Chevron Left
The Cycle: Management of Successful Arts and Cultural Organizations(으)로 돌아가기

메릴랜드 대학교 칼리지파크 캠퍼스의 The Cycle: Management of Successful Arts and Cultural Organizations 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
420개의 평가
113개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

What makes a successful arts and cultural organization? Led by DeVos Institute Chairman Michael M. Kaiser and President Brett Egan, this course will introduce you to a management theory called the Cycle which supports thriving arts and cultural organizations. Learning from our work with managers from over 80 countries around the world, the DeVos Institute developed the Cycle as a simple, but powerful tool to assist managers in their effort to respond to an increasingly complex environment and propel their institutions to excellence. The Cycle explains how great art and strong marketing can create a family of supporters, who in turn help the organization produce the revenue required to support even more great art the next year. The Institute has seen the Cycle work in performing and presenting organizations, as well as museums, arts schools, and other nonprofit endeavors like service organizations, historical societies, public libraries, university programs, advocacy organizations, botanical gardens, and zoos. By taking this course, you will learn: • the importance of bold, exciting, and mission-driven programming in an organization; • how long-term artistic planning can help an organization produce this work; • how an organization can aggressively market that programming and the institution behind it to develop a family of supporters - including ticket buyers, board members, donors, trustees and volunteers; • how an organization can cultivate and steward this family to build a healthy base of earned and contributed income; and • how an organization can reinvest that income into increasingly ambitious programming year after year. All course material is available upon enrollment for self-paced learners. New scheduled sessions begin each month. For more information about the DeVos Institute's work, visit www.DeVosInstitute.umd.edu....

최상위 리뷰

RV
2018년 5월 19일

The Cycle was an eye-opener in many ways. I always thought Arts Management required more artistic intuition than management knowledge, but this framework gave me a whole new perspective.

SS
2018년 9월 1일

This course is really useful for people related to Art and Culture Management fields, it provides with useful techniques and ideas, particularly regarding marketing and fundraising.

필터링 기준:

The Cycle: Management of Successful Arts and Cultural Organizations의 111개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Souradeep D

2020년 4월 10일

Very basic. Would have been better if the quizzes included scenarios that could enable the learners to think and answer rather than just true/false questions.

교육 기관: Roberto E B G

2018년 6월 25일

This course was eye opening. I recommend to get (and read) the book because there's precious content in there.Even if in Sicily is really difficult to implement most of the concepts illustrated throughout the course I found myself, as I offer marketing services for some art organizations, realizing many of the problems described in the course. So many "a ha!" moments.The hardest part is to get the organization well... organized. Sometimes I just avoid to get too involved because frequently they want to get me on the board and risk to lost them as clients... so embarrassing.Together to my marketing business I also run a small art studio/workshop and having this precious knowledge on my toolbox is at times, illuminating.Thanks a lot for such a great course.

교육 기관: Eugénie C

2017년 10월 31일

I have really enjoyed doing this course. The teachers explains the concepts very well, and the theme of the course is really interesting.

What I liked the most is that many directors applied the Cycle to their companies and have accepted to share with us their opinions and results, which are really positives ! This course provided me a solid base for managing any art organization. A simple, and smart pattern (The Cycle), which have helped to grow a lot of cultural organizations everywhere in the world.

I have also liked the questions at the end of each class, as it was not too difficult. They really want us to understand how to manage a successfull art organization and not trying to make us fail the test.

I definitely recommend this course, and The Cycle itself. Now I have a great certificate in my Linkedin, which also allows the recruiters to see our motivation. Thank you !

교육 기관: Stephen B

2017년 11월 11일

This was a wonderful course and very instructive for me. I am starting the process of attempting a career transition from private law practice into nonprofit arts management, and this course gave me a very helpful big-picture overview of the concerns facing arts organizations which are very different from the kinds of issues facing for-profit businesses, but this course offers a very specific and holistic strategy, broken into manageable pieces and with lots of examples, which seeks to address the central issues of artistic planning, marketing, organizational family-building, and fundraising as a unified and organic whole.

교육 기관: Marcella L

2020년 7월 8일

Eu já conhecia o Ciclo, mas achei o curso enriquecedor.

O que achei desnecessário foi os estudos de casos que não foram palpáveis. Talvez, se fosse os casos do próprio Michael Kaiser, seria bem mais interessante.

Também gostaria de ter acesso a mais palestras .

교육 기관: Iskandar N K

2017년 2월 22일

Interesting and useful, but I doubt the certificate is worth it. Definitely audit it, though.

교육 기관: Kara H

2020년 8월 28일

This course was successful in offering lessons geared for a large organization and a small, rural organization like ours. We were able to implement nearly every course lesson. During the Covid-19 shutdown we have had to implement lessons as we learned them. As we were ready for the next lesson, we continued learning. Few other courses offer this step-by-step approach with information that directors can use NOW. We credit the Devos Institute's offer of a consultation with giving us the confidence to THINK BIG NOW at a time when we were ready to shut down permanently, then providing us access to this course to give us the knowledge of HOW to move forward with our big ideas. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts! Our 9 year old organization is likely coming out of this pandemic stronger than ever.

교육 기관: Raven K

2020년 4월 16일

I am in the process of starting a new non profit for the arts in Los Angeles, and I took this course to get a better understanding of non profits. I was very surprised to find how much it literally made me think and come up with my own ideas along the way. The path is quite defined when it comes to this course. Both educators have taken great care to put together a course that is very easy to follow and I can't wait to put it to immediate use! Wish me luck and maybe one day in the future I can be one of the case studies. :)

교육 기관: Samantha O

2020년 4월 20일

This course gives a new, wellrounded perspective on the function of arts organizations. The professor, Mr. Kaiser, has a vast knowledge and understanding of the field and The Cycle and his passion truly shines through. His integration of copious examples allows for the message and usefulness of the information to sink in. As a student, this course was completely engaging and enlightening.I recommend this course for anyone involved or interested in art management or art administration.

교육 기관: Suzanne G

2020년 5월 6일

As a current arts administrator, a former community organization COO and a former dance studio entrepreneur, this course helped me to put into proper context things that I knew intuitively and enlightened me to other elements of arts management that made complete sense for the successful management of any arts organization. The course was concise, effective and engaging. I expect it to be an asset to me in my career.

교육 기관: Hani B

2018년 9월 23일

This is a wonderful course that really gives the basics of successful arts management. I attended another course by Michael Kaiser years ago and this is a great refresher! Having all of Michael's books is also very helpful and I would suggest everyone get all 4 for reference. Here's a PDF from the Hong Kong course: https://www.hkaaa.org.hk/uploads/hkaaa/201208/20120821_120217_34uRC0PAzP_f.pdf (it's in english)

교육 기관: Jessica E H

2017년 2월 20일

This course was incredibly informative. The resources provided were amazing and thorough. I enjoyed the pacing of time of when assignment were due, worked with my schedule. It was great that if you fell a bit behind, you could catch up. I enjoyed all of the organizations that talked about their experiences implementing the cycle. Just overall a wonderful course! Thank you very much for putting this together!

교육 기관: Atika A

2017년 8월 8일

I always hated the idea of seeking sponsorship and donations to fund our art projects. But the cycle - management of successful arts and cultural organizations made m realise that one should not feel guilty or " like a Beggar" when seeking funds for our art projects. For the donor too derives a lot of happiness or mileage for his business in supporting the cost.

Thank you

교육 기관: A B

2020년 4월 11일

This course provided me with a very valuable framework through which helped me to reconsider the way I work as an arts manager. Each part of the course was presented in a clear and concise manner, and I also appreciated the insightful discussions of Mr Kaiser and Mr Egan at the end of each session. I am deeply grateful for being able to access this material online.

교육 기관: Dana V

2017년 2월 19일

So appreciative of opportunities like this, available online for prospective arts administrators to learn about. Being someone who has read all of Michael Kaiser's books, this was a great opportunity to hear him discuss everything he's written and become known for in the arts world. Thank you to coursera.org for having this opportunity available!

교육 기관: Anna Z

2020년 9월 4일

This course was my lockdown delight and I really hope to be able to implement the knowledge I got in my professional life. The videos are brief, clear and informative, there's quite a lot of useful reading and some documents that can be used in management practice. Wish there were more courses by Michael Kaiser here!

교육 기관: Sharon O

2018년 3월 31일

Absolutely insightful and relevant! Michael has such great delivery and really breaks down the elements of The Cycle fantastically. As someone who doesn't write reviews at all, I have to say that this course is definitely worth taking if you're into the arts and wish to add, or reinforce, structure to your venture.

교육 기관: Chico A E H

2019년 5월 12일

This course caters my curiosity in running a non-profit organisation for music. I learned a lot from this course. The facilitator has credible experiences in arts and cultural organisation. He does not rely the materials from theoretical perspective, but shares his experiences in the real-life activities.

교육 기관: Scott W

2018년 2월 18일

Thank you to Michael Kaiser, Brett Egan and the DeVos Institute of Arts Management for creating such an engaging, informative and enriching course. It has been immensely enjoyable to complete and a very fulfilling experience. I strongly encourage anyone considering this course to enrol immediately.

교육 기관: Denese E

2020년 10월 22일

This course was a big help when I was preparing to assume the new role as Co-Director with the Belize National Dance Company in 2014. We were able to transition the company very well. Additionallly,, we were able to build a strong, cohesive team in a short period of time despite limited resources.

교육 기관: Miguel P G

2019년 10월 14일

Excellent opportunity to learn essential and very useful concepts in Management of Cultural Organizations. Totally recomendable.

Un curso dinámico, práctico y muy aplicable en la gestión de organizaciones culturales en todo el mundo. Muy recomendable por su contenido, duración y materiales.

교육 기관: Frank J J

2018년 1월 26일

I wish I had met Michael Kaiser several years ago. He is a fantastic inspiring, committed, humorous teacher / interpreter, and he manages to convey his message in the best possible way. Thank you very much Michael, you are indeed a great man who houses a great personality.

교육 기관: Samantha C

2020년 9월 24일

I highly recommend this course to any non-profit arts organization board members who don't know where to start, or employees of small non-profit arts organizations who are struggling to make things happen, or even people considering a career in non-profit arts management.

교육 기관: Ervin J D P

2020년 8월 27일

Very insightful and specific due to the abundance of case studies/testimonies given by many organizations around the world. Even as a college student running a non-profit cultural organization, I was able to learn a lot of things I could apply to my organization as well.

교육 기관: Victoria B

2020년 4월 19일

This amazingly crafted course, filled with valueble insights is like a book I didn't want to put down. Every lesson filled me with excitement and inspiration to put this priceless knowledge into practice. Great thanks to the DeVos Institute for making this course!