera team and Instructors.

Regards.

Jose Antonio.

교육 기관: oswaldo m f

Apr 21, 2020

This was an excellent course which made me learn too much about scientific topics that I did not know existed in the field of engineering was also surprising the way they developed the topics and vocabularies used are very good for someone who is starting to connect with the English language.

Thank you for the course and excellent work.

교육 기관: Alaeddine G

Jan 14, 2020

it's really an interested courses i have ever gotten. i understand all about climate change and global warming etc ; now i am able to distinguish between notions and vocabularies related on climate afterwards i learned almost all pioneering and promising methods to create clean an renewable energy. It's really outstanding !

교육 기관: Sutthiphan H

May 19, 2020

This course provides a wider range of contents about global warming and English strategies. The learners implement strategies in order to communicate effectively under STEM contexts. This course is recommended for those whose English is not their native language, especially those who involve with science and teaching.

교육 기관: Benedict M P A

Nov 17, 2017

Thank you for this graduating this course. It is timely as part of my classroom teaching. The Global warming theme is such timely to teach now to educate my students about their part in alleviating this global warming trend. Once again, thank you so much to my instructors: Mr. Jack Sullivan and Miss Alyssa Swanson.

교육 기관: Абдыкаримова Г

Apr 30, 2020

This course is the first I've managed to complete and this is mainly due to how interesting it was! Moreover, all the information in the course is very important and I think everyone should try it! Also, I am very thankful for the opportunity to study and to get the certificate for free. Thank you very much!

교육 기관: Rodrigo A M P

May 26, 2017

It is one great English course in which grammar is given within the course's content! I think the course is also good for advanced learner's as it reviews grammar points, gets in touch with the American English (for the ones who has been studying the British and Aussie variations), learns new skills!

교육 기관: Prapaporn P

Sep 08, 2019

I love this course! Even though English it's not my first language but teachers are using the easy sentence and talked slow. It's helped me a lot and make me craving to learn more. I have bachelor's degree in Materials Science and I think I'm going to get my master soon. Thank you for inspiring me!

교육 기관: Jamal O M

Jul 06, 2017

It was a great course. I think it works for everyone. While you are learning about modal verbs, present progressive, and intensifiers, you will learn a lot of information about climate change and renewable energy. It is great especially for every one likes to work as a scientist or engineer.

교육 기관: Jennifer F

Jun 11, 2017

I am not ESL but I have always had trouble with science. I took this course so I could take more courses in science and be able to understand them. I think classes like this should be made available to people like me from elementary school on. I'm glad I was able to take it now.

교육 기관: Chin M Y

May 12, 2018

I like this course. It helps me with my vocabularies and the tutors' teaching method is fun and interacting with games and discussion forums, and the assignments are just cool and helped me with my pronounciation and of course give me a better understanding in global warming.

교육 기관: MARCIO D S C

Jul 10, 2017

This was one of the best English language courses I've ever attended. Bringing a real background to study, in this case climate change, has not only made it easier to learn the English language, but also gave us a deeper understanding of what is really happening to the world.

교육 기관: Marcelo M

Jul 18, 2017

Thank you

I liked the course, the didactic way in which the course was presented, the slow way of speaking helped to understand the pronunciation well. I liked the games that encouraged you to learn in a didactic and fun way.

Congratulations on the teaching method. Hugs

교육 기관: BO G

Jul 07, 2017

I strong love this practical and efficiently online courses. I think I catch the main ideas of each chapter. The ways of expressing STEM ideas will help me. Although there are some minor mistakes in the courses, I still believe it is a high quality course for everyone.

교육 기관: Mario F

May 01, 2020

I want to say thanks for this nice course! it was innovative, with real new and awesome information, you can improve your English and at the same time, you learn more about climate change and the researches done to reduce and mitigate its impacts on the plant's life.

교육 기관: AGBENOU K

Jul 25, 2017

The course was so interesting. It helped me not only to widen my knowledge at English but also to understand more about the causes and the impacts of climate change and the solution ways to save our planet from those impacts.

I recommend this course to everyone.

교육 기관: Lindy L

Nov 18, 2017

Taking this course is really a great help for me. I've been teaching SCIENCE in grade 9 and the topic climate change will be discussed on the third quarter. A lot of information i get from this course which i can use in my class discussions.

Thank you so much.

교육 기관: Marco A P G

Apr 19, 2020

This was a pretty good course for someone who is in an intermediate level of English and even it helps for some C1 too. This climate change issue it's very important so everyone needs to see this as a real problem rather than something that "just happen".

교육 기관: Hisham K

Jul 22, 2017

I liked the articles.

I was able to know more things about climate change and global worming.

The video presentations were marvelous with the cartoon illustrations and experiments.

The whole course was informative and added to knowledge.

Thank you so much!

교육 기관: Сорокин З Ю

Apr 26, 2020

The course taught me to understand the text in English, to be able to speak and write well. He also spoke about the environmental problems of the world, about their solutions and consequences. I realized that the future of the Earth depends on us.

교육 기관: Karina I

May 11, 2020

I am very happy to have completed this course. I got a lot of new knowledge on the topic of STEM. The organization of the course is very well structured and prepared. Watching a video is a pleasure. Thanks a lot for the opportunity to get better.

교육 기관: Sridharbabu Y

Apr 30, 2020

WOnderful course, well explained each and every part of the course. Thanks to Mr. Jack Sullivan and Ms. Alyssa Swanson. I also learned how impressively and effectively one can explain a concept. Great experience. I strongly recommend this course.