Chevron Left
Studying Cities: Social Science Methods for Urban Research(으)로 돌아가기

에라스무스 대학교 로테르담 캠퍼스의 Studying Cities: Social Science Methods for Urban Research 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
150개의 평가
40개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Welcome! Are you looking to learn more about how to conduct scientific research, specifically in an urban or local context? Then you have found the right course: Studying Cities: Social Science Methods for Urban Research by the Institute for Housing and Urban Development Studies (IHS), Erasmus University Rotterdam. During the course you will gain more insight in the different steps of the research cycle, and build a firm foundation for your own future research endeavors. Before any (urban) researcher may start conducting research, it is crucial to understand the different aspects and elements of doing research. The course will guide you through the various steps of the research cycle to provide you with the basic knowledge necessary for any Master-level program, but with a special focus on urban and local development. The course starts with introductory lectures on the problem statement, research objective, empirical cycle and the research question. Over the following weeks you will also learn the components and criteria of the theoretical framework and operationalization, research strategies, and the collection and analysis of quantitative and qualitative data. You will be provided with the necessary tools to understand and evaluate these key steps in scientific research by watching video lectures with in-video questions and by completing the final peer review, which will use all the elements you have learnt throughout the course....

최상위 리뷰

TS
2020년 11월 22일

Such a rigorous, thorough and enjoyable course - you really feel like you are learning fantastic content and technical skills. it behaves well as a foundational framework for urban analytics.

AT
2020년 7월 16일

A very useful course and worth to join. Learned new applied Social Science methods in specific details for doing urban research.

필터링 기준:

Studying Cities: Social Science Methods for Urban Research의 40개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Syeda I N

2019년 9월 24일

It has helped me a lot. It was a very effective course on Social Science Methods for Urban Research in Studying Cities. Thanks a lot to Course era and the IHS family to give me such an opportunity to gather knowledge once again after completing UMDT 5 in 2014. It was great!!

교육 기관: Gabriel M

2020년 12월 21일

Excellent course ir you are in a process of making a thesis in a urban problem. It is very organized with a great content

교육 기관: Noor T

2021년 7월 9일

This is a great course because of its specialized content. Perfect for students moving to grad and post- grad studies.

교육 기관: Bruna S

2021년 5월 7일

The course offers a great opportunity to learn about methods of academic research with a focus on urban planning.

교육 기관: Augusto A

2020년 5월 26일

This is a great course for those who want to pursue in studying cities.

교육 기관: Katheryn P

2020년 10월 7일

Very good course. It helped me with my degree project.

교육 기관: Branislav T T

2020년 5월 22일

Everything went almost perfect, except the last task which was too demanding. I recommend to think about another, more appropriate and not so time consuming knowledge assessment methods in this course. Also, some student are revengeful, meaning if you assess their task objectively that those are wear tasks, they do the same to your task no matter how good you did yours. Try to think about more objective way of assessing the final task as well.

교육 기관: Olenka P

2021년 4월 10일

Personally I found the this course useful because presents all the steps to prepare a research proposal from the very beginning, all the presentation are clearly explained (there could be some terms not everyone know, but is possible to review complementary bibliography to understand better some concepts). However, something to improve could be the quizes since sometimes are too textual anyway are helpful to remember what was explained in each session. The final task is interesting, it allows to evaluate examples of research proposals as well as to be critic to score each part of it justifying properly and also to evaluate other students' evaluations and provide them a feed back. Many thanks to the team of professors!

교육 기관: vidya G

2021년 6월 7일

The most important part I liked is the very comprehensive evaluation by me , a research proposal of Tenzic Temang, during his successful completion of for M.Sc degree in Urban Management ( UMD) from the Institute for Housing & Urban Development (IHS), Erasmus University, Rotterdam ( EUR) in the year 2017.

교육 기관: Satwant B

2019년 12월 28일

The course on Studying cities has helped me to expand my scope pf research in urban studies form Historical research methods to a interdisciplinary methodology. The video lectures, notes and assignments have kept me on my toes and enhanced my research skills as social scientist.

교육 기관: Caroline c

2020년 12월 17일

The course really helped me to have a clear picture on conceptualizing research with substantial knowledge on relevant procedures. It is going to help me in my present job as well as to prepare proposal for my PhD.

교육 기관: Nurbek A

2020년 12월 13일

This course is really interesting in design and the way it examines knowledge, attention, and general logic. Itself, the course is very important and helps to provide insight into the learning experience.

교육 기관: Tabinda S

2020년 11월 23일

Such a rigorous, thorough and enjoyable course - you really feel like you are learning fantastic content and technical skills. it behaves well as a foundational framework for urban analytics.

교육 기관: Аксанов Д О

2020년 3월 21일

The course is enjoyable and exciting! Being a non-specialist I got great pleasure studying this interesting and comprehensive course to improve my general knowledge.

교육 기관: Aye N C T

2020년 7월 16일

A very useful course and worth to join. Learned new applied Social Science methods in specific details for doing urban research.

교육 기관: Vaida

2021년 3월 15일

Thank you for a consistent, helpful and informative course on Social Science Methods for Urban Research.

교육 기관: Michael

2020년 7월 13일

Exceptionally well crafted modules. The videos and assignments encourage and task learning .

교육 기관: Nur A

2021년 6월 8일

This course is one of the best Social Science Research Course I have ever taken

교육 기관: abdo m

2021년 4월 23일

Great course for students who want to prepare their thesis proposal.

교육 기관: Lina J

2020년 11월 4일

A very clear and concise course, good marking methods.

교육 기관: Arwin B

2021년 1월 8일

Difficult to accomplish yet so satisfying to complete

교육 기관: Ram B G

2021년 11월 11일

I​t is supportive and help my career and course.

교육 기관: Jigme T

2020년 11월 12일

Very insightful and lively learning materials

교육 기관: Mohammed T

2021년 1월 24일

Super useful, I would highly recommend it!!

교육 기관: Jannatul F R

2020년 8월 31일

Excellent course and I have learnt a lot.