Chevron Left
The World of the String Quartet(으)로 돌아가기

커티스음악원의 The World of the String Quartet 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
355개의 평가
92개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Arnold Steinhardt, first violin of the internationally acclaimed Guarneri String Quartet, invites music listeners to the world of the string quartet repertoire and ensemble. Journey with him and interpretive analysis instructor Mia Chung through the history and features of quartet music, colored by stories of legendary quartets and insights from the stage. This season's Curtis courses are sponsored by Linda Richardson in loving memory of her husband, Dr. Paul Richardson....

최상위 리뷰

BK

Oct 05, 2015

This course was incredibly interesting and greatly informative! I am an amateur violinist and loved the historical information about the composers and the demonstrations by the Aizuri Quartet.

TV

Nov 03, 2015

This is a great course. The professors are wonderful and they clearly have a tremendous love (which they pass on to their pupils) of the subject matter. Week six blew my mind.

필터링 기준:

The World of the String Quartet의 90개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Nicholas W

Aug 11, 2020

This is a life-enhancing course. Mia and Arnold are wonderful teachers [and I am a University lecturer myself, so I know quality when I see it], with unparalleled knowledge, experience and feeling. Honestly, I can't imagine who else could have delivered this course nearly so well. Both are engaging, charismatic and have the incredible talent of making one feel that one is simply taking part in a conversation with an old friend, albeit one who is incredibly well-versed and passionate.

The Aizuris help bring the works to life [they won competitions at Wigmore Hall in 2015 and in Osaka in 2017].

To travel the journey of the String Quartet from Haydn to Ludwig is full of delights and surprises and introduced me [a non-musician] to music which I now cannot imagine being without. Thank you sincerely, Mia, Arnold and Curtis; I owe you each a debt of gratitude.

PS Arnold's book 'Indivisible by Four' is wonderful [and I have his 'Violin Dreams' on order].

교육 기관: Ats A

Sep 14, 2015

To dig deeper into music theory, it helps to explore specific genres one-by-one. So to create a sort of spider's web of knowledge in one's mind to which any future knowledge can adhere to. This is my 3rd music course from coursera, and 2nd from Curtis. I very much recommend these. To learn in one's own pace helps to concentrate to subjects at times when the mind is ready and the mood level is good. This makes learning an enjoyable experience. I was no fan of String Quartets before, but I truly am now. The chamber music with it's roots in class system of societies has always troubled me with it's wigs and powders and halls with exclusive acoustics. But after completing this course I can see, that this is all just a facade and the "chamber" might as well be my backyard in a sunny afternoon. There are tunes which are very pleasant to hear even when counterpoint is not yet "your thing". Thank you for this wonderful experience.

교육 기관: Montserrat-Ana M

Aug 15, 2019

Excellent course with high quality levels of rigor and artistry from both professors. Its contents, with grace, thoroughly cover the history of Chamber Music in such an effective way so that the student becomes even more interested in pursuing the next topic and further exploring the World of Chamber Music.

Along its seven programs, the course manages to raise the students' enthusiasm for the composers historical context, their circle of closest friends, their complex times, their musical roots, their inherintance from the great masters. The student develops the skill of listening to the suggested pieces in order to discern the composer's techniques and to understand the story and the emotions that the composer and performers intend to communicate.

I am really enjoying this course and I highly recommend it. Wise performances by the Aizuri Quartet for this course, congratulations.

교육 기관: Miguel A

Sep 07, 2019

Highly recommended for anyone interested in classical music. Arnold Steinhardt's enthusiasm and Mia Chung's clear explanations pair excellently. Both specific (compositional and performance-related) and general (historical and philosophical) matters are covered in a well-balanced way. And I appreciated the teaching style very much: rather than a teacher teaching at me, it felt like I learned through conversations with friends.

I only could not see the added value of the 'with strings attached' section. I would have preferred profound, provoking and philosophical questions (Is John Cage's 4'33'' music? Is tonality natural or taught? Why is the string quartet an established genre while the wind quartet isn't?) over these bits of trivia and references to pop culture. But that's just a detail!

교육 기관: John H

Nov 19, 2016

As a late-starter/returner in a new quartet, I found this course excellent. The discussions and demonstrations brought the material to life. My only problems arose in trying to access the online resources which I could rarely get to work. Also, the "no-strings" questions were fun, but I could not submit any answers as the relevant link never appeared on my screen. I use an Apple iMac. I was of course tempted to return on occasion to aim for 5/5 in the quizzes, but did not. I think this aspect might be omitted, though I can see it might help avoid demotivating a disappointed student!

교육 기관: Cooke H

Oct 30, 2015

Fantastic discussion and live examples of pieces. This course gave me a wonderful overview and context for understanding the development of the string quartet. What I found most fascinating was the pure objectivity in the lectures and the plethora of styles I was introduced to that previously I had not known (Webern, Smetana and Shostakovitch). Both Mr. Steinhardt and Ms Chung are excellent scholars. I highly recommend this course as it gives you a lifetime of specific quartets to get to know.

교육 기관: Lauren L

Aug 15, 2015

This course was an absolute delight! Arnold, Mia, and the lovely and talented musicians made this course something I looked forward to every week and have even created a You Tube play list of the quartets studied in this class which I still listen to on a regular basis. I recommend this course to everyone who loves quartet music whether you are a musician or a dedicated lover of music. I guarantee you will thank me if you take my advice and sign up for The World of the String Quartet.

교육 기관: Dan K

Nov 15, 2016

A magnificent course on a critical area of classical music. Because composers wrote in so many genres, it's easy for players to only know the pieces which pertain to them, and miss huge numbers of extremely important works by their most influential composers. This class is a great window into and area any non-string player can miss easily. The music and commentary is incredible and very well presented. A total must-see for serious music students.

교육 기관: walter w

Nov 27, 2015

Thank you for this wonderful course. It provided an overview of the history of the string quartet. It exposed me to music I was not familiar with and helped me appreciate the genre. Because of this course, I have already bought CDs of the complete string quartets of Tchaickovsky and Schubert and plan to keep expanding my collection. I now take time every evening to listen to one work before I go to bed. It has added a new d

교육 기관: Daniel H

Aug 29, 2017

Wonderful broad survey of some of the significant repertoire for string quartet, from its inception in the classical period all the way up to the present day and beyond. Arnold Steinhardt and Mia Chung speak intelligently and engagingly about their chosen topics, and their areas of knowledge complement each other extremely well. Highly recommended for anyone looking to learn more about the genre of the string quartet!

교육 기관: Keeley B

May 05, 2020

As a high school violinist looking to be accepted to a conservatory, this course was amazing in expanding my knowledge of the string quartet repertoire. Professor Chung and Steinhardt were incredibly clear and informative and the live demonstrations by the Aizuri quartet made the course feel very interactive. It was super inspiring and made me want to pursue chamber music more in the future. Thank you!

교육 기관: Janine M

Nov 20, 2016

Thank you so much. I would heartily recommend the course to anyone with even a remote interest in classical music, whether they play an instrument or listen for pleasure and certainly defy anyone not to come away delighted and enlightened. This has been a very special experience and being able to return to the course videos and musical materials is a real boon.

교육 기관: Kirill B

Mar 11, 2016

I'm not a professional musician, but I really enjoyed learning more about Quartet music from this course. The teachers Albert and Mia reveals course not too fast not too slow, but at great rate that it gets absorbed nicely in the head. Also they definitely know what they are talking about. Also Aizuri Quartet is astounding. Love it

교육 기관: Eamonn P

Dec 02, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and recommend it highly. Pacing through pieces I had earlier glanced over or resisted was especially worthwhile in revealing further treasures and I really appreciate the performers' discussions. That this particular medium evokes such a powerful response is wondrous.

교육 기관: Jasson M

Jun 04, 2020

This course has been very interesting for me. Has given me tools for a better understanding of chamber music and appreciate various stages of the history of composers and the works we have reviewed. I enjoy it a lot and I continue to check several details in the listening list. thank you very much.

교육 기관: Michelle Z

Jul 11, 2020

A great course to understand more about String Quartets in detail and the presentation which was done by the lecturers are also top-notch. Really a great experience and recommended for everyone, ranging from casual music listeners to ones who have received musical training/education.

교육 기관: KG G

Mar 04, 2018

Excellent & inspiring course. Very well organized.

This course has motivated me to go to more chamber music concerts including the Beethoven Complete String Quartet series at UC Berkeley in 2017 (Takacs Quartet), which was an amazing experience!

Thank you for this course.

교육 기관: Janet Y

May 22, 2020

The String quartet book "Indivisible by Four" brings me to the course. The videos are really excellent. Really like Mia Chung's explanations. As a beginner violin player, the course also helped me to appreciate music and start to explore "string quartets" in Spotify.

교육 기관: Jill M

Dec 06, 2016

Outstanding course. The presenters were expert in their fields, the material and presentations were engaging and varied. This was a remarkable journey of listening, learning, exploration and discovery from the very beginnings of the genre right up until now.

교육 기관: Timothy C

Aug 15, 2015

Truly a rewarding and eye opening course. If one is looking for a low-level work, yet comprehensive exploration of the medium of the String Quartet, this is the course to take. Both instructors are beyond par of excellence as well as entertaining.

교육 기관: Mike S

Aug 28, 2015

Very informative and interesting in-depth overview of the genre. The additional course resources (videos and recordings) are worth signing up by themselves. Highly recommend for anyone who's just getting into classical music.

교육 기관: Emilio B S

Jun 04, 2020

Muchas felicidades, es un excelente curso! Tiene muchos detalles y pormenores de más de 300 años de los cuartetos de cuerda. Es muy interesante el curso y lleno de datos técnicos, históricos y musicales.

교육 기관: Bernice K

Oct 05, 2015

This course was incredibly interesting and greatly informative! I am an amateur violinist and loved the historical information about the composers and the demonstrations by the Aizuri Quartet.

교육 기관: Sebastián E L C

Jun 14, 2017

Es un curso muy completo para personas sin conocimiento musical, y un buen inicio para los músicos (intérpretes y compositores) que desean internarse en el mundo de los cuartetos de cuerda.

교육 기관: Yves P

Sep 14, 2017

This course strengthens me in the idea that well-practiced Music opens genuine communication networks - interaction between humans, feelings... - that tend to disappear nowaday.