Chevron Left
Systems Science and Obesity(으)로 돌아가기

존스홉킨스대학교의 Systems Science and Obesity 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
178개의 평가
46개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Systems science has been instrumental in breaking new scientific ground in diverse fields such as meteorology, engineering and decision analysis. However, it is just beginning to impact public health. This seminar is designed to introduce students to basic tools of theory building and data analysis in systems science and to apply those tools to better understand the obesity epidemic in human populations. There will also be a lab in which students will use a simple demonstration model of food acquisition behavior using agent-based modeling on standard (free) software (netlogo). The central organizing idea of the course is to examine the obesity epidemic at a population level as an emergent properties of complex, nested systems, with attention to feedback processes, multilevel interactions, and the phenomenon of emergence. While the emphasis will be on obesity, the goal will be to explore ways in which the systems approach can be applied to other non-communicable diseases both nationally and internationally. Topics will include: a) the epidemiology of obesity across time and place, b) theories to explain population obesity, c) the role of environments and economic resources in obesity c) basic concepts and tools of systems science, d) modeling energy-balance related behaviors in context, e) agent-based models, systems dynamic models, and social network models...

최상위 리뷰

CS
2019년 3월 31일

Fantastic course. Really thought provoking, and well presented. Useful as an intro to systems thinking, and as a way to understand the obesity epidemic in a nuanced way.

PV
2017년 9월 11일

This course was surprisingly challenging and educational. I had little background in system science, and very much enjoyed the learning process!

필터링 기준:

Systems Science and Obesity의 46개 리뷰 중 26~46

교육 기관: Taha m

2020년 11월 12일

i Learned so much

교육 기관: Thiago G d S M

2017년 2월 26일

very good

교육 기관: Paola S

2017년 8월 6일

amazing!

교육 기관: Carolina A

2017년 10월 24일

great

교육 기관: Sofiul A

2020년 6월 24일

Good

교육 기관: Emayamsavitha

2020년 4월 29일

Gud

교육 기관: Rachel A B

2016년 10월 24일

I very much enjoyed this course because it used a real-world example to teach systems thinking. I also appreciated that the more technical aspects, like using software, had been moved into Labs, which left space and time in the lectures to cover material relevant to the topic.

I was surprised at the lack of interaction, though. I have no idea if there were more than a handful of other students nor if there was a support team since there was hardly any participating in the discussion forum. One technical question remained unanswered for example... It seems that there could be a lot of great discussion on the course material if more engagement were encouraged.

교육 기관: Rahul G

2016년 10월 4일

I enjoyed the course! It helped me organise information about methods in understanding complex systems. I would have definitely used some more detailed explanations about the model building process.

Thank you very much for your kind interest and effort!

교육 기관: Reena A

2016년 10월 28일

Good course, the lab classes can be improved further.

not easily comprehensive

교육 기관: Hadeel D

2017년 8월 5일

It is only that the language is little hard for non native speakers

교육 기관: Mary P

2020년 4월 28일

enjoyed the course and learning about systems science soft ware.

교육 기관: Bui N A

2018년 8월 20일

Useful course with excellent learning materials. Thank you!

교육 기관: Melanie C

2017년 10월 29일

good, you need more time to complete the quizzes.

교육 기관: Jessica B

2019년 9월 25일

A good introduction to the methods

교육 기관: jungsungmoon

2019년 11월 22일

very good!!

교육 기관: Aboudalal M

2016년 7월 11일

Good

교육 기관: Margo

2020년 10월 6일

Wording of questions was questionable ! Also I couldn’t understand graphs! I will continue with net logo but I’d like more examples of working with obesity related data and how to interpret. Maybe that will become clearer when I work through tutorials on Netlogo

교육 기관: Tomas S

2020년 6월 19일

While interesting it does little to provide me with a sense of confidence in my capability to apply Systems Science in the wild.

교육 기관: Charleen S

2017년 7월 25일

More about systems analysis than obesity but interesting. Too much on computer model software.

교육 기관: olivier h

2018년 12월 18일

I've finished week 1, and I think it could have been much much better.

The subject is very interesting.

The pace of speech by the prof is way too slow, and the quiz isn't up to my standards.

I urge them to add explanations for instance, it would help to increase the understanding of the student, not just evaluate if she has viewed the (somewhat boring) videos..

I'll update this review after one or two more weeks...

UPDATE:

this gets even WORSE towards the end and the last quiz is bogus.

Really, this is sad, and it's making me angry, since the subject is interesting, efforts have been put towards this course (not only mine I mean) but the result is a bunch a videos lacking professionalism (huge typos in the quizzes, files missing, lack of overview binding the videos together, lack of proof for some assertions etc)

교육 기관: George E

2020년 5월 6일

Two lecturers were engaging, two were tediously dull to listen to (x1.5 speed), two were quite difficult to understand.

Whilst the lectures were on obesity and society and systems modelling. However when it came to the agent based modelling... oh dear... Also no instructions for running the NetLogo models, I ran them on Netlogoweb.org and two of them exceptioned on load.

I think the course was driven as a pilot project - so how it goes. More consideration needs to be given to the disembodied person in another state / country viewing this at home.

Again though, the engaging peeps with engaging topics were good value.