Chevron Left
Introduction to Systems Biology(으)로 돌아가기

마운트사이나이 아이칸 의과대학의 Introduction to Systems Biology 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.3
별점
521개의 평가
107개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course will introduce the student to contemporary Systems Biology focused on mammalian cells, their constituents and their functions. Biology is moving from molecular to modular. As our knowledge of our genome and gene expression deepens and we develop lists of molecules (proteins, lipids, ions) involved in cellular processes, we need to understand how these molecules interact with each other to form modules that act as discrete functional systems. These systems underlie core subcellular processes such as signal transduction, transcription, motility and electrical excitability. In turn these processes come together to exhibit cellular behaviors such as secretion, proliferation and action potentials. What are the properties of such subcellular and cellular systems? What are the mechanisms by which emergent behaviors of systems arise? What types of experiments inform systems-level thinking? Why do we need computation and simulations to understand these systems? The course will develop multiple lines of reasoning to answer the questions listed above. Two major reasoning threads are: the design, execution and interpretation of multivariable experiments that produce large data sets; quantitative reasoning, models and simulations. Examples will be discussed to demonstrate “how” cell- level functions arise and “why” mechanistic knowledge allows us to predict cellular behaviors leading to disease states and drug responses....

최상위 리뷰

SV

2016년 2월 6일

Very useful course in order to learn the basics in systems biology. You only need some training in biology to understand the concepts but the course is easy to follow and very complete.

BR

2019년 8월 7일

Great foundational material and insights from Prof. Iyengar that supports the 'disruptive' trends underway at the intersection of Computational Biology and Medicine.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Systems Biology의 106개 리뷰 중 76~100

교육 기관: Rafael S

2019년 7월 15일

O curso é muito complicado para quem não conhecimento em modelos estáticos específicos.

Mas é muito interessante e muito abrangente.

교육 기관: Akash R

2020년 6월 12일

The content of this course is quiet good, but is little bit hard to digest. Overall, I gained a lot of things from this course.

교육 기관: Lianne A

2017년 9월 1일

Excellent course, could be improved by explaining the more difficult concepts in greater depth, e.g. ODE and PDE math.

교육 기관: Alejandro V

2017년 5월 30일

Great new area to explore and study, however some subjects were not explained adequately.

교육 기관: Md. M H

2016년 2월 27일

Very very informative course for the beginners like me!

교육 기관: Jiho C

2017년 3월 9일

Good lecture, but not systematic curriculum

교육 기관: Mariya P

2019년 11월 26일

Instructor is very hard to engage with.

교육 기관: Boudalia M E A

2016년 1월 1일

a bit to hard for an introduction cours

교육 기관: Kang c

2016년 6월 14일

A very useful course!

교육 기관: Chalasani S S N

2019년 4월 10일

useful

교육 기관: Bruno P

2016년 1월 20일

With a biology background I had some difficulty following this course. That is understandable, as a lot of it relies in mathematical modelling and statistics. I still felt like some exam questions relied on material not yet lectured, which would sometimes leave me at a loss as to how I should have gotten to the right question in the first place. The lectures could have been structured differently, so as to facilitate engagement - I found myself easily losing focus and having to repeat the videos. Despite its shortcomings, the course is still a powerful introduction to Systems Biology.

교육 기관: Hector F C M

2019년 7월 2일

I have to thank for this virtual course, however although this course is '' introduction '' it supposes that the participants have advanced concepts that are not explained, in many moments the literature is inconclusive, there is no literature that allows a basic revision on the topics that we are learning; The evlauacion is not according to what has been learned and in many cases it is based more on the memory than on the analysis.

교육 기관: Atanas P

2021년 3월 19일

The lectures are somewhat incoherent. Many facts about the articles are not made clear or missed altogether, and I had to do a lot of extra reading in order to understand them.

교육 기관: Karl D

2017년 7월 26일

Good overview of systems biology, but the graded tests are somewhat difficult to understand for someone without a biology background such as myself.

교육 기관: Connie N

2020년 10월 1일

Really interesting content, but could use a rework on formatting, style, and clarity.

교육 기관: Alan R d F K M

2020년 1월 20일

Could give more basic information about systems theory

교육 기관: Milena J

2016년 2월 12일

The lectures were somehow chaotic.

교육 기관: Mainak B

2020년 2월 23일

Tough and brain storming

교육 기관: Tim D

2021년 5월 7일

While the course did present a few topics that may be of concern to a systems biologist, I'm very disappointed with the effort that went into presenting the material in a digestible, coherent way. After completing the course, rather than feeling like I just took an engaging course online, I feel a bit like someone had the radio tuned to a Systems Biology station in the other room while I did chores. The big issues are (1) The course is years old and hasn't been updated for this fast-moving field, (2) The lectures style is scattered, (3) The review material doesn't connect strongly to the lecture material, and (4) The video production is pretty low-effort.

교육 기관: Soheyl M

2020년 11월 27일

The explanations in the course are extremely superficial and do not add anything to the PowerPoint presented in each course. In addition, most of the articles presented in the lectures are hardly discussed which makes it difficult to understand for a beginner in this field.

교육 기관: Circe M

2017년 8월 11일

Course material was not presented in a matter that flowed naturally. Completing the course didn't lend greatly to my overall understanding in the area though I understand certain aspects very well.

교육 기관: Carolina A

2020년 4월 19일

I found that the lectures didn't guide me enough. I download the articles and read extra material. I will look for another course to learn more of this part of the specialization.

교육 기관: Alexandro G A S

2016년 8월 9일

It is a good introductory course, but it relies too much on networks and could be confusing and demoralizing if you intend to pursue a career in systems biology.

교육 기관: D C

2019년 11월 6일

The course is too specific and advanced. It´s not an introduction.

교육 기관: Alexander

2016년 10월 5일

The material is very randomized, and the instructor presents it in an overly complex way.