Chevron Left
Summary Statistics in Public Health (으)로 돌아가기

존스홉킨스대학교의 Summary Statistics in Public Health 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
1,550개의 평가
379개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Biostatistics is the application of statistical reasoning to the life sciences, and it is the key to unlocking the data gathered by researchers and the evidence presented in the scientific literature. In this course, we'll focus on the use of statistical measurement methods within the world of public health research. Along the way, you'll be introduced to a variety of methods and measures, and you'll practice interpreting data and performing calculations on real data from published studies. Topics include summary measures, visual displays, continuous data, sample size, the normal distribution, binary data, the element of time, and the Kaplan-Meir curve....

최상위 리뷰

EC

2020년 9월 22일

I found this course really useful. It actually made you do work and it wasn't necessarily easy to pass the end of module content, which I feel made the course so much more valuable. Highly recommend.

AA

2021년 1월 10일

This is a good and enticing introduction for the rest of the Coursera Specialization where it belongs. For added value, consider taking this course with a biostatistics textbook for better retention.

필터링 기준:

Summary Statistics in Public Health 의 386개 리뷰 중 326~350

교육 기관: ANDREA P V G

2020년 10월 7일

Awesome!

교육 기관: Shakil A S

2020년 11월 28일

amazing

교육 기관: Manuel S P

2020년 10월 21일

ooooooo

교육 기관: Victor O O

2019년 10월 23일

Awesome

교육 기관: Afra A A

2022년 1월 3일

good

교육 기관: Milind M S

2021년 4월 10일

best

교육 기관: Dr.Jagadesaan N

2020년 10월 2일

good

교육 기관: Ricardo D A

2021년 6월 28일

I​ just completed the Biostatistics specialisation, so I have posted these comments on all the courses:

What I most appreciated: D​r McGready is a fantastic lecturer, and I learned a tremendous amount from his lectures. I feel that you need to do all four courses to truly appreciate all the lessons.

W​hat I think will improve the courses: There are some mistakes in the quizzes and the answer sheets, and I think it is because Dr McGready used the lectures that he uses in his classes at JHU, but had to transcribe the quizzes into the Coursera format. I feel that the lectures would have had even greater value if we got to program some of the statistics and manipulate some of the data in R or SPSS.

O​verall, I really enjoyed the specialisation, and I certainly got what I was looking for. Thanks again for all your hard work!

교육 기관: Michele F B

2021년 2월 4일

This course is a good introduction to summary statistics that you might see in public health research. Covers normal distributions and standard deviation, binary data (risk difference, relative risk, odds ratio), and time-to-event data (IR hat, IRR hat, survival time/Kaplan Meier curve). The lectures are good and the instructor provides 'additional examples ' lectures. Some additional explanation of terms would be helpful. Course quizzes can be tricky - you have to type in something exactly as was entered in the key to get credit and the phrasing of some of the questions is confusing. Overall, a good intro to biostats.

교육 기관: Eman A S

2020년 9월 1일

Learned a lot of new concepts and refreshed the part of my brain that studied probability mathematics, etc as a highschool senior -- unfortunately, mathematics that seem to get abandoned during most of med school. Instructor guides you through the topics in a really intuitive way.

Admittedly, it seems as though the topics i was most curious about only appear in subsequent courses, so i am slightly disappointed. Hopefully future courses also come with a free trial!

Give it a shot to cement your understanding of stats as used in the news, and in public health in general!

교육 기관: Pius O

2019년 6월 30일

I took the course to improve my competencies and build my capacity in biostatistics. This course has helped me to understand some biostatistical concepts that I did not fully grasp before now; e.g. standard deviation of binary data, some aspects of risk difference and relative risk and Kaplan-Meier plots. In fact, I'm impressed with the explanation of how to interpret risk difference and relative risk, i.e. for groups and individuals respectively!

교육 기관: Nikolai G R

2021년 3월 23일

Very comprehensive and informative course. It was easy to grasp because concepts were simplified and examples were shown for each topic. Some of my comments include the relatively long videos some of the lectures, which may be condensed or broken down further; as well as the use of pen marker during the lecture which is, at times, difficult to see or read.

교육 기관: Ulukbek Z

2020년 12월 30일

Everything was good. Instructor is good but because online courses are some kind international, he should talk more slowly and more precise for international students. I know he is precise for English speaking participants. Anyway, his explanation and examples were very good. Thanks.

교육 기관: Michael J

2021년 1월 10일

Excellent survey of statistical methods, interpretation and presentation. Prof. McReady's interest in and eagerness to share guidance on proper use of statistics in public health might convey better with improved graphics, but were on the whole very understandable and compelling.

교육 기관: Nitesh B

2020년 4월 28일

Fantastic and inspiring course. Very essential for everybody in the field of public health. Prof. Dr. John is extremely lucid and clear. Additional information or any added reading materials might help the aspirants.

교육 기관: Dana S

2020년 5월 12일

Excellent explanations and interesting quizzes. I really enjoyed the final project. There was some echo throughout the lectures which was somewhat distracting, but that's minor. Thank you very much!

교육 기관: Pinelopi T

2020년 11월 27일

I loved the profesor and the entire course. Many examples, simple language, great for understanding the basics of statistics. I'd have loved it if it contained more information about more subjects

교육 기관: Emilyann L R

2019년 1월 23일

Great course. Couple of hiccups along the way, but I think they are all ironed out now. The instructor is excellent at explaining and providing relevant samples to demonstrate course material.

교육 기관: Sunaina l

2020년 7월 1일

it was a great learning experience and this coursehave provided insight into some vital concepts in biomedical health statistics,I am very thanful to the entire team.

교육 기관: Mary D

2020년 7월 13일

I found it to be a really useful refresher from an introductory biostats course from my graduate studies. Thanks for making this information so accessible!

교육 기관: Ji H N

2019년 5월 17일

Quite a good course - sometimes though the questions are not really covered within the course lectures. Simple and easy to understand.

교육 기관: Samira H

2020년 7월 13일

I liked the course very much. It would be helpful if we can get some better explanations on the box plot data presentations.

교육 기관: Tadej D

2020년 12월 6일

In some areas to many unecessary words, it is easy to lose focus. Handwriting very bad!

But overall very good explanation.

교육 기관: ADNAN M

2020년 7월 9일

Good course. But some of the questions are not understandable. And some of the calcualtions were not described detail.

교육 기관: Douglas R

2021년 2월 13일

Good course, would be great if typos/errors especially in week 4 quiz and final course quiz were corrected.