Chevron Left
Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice(으)로 돌아가기

레이던 대학의 Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
2,051개의 평가
501개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Terrorism has arguably been one of the defining factors of our age. It frequently makes headlines, threatening or attacking governments, private business and ordinary citizens. And in many parts of the world, it has been one of the most important threats to peace, security and stability. But what does this exactly mean? What is the nature of this threat? Who or what is threatened, how, by whom and why? What can be done about it or how can we at least limit the impact of terrorism and make sure that terrorists do not make headlines and manage to scare us? These are just a handful of questions that will be addressed in this course that consists of three parts. First it focuses on the essence of terrorism as an instrument to achieve certain goals, in addition to an exploration of this phenomenon and the difficulties in defining it. The second part provides an overview of the state of the art in (counter) terrorism studies. Since ‘9/11’ terrorism studies have grown exponentially, reflecting the rise in perceived threats. But what has academia come up with? What theories, assumptions and conventional wisdom has it produced that could be of help in understanding terrorism and dealing with it? The most interesting results are examined and compared with empirical evidence with the aim to either stress their importance or to debunk them as myths. The final part looks into the implications and possibilities for policy making. The course ends with a module specifically designed to address one of today's most topical issue: the foreign fighter phenomenon....

최상위 리뷰

LZ

May 23, 2016

This excellent, balanced course uses a great combination of concise videos and additional reading. I enrolled hoping to better understand this hot-topic and Prof. Bakker's course was perfect.

MZ

Sep 21, 2017

Useful and well done. This course is an example how to boost resilience in our society with knowledge. At the end of the day is a brick of our holistic counter terrorism actions. Thank you.

필터링 기준:

Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice의 499개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Dr. J C O E

Jun 04, 2019

This course is simply great. I am myself an expert in security studies, but I admit that I have leaned a lot. This course has helped to update my knowledge in my major :International Security. The lecturer is actually a professional who explains things, concepts and phenomena with accuracy. The skills I have acquired with this course will undoubtedly help me in my career as a security expert as I shall soon start my new position as an intelligence analyst with the police.

교육 기관: MDE, I J H G

Jun 05, 2019

Excelente curso, diseñado de forma estratégica para envolverte en el tema.

교육 기관: Jairo H

Jan 20, 2019

excelente tema, me gustaría tomar un curso más actualizado por ejemplo un análisis del terrorismo mundial entre el 2018 y el 2019

교육 기관: Hien S A

Jul 08, 2019

Très bien

교육 기관: RAMON R M

Jul 07, 2019

I highly recommend taking this course, which will allow you to acquire knowledge on the subject of Terrorism.

교육 기관: Ana L J

Jul 03, 2019

Excellent!

교육 기관: Wellington L

Jun 30, 2019

Great course. Really helpful.

교육 기관: Ciara O

Jun 26, 2019

Really interesting course!

교육 기관: Gargi g

Jun 19, 2019

didn't get my certificate just because i passed the deadline

교육 기관: Margarito Z

Jul 18, 2019

Excelente curso. Muchas gracias!

교육 기관: zyshmie

Jul 09, 2019

A Fundamental to Terrorism and Counter-terrorism. Helps me a lot.

교육 기관: María E M I

Jun 18, 2019

v

e

r

y

g

o

o

d

교육 기관: Pelayo B R

Jun 18, 2019

awesome! would love more moocs on security and international relations

교육 기관: Ali R

Jun 15, 2019

Great course with a lot of interesting details and infromations.

교육 기관: Renato J

Jun 11, 2019

Very well structurred course. There's room for improvement in updating the material.

교육 기관: Cheung Y N

Jun 08, 2019

Nice course!

교육 기관:

Jun 08, 2019

Extremely well presented. Slides, reading materials, lectures, and transcripts are easy to follow. Notes can be progressive and almost all Materials for reading can be downloaded as PDF or Print to PDF. Knowledgeable staff and informative lectures paired with quiz stops make this a well focused lesson plan that makes learning a joy.

교육 기관: GENESSI S J

Jun 04, 2019

Great! It was one of the best distance learning courses I ever did. The working platform, with interactive videos and memorizing exercises, was very good.

Congratulations!

교육 기관: Tito P

May 15, 2019

most helped online course, easily learn from anywhere

교육 기관: Wallace G

May 09, 2019

An excellent course. I would highly recommend it to anyone interested in the counter - terrorism.

교육 기관: Milko G

May 03, 2019

A very interesting course! I learned a lot about the history and development of terrorism till actual terrorism today. Just what I searched for. Some readings could probably need to be updated, but nevertheless very interesting.

교육 기관: David P

Apr 24, 2019

Interesting way of explanations on terrorism, very detailed in such a small amount of time. could be said it has touched some of the essences of studies on the subject and can be considered as an appetizer to go for the large scale studies on the subject.

Missing some deeper root causes and factors causing terror to be extreme but we all know that there is a problem to reach to all material needed for this research - the need for security clearance is not granted to many researchers, and if yes then their research is never published only for government.. eyes so to say.

Thank you very much, nice made videos and added literature.

교육 기관: Víctor M C P

Apr 10, 2019

Necesito la traducción en Español de todo el Curso. Gracias de antemano por su atención.

교육 기관:

Apr 08, 2019

Very well structured and informative course covering all aspects of terrorism

교육 기관: Reuben P

Apr 08, 2019

learn a lot of news things