Chevron Left
The Cycle: Management of Successful Arts and Cultural Organizations(으)로 돌아가기

메릴랜드 대학교 칼리지파크 캠퍼스의 The Cycle: Management of Successful Arts and Cultural Organizations 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
241개의 평가
65개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

What makes a successful arts and cultural organization? Led by DeVos Institute Chairman Michael M. Kaiser and President Brett Egan, this course will introduce you to a management theory called the Cycle which supports thriving arts and cultural organizations. Learning from our work with managers from over 80 countries around the world, the DeVos Institute developed the Cycle as a simple, but powerful tool to assist managers in their effort to respond to an increasingly complex environment and propel their institutions to excellence. The Cycle explains how great art and strong marketing can create a family of supporters, who in turn help the organization produce the revenue required to support even more great art the next year. The Institute has seen the Cycle work in performing and presenting organizations, as well as museums, arts schools, and other nonprofit endeavors like service organizations, historical societies, public libraries, university programs, advocacy organizations, botanical gardens, and zoos. By taking this course, you will learn: • the importance of bold, exciting, and mission-driven programming in an organization; • how long-term artistic planning can help an organization produce this work; • how an organization can aggressively market that programming and the institution behind it to develop a family of supporters - including ticket buyers, board members, donors, trustees and volunteers; • how an organization can cultivate and steward this family to build a healthy base of earned and contributed income; and • how an organization can reinvest that income into increasingly ambitious programming year after year. All course material is available upon enrollment for self-paced learners. New scheduled sessions begin each month. For more information about the DeVos Institute's work, visit www.DeVosInstitute.umd.edu....

최상위 리뷰

RV

May 20, 2018

The Cycle was an eye-opener in many ways. I always thought Arts Management required more artistic intuition than management knowledge, but this framework gave me a whole new perspective.

SS

Sep 02, 2018

This course is really useful for people related to Art and Culture Management fields, it provides with useful techniques and ideas, particularly regarding marketing and fundraising.

필터링 기준:

The Cycle: Management of Successful Arts and Cultural Organizations의 63개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Natalia

Dec 14, 2017

Great course for small but fast-growing arts organizations!

교육 기관: Eugénie C

Oct 31, 2017

I have really enjoyed doing this course. The teachers explains the concepts very well, and the theme of the course is really interesting.

What I liked the most is that many directors applied the Cycle to their companies and have accepted to share with us their opinions and results, which are really positives ! This course provided me a solid base for managing any art organization. A simple, and smart pattern (The Cycle), which have helped to grow a lot of cultural organizations everywhere in the world.

I have also liked the questions at the end of each class, as it was not too difficult. They really want us to understand how to manage a successfull art organization and not trying to make us fail the test.

I definitely recommend this course, and The Cycle itself. Now I have a great certificate in my Linkedin, which also allows the recruiters to see our motivation. Thank you !

교육 기관: Rafael V

May 20, 2018

The Cycle was an eye-opener in many ways. I always thought Arts Management required more artistic intuition than management knowledge, but this framework gave me a whole new perspective.

교육 기관: Stephen B

Nov 11, 2017

This was a wonderful course and very instructive for me. I am starting the process of attempting a career transition from private law practice into nonprofit arts management, and this course gave me a very helpful big-picture overview of the concerns facing arts organizations which are very different from the kinds of issues facing for-profit businesses, but this course offers a very specific and holistic strategy, broken into manageable pieces and with lots of examples, which seeks to address the central issues of artistic planning, marketing, organizational family-building, and fundraising as a unified and organic whole.

교육 기관: Dana A

Dec 23, 2017

Whether you're a newbie or a seasoned administrator, you can't go wrong by investing in this course.

교육 기관: Silvia C O

Apr 14, 2017

Highly recommended.

교육 기관: Jessica E H

Feb 20, 2017

This course was incredibly informative. The resources provided were amazing and thorough. I enjoyed the pacing of time of when assignment were due, worked with my schedule. It was great that if you fell a bit behind, you could catch up. I enjoyed all of the organizations that talked about their experiences implementing the cycle. Just overall a wonderful course! Thank you very much for putting this together!

교육 기관: Dana V

Feb 19, 2017

So appreciative of opportunities like this, available online for prospective arts administrators to learn about. Being someone who has read all of Michael Kaiser's books, this was a great opportunity to hear him discuss everything he's written and become known for in the arts world. Thank you to coursera.org for having this opportunity available!

교육 기관: Kyra H

Jun 29, 2017

This course provides insight and skills that can be applied to any arts organisation immediately. Highly recommended.

교육 기관: Marco F

Mar 31, 2018

It was a useful course to understand the filed of the arts with another perspective.

교육 기관: Meredeth S

Apr 16, 2018

Excellent. We are a small but mighty museum that needs long range planning. We are going to use the Cycle as the foundation. Thank you, thank you.

교육 기관: Raymond S

Jun 16, 2017

A fantastic course for any person who is looking to expand on or take their first dive into arts management.

교육 기관: Roberto E B G

Jun 25, 2018

This course was eye opening. I recommend to get (and read) the book because there's precious content in there.Even if in Sicily is really difficult to implement most of the concepts illustrated throughout the course I found myself, as I offer marketing services for some art organizations, realizing many of the problems described in the course. So many "a ha!" moments.The hardest part is to get the organization well... organized. Sometimes I just avoid to get too involved because frequently they want to get me on the board and risk to lost them as clients... so embarrassing.Together to my marketing business I also run a small art studio/workshop and having this precious knowledge on my toolbox is at times, illuminating.Thanks a lot for such a great course.

교육 기관: Gary F M

Jan 09, 2017

Very important ground work, for further study. Invaluable!

교육 기관: Kelly C

Apr 07, 2017

Truly enjoyed this class and the topics covered. Being an Arts Administrator I found it extremely interesting to read and learn about other organizations.

교육 기관: Peter W

May 29, 2017

So much food for thought and many take-aways!

교육 기관: Maeghan G

Feb 16, 2018

Excellent , organized, and engaging!

교육 기관: Ted B

May 14, 2017

Brilliant and informative

교육 기관: Priscilla B

Feb 26, 2018

This is a fabulous course, interesting to listen to, engaging, informative.

I can't wait to take the next one!

교육 기관: Sharon O

Mar 31, 2018

Absolutely insightful and relevant! Michael has such great delivery and really breaks down the elements of The Cycle fantastically. As someone who doesn't write reviews at all, I have to say that this course is definitely worth taking if you're into the arts and wish to add, or reinforce, structure to your venture.

교육 기관: Hani B

Sep 23, 2018

This is a wonderful course that really gives the basics of successful arts management. I attended another course by Michael Kaiser years ago and this is a great refresher! Having all of Michael's books is also very helpful and I would suggest everyone get all 4 for reference. Here's a PDF from the Hong Kong course: https://www.hkaaa.org.hk/uploads/hkaaa/201208/20120821_120217_34uRC0PAzP_f.pdf (it's in english)

교육 기관: Abdul H

Aug 13, 2018

Great

교육 기관: Hind E O

Aug 12, 2018

Very helpful course, rich with examples and case studies. All what we need as Cultural Managers!

교육 기관: Sabeen S

Sep 02, 2018

This course is really useful for people related to Art and Culture Management fields, it provides with useful techniques and ideas, particularly regarding marketing and fundraising.

교육 기관: Cera S

Sep 03, 2018

Excellent course! I've been looking for a marketing course with a specific nonprofit focus without much luck. Though this course looks at other aspects of managing an arts nonprofit, it does touch heavily on the marketing aspect, and was incredibly useful.