Chevron Left
Systems Science and Obesity(으)로 돌아가기

존스홉킨스대학교의 Systems Science and Obesity 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
135개의 평가
33개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Systems science has been instrumental in breaking new scientific ground in diverse fields such as meteorology, engineering and decision analysis. However, it is just beginning to impact public health. This seminar is designed to introduce students to basic tools of theory building and data analysis in systems science and to apply those tools to better understand the obesity epidemic in human populations. There will also be a lab in which students will use a simple demonstration model of food acquisition behavior using agent-based modeling on standard (free) software (netlogo). The central organizing idea of the course is to examine the obesity epidemic at a population level as an emergent properties of complex, nested systems, with attention to feedback processes, multilevel interactions, and the phenomenon of emergence. While the emphasis will be on obesity, the goal will be to explore ways in which the systems approach can be applied to other non-communicable diseases both nationally and internationally. Topics will include: a) the epidemiology of obesity across time and place, b) theories to explain population obesity, c) the role of environments and economic resources in obesity c) basic concepts and tools of systems science, d) modeling energy-balance related behaviors in context, e) agent-based models, systems dynamic models, and social network models...

최상위 리뷰

CS

Apr 01, 2019

Fantastic course. Really thought provoking, and well presented. Useful as an intro to systems thinking, and as a way to understand the obesity epidemic in a nuanced way.

PV

Sep 12, 2017

This course was surprisingly challenging and educational. I had little background in system science, and very much enjoyed the learning process!

필터링 기준:

Systems Science and Obesity의 33개 리뷰 중 26~33

교육 기관: Rachel A B

Oct 24, 2016

I very much enjoyed this course because it used a real-world example to teach systems thinking. I also appreciated that the more technical aspects, like using software, had been moved into Labs, which left space and time in the lectures to cover material relevant to the topic.

I was surprised at the lack of interaction, though. I have no idea if there were more than a handful of other students nor if there was a support team since there was hardly any participating in the discussion forum. One technical question remained unanswered for example... It seems that there could be a lot of great discussion on the course material if more engagement were encouraged.

교육 기관: Reena A

Oct 28, 2016

Good course, the lab classes can be improved further.

not easily comprehensive

교육 기관: Hadeel D

Aug 05, 2017

It is only that the language is little hard for non native speakers

교육 기관: Bui N A

Aug 20, 2018

Useful course with excellent learning materials. Thank you!

교육 기관: Jessica B

Sep 26, 2019

A good introduction to the methods

교육 기관: jungsungmoon

Nov 23, 2019

very good!!

교육 기관: Charleen S

Jul 25, 2017

More about systems analysis than obesity but interesting. Too much on computer model software.

교육 기관: olivier h

Dec 18, 2018

I've finished week 1, and I think it could have been much much better.

The subject is very interesting.

The pace of speech by the prof is way too slow, and the quiz isn't up to my standards.

I urge them to add explanations for instance, it would help to increase the understanding of the student, not just evaluate if she has viewed the (somewhat boring) videos..

I'll update this review after one or two more weeks...

UPDATE:

this gets even WORSE towards the end and the last quiz is bogus.

Really, this is sad, and it's making me angry, since the subject is interesting, efforts have been put towards this course (not only mine I mean) but the result is a bunch a videos lacking professionalism (huge typos in the quizzes, files missing, lack of overview binding the videos together, lack of proof for some assertions etc)