Chevron Left
Engineering Life: Synbio, Bioethics & Public Policy(으)로 돌아가기

존스홉킨스대학교의 Engineering Life: Synbio, Bioethics & Public Policy 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.3
별점
60개의 평가
18개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Synbio is a diverse field with diverse applications, and the different contexts (e.g., gain-of-function research, biofuels) raise different ethical and governance challenges. The objective of this course is to increase learners’ awareness and understanding of ethical and policy/governance issues that arise in the design, conduct and application of synthetic biology. The course will begin with a short history of recombinant DNA technology and how governance of that science developed and evolved, and progress through a series of areas of application of synbio. Content will be presented in many forms, including not only reading and lectures, but also recorded and live interviews and discussions with scientists, ethicists and policy makers. Learners will have the opportunity to think, write and talk about the issues and challenges in their own work and in real-life case examples. A final project will engage students in the development of governance models for synbio....

최상위 리뷰

JQ
2017년 7월 27일

fun and interesting course. very well taught by somebody obviously knowledgeable. Thanks so much.

TN
2017년 6월 15일

Highly thought-provoking. One of the most interesting classes I have taken on Coursera.

필터링 기준:

Engineering Life: Synbio, Bioethics & Public Policy의 17개 리뷰 중 1~17

교육 기관: Pranjali B

2020년 3월 12일

correct marks are not being updated in quizzes

교육 기관: Juan C G P

2019년 3월 3일

This course has further deepened my passion for bioethics!

Debra JH Mathews delivers the course in a way that makes you feel confident that you can face such difficult questions and the material is very well-chosen and explained.

Thank you for this course!

교육 기관: George

2020년 11월 29일

Very insightful course for young scientists and engineers to understand bioethics!

교육 기관: Alexis N

2018년 9월 12일

Dr. Matthews is a fantastic instructor; Slide deck is great.

교육 기관: Preesha C A

2020년 8월 5일

for some reason I was not getting any feedback on my week 1 quiz, and I tried the quiz so many times and i got the same 60 percent which was unbelievable since I prepared for the quiz, this has been throwing me off

교육 기관: Vanessa L

2018년 4월 15일

I really enjoyed taking this course. It was very interesting and informative for me. The course allowed me to get a deeper and more broad points of view about the topics of ethical issues related to synthetic biology and biotechnology. Thank you professor Debra Mathews and to all involved in this course!

교육 기관: Víctor B R

2021년 5월 21일

Excellent course, I really liked it, I am actually studying Biotechnology and didn't know anything that was taught here. I think that either you are studying the theme or not it is important and may be aplicable for other subjects.

교육 기관: JOHN Q

2017년 7월 28일

fun and interesting course. very well taught by somebody obviously knowledgeable. Thanks so much.

교육 기관: José E M A

2018년 5월 12일

I really enjoyed this course, excellent explanations and very good class material.

교육 기관: Alejandra I C H

2020년 11월 6일

Great course! Learn a lot of new information about governance in Synbio.

교육 기관: Mauricio M P

2020년 8월 14일

Great topics to review bioethics from a bunch of perspectives.

교육 기관: Mario T Z

2021년 3월 28일

Nice and well done course!!!

교육 기관: Nishant J

2018년 11월 27일

Nice experience

교육 기관: Jonathan G

2018년 2월 24일

fascinating course about genetics and disease. However, it's kind of a no-brainer to know that their unethical and ethical ways to use genetics. Lord knows some mad scientist is going to use this technology to create a new disease or some sort of Frankenstein to unleash upon the world.

교육 기관: Joy S

2019년 11월 7일

pretty good class. kind of technical but gives one some good stuff to think about

교육 기관: Michelle B

2020년 9월 22일

many tecchnical problems including grading, several of the readings are no longer on the web where she had linked them (i.e she shouldve uploaded or scanned etc)

potentially fascinating but a total waste of money and time because of all of the technical difficulties as well as the missing links.

교육 기관: Deleted A

2020년 6월 2일

Bad course design.