Chevron Left
Foundations of strategic business analytics(으)로 돌아가기

ESSEC 경영 대학원의 Foundations of strategic business analytics 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.4
별점
609개의 평가
142개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Who is this course for? This course is designed for students, business analysts, and data scientists who want to apply statistical knowledge and techniques to business contexts. For example, it may be suited to experienced statisticians, analysts, engineers who want to move more into a business role. You will find this course exciting and rewarding if you already have a background in statistics, can use R or another programming language and are familiar with databases and data analysis techniques such as regression, classification, and clustering. However, it contains a number of recitals and R Studio tutorials which will consolidate your competences, enable you to play more freely with data and explore new features and statistical functions in R. With this course, you’ll have a first overview on Strategic Business Analytics topics. We’ll discuss a wide variety of applications of Business Analytics. From Marketing to Supply Chain or Credit Scoring and HR Analytics, etc. We’ll cover many different data analytics techniques, each time explaining how to be relevant for your business. We’ll pay special attention to how you can produce convincing, actionable, and efficient insights. We'll also present you with different data analytics tools to be applied to different types of issues. By doing so, we’ll help you develop four sets of skills needed to leverage value from data: Analytics, IT, Business and Communication. By the end of this MOOC, you should be able to approach a business issue using Analytics by (1) qualifying the issue at hand in quantitative terms, (2) conducting relevant data analyses, and (3) presenting your conclusions and recommendations in a business-oriented, actionable and efficient way. Prerequisites : 1/ Be able to use R or to program 2/ To know the fundamentals of databases, data analysis (regression, classification, clustering) We give credit to Pauline Glikman, Albane Gaubert, Elias Abou Khalil-Lanvin (Students at ESSEC BUSINESS SCHOOL) for their contribution to this course design....

최상위 리뷰

PT
2015년 10월 12일

This course is excellent when it provides the citations very fit to theory. And I learned it in well organized structure of knowledge. Thank Prof. Glady and his team very much.

SK
2020년 9월 28일

The course contains the in-depth knowledge which helps to learn more about the business analytics. The assignments will test your presentation skills and creativity skills

필터링 기준:

Foundations of strategic business analytics의 139개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Aniket A

2020년 1월 20일

Pathetic description of requirements. Advance knowledge of excel is required before doing this.

교육 기관: Blaine B

2017년 9월 28일

Prof. Glady is an excellent lecturer. The course is very well produced, and the recitals were a great introduction to using code to solve business questions.

교육 기관: Christian B

2019년 11월 6일

This course is fantastic and contains insight and material that is difficult to find elsewhere. It is enjoyable, but it isn't easy. The level of analysis required in the final week on some of the suggested data sets goes above the level of R programming described in the course, so you'll have to do some additional learning if you're not an R user. Unfortunately, it often takes a little too long for the peer reviewing to take place, but other than that the course is one of the best on Coursera.

교육 기관: Vanitas M

2016년 10월 6일

Practical skills taught for how to use data tool for business purpose. It is exactly what i am looking for!

If you do not know anything about R, it is suggestible to take basic R language course before enrolling in this one.

I myself was a newbie in data field, but I took several courses of "Data Science" by John Hopkins University before starting this one. I am delighted to find that the coding thing I learned would finally have a role to play in possible future career.

교육 기관: Quentin B

2016년 5월 10일

I am only at Week 2 so far, but the techniques presented in this course, enhanced by the quality of the recitals (which walk you through the R-code application of the concepts presented) are very relevant to the subject matter.

I would not recommend taking this course without a decent background in R; however, the recitals do a good job at helping even beginners understand the application of statistical models to business decisions.

교육 기관: Irina C

2015년 10월 12일

Learning a lot from this course! The instructor addressed real business case scenarios and delivered everything that was stated in the course objectives. Both the style and the content were well balanced in terms of strategic business issues and tools to address those.

교육 기관: Dmitriy V

2015년 12월 11일

The final course assignment was not defined precisely enough which led to varying interpretations among graders and reduces grades for all as a result.

Otherwise a good intro course for the analytics specialization that focuses on the managerial aspects of data analytics and the communication of results.

I wish that links to supplementary reading on the statistics used in the course would be provided.

교육 기관: Parth P

2016년 7월 18일

The course covers a great deal of content, which is very relevant to day to day business context.

However, the course instructors can certainly do a better job on providing clear instructions on Projects and phrasing of Quiz questions. Some of the phrasing of questions/deliverables can be confusing and often requires rigorous deciphering.

교육 기관: christos g

2015년 10월 4일

I thnik the course is very interested and very good organized and you learn some interesting things.Prior exposure with R is neccesary and in my opinion if in the assignements existed some more questions in order to spent more time in R the course would have been even better..

교육 기관: Edward H

2016년 1월 20일

I enjoyed this class, but the content feels amateurish. One major detracting factor is grading of the exams- a complete waste of time where there are multiple examples of contradictory slides to the quiz questions. The quizes often ask for information that is beyond the scope of the lectures and steadily becomes a process of just retaking exams until you get a 100%. I don't think the quizes reinforced the material in the lecture but actually took away from the class. This class was at it's best during the recitals, where I actually got to understand the great strategies used in the videos.

교육 기관: Frank

2021년 5월 7일

Even when this course is already a few years old, the content is still very relevant. Compared to other business analytics courses I have seen, this one is very hands-on. You learn by doing, which is good. If you are not familiar with R but understand the concepts for table manipulation in Excel, Matlab, or Python Pandas, it should be relatively easy to learn the R basics.

The R examples are quite detailed, well commented, and cover a wide range of analytics cases, such that if you come across something new you will be able to categorize it most likely into one of these examples.

교육 기관: Ben B

2017년 7월 5일

Truly found the content extremely useful and well organized. Would recommend to any consultant tasked with sourcing, discovering, and communicating data with their clients, including analysts (who can appreciate the recitals) and managers (who can skip the recitals while still gaining terrific concepts and strategies from the lecture videos).

교육 기관: Evgenia R

2017년 1월 19일

Great course! I believe it would be a good idea to have the text beside the videos, not below. Also, one thing that was difficult for me was the pre-process of the data (handling NA's). I believe that you should suggest some methods for that and what is the right way to do. Thank you!

Best regards,

Evgenia Rodopoulou

교육 기관: Nino P

2019년 5월 24일

Great course to gain VERY valuable knowledge in business analytics. It's great that they provide you with R scripts that you can use anytime to remind yourself of the analysis. All in all, a highly recommendable course for anyone with data science skills willing to apply them in the field of business analytics.

교육 기관: Philippe B

2020년 12월 16일

Great content for an introduction of how statistics and data analysis can be applied to business situations. The recitals are great to practice and go deeper. Be careful though, you still need to be computer-savvy and have good notions in statistics and computer science to make the most of this course!

교육 기관: Karolina W

2020년 3월 23일

Excellent course. It provided a perfect mix of theoretical lectures (although focused on real life examples) and practical use cases of R Programming in the business context. I would recommend it to anyone wishing to expand their data analytics toolkit. I found it extremely relevant and enjoyable.

교육 기관: Hashan M

2020년 4월 15일

It is great as it was to doing this course. The content and the lectures was really fantastic. Complexity comes into practical experience with serious of learning materials. Highly appreciated and recommended the course. This would be window to many other opportunities. Thanks in advance.

교육 기관: walid s

2018년 5월 11일

merci pour ce très intéressant MOOC, qui m'a permis très rapidement de me remémorer des bases de l'économétrie, de même qu'il m'a enseigné de très utiles fondations en stratégies d'entreprises. Je le recommande vivement. Je vais d'ailleurs continuer et m'inscrire pour la spécialisation

교육 기관: Shengyu C

2015년 10월 23일

Very relevant course

Teaches the interpretations of advanced analytic techniques - has a nice balance between the communications and the hard technical aspect. Would recommend it. However, for those who are not already familiar with the hard technical aspect, the course may be daunting.

교육 기관: The S f D

2020년 3월 8일

The course is excellent, teaches a business level focus on Data. The examples given are all relevant to business. Really mind opening, really challenging, really enjoyable. One caveat: high level of R knowledge required to get the most from the course. t

교육 기관: Ihar V

2020년 11월 12일

Good course for people who just started to open business analytics. For people who are mature, it is basic. So I cannot say that this is an advance level and there is no clear explanation for R functions and mathematical methods using in this course.

교육 기관: Gordon S

2016년 6월 28일

This course does well to balance its focus on strategy and analytics. The analytics aren't overly in-depth, allowing for less technical individuals to reap benefits from the course. I highly recommend this course to consultants and business analysts.

교육 기관: Aritro S R

2017년 8월 2일

I had a good understanding of R, regression & classification algorithms. I found this course very helpful in understanding how those methods can be implemented in analyzing various business problems for strategic planning.

교육 기관: Deleted A

2015년 11월 24일

A truly fabulous MOOC. Granted you have to be proficient in R and have an understanding of business practices for maximum benefit but it is well worth gaining such skills just to take this course - you won't regret it.

교육 기관: Paul N

2017년 7월 30일

Some of the recitals are a little off and glaze over essential details. But, as a pragmatic and practical introduction to advanced techniques in R, I've not come across a better course. Very highly recommended.