Chevron Left
The Talmud: A Methodological Introduction(으)로 돌아가기

노스웨스턴 대학교의 The Talmud: A Methodological Introduction 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
245개의 평가
91개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

The Talmud is one of the richest and most complicated works of literature the world has ever known. Since being composed around 1500 years ago it has inspired not only religious reverence but significant intellectual engagement. In this course learners will be introduced to the unique characteristics of this text and the challenges that inhere in studying it while studying a chapter of the Talmud. Students of the course can expect to develop an appreciation for how the Talmud works and why it continues to inspire religious and intellectual devotion. They will be challenged to employ critical reading skills and to analyze legal and historical concepts....

최상위 리뷰

AP
2019년 2월 17일

Great way of introducing a topic as complex as the Talmud. It was surely amazing to have such course instructors who can rarely be matched both in eloquence and erudition. Overall it was fun!

KR
2017년 1월 19일

Best course I've experienced on Coursera so far! Really engaging and not 'dumbed down'. Fantastic and charismatic professor and assistant. Already recommended the course to many friends.

필터링 기준:

The Talmud: A Methodological Introduction의 90개 리뷰 중 76~90

교육 기관: aviva b

2016년 9월 18일

very interesting, challenging, but I find it hard to understand the intonation (highs and lows) of the ph

교육 기관: Fr. P G

2020년 6월 14일

Very informative course. I would like to thank the team behind this course, I learned a lot from them.

교육 기관: Arna G S

2019년 8월 5일

No problem with the course actually. Experienced several technical problems, however.

교육 기관: Joy S

2017년 1월 7일

Entertaining way of teaching a complex subject

교육 기관: jeffrey m

2021년 11월 17일

c​omplicated topic,,,but well presented

교육 기관: CHAN W F P

2018년 3월 14일

G

교육 기관: Laura Z

2021년 3월 2일

My rating is a hybrid rating reflecting the content vs the course structure. I was looking for something more basic as I knew virtually nothing about the Talmud. I learned that I am not really interested in the intellectual discussions/arguments that are involved in Talmudic study and the detailed discussions in the videos were well beyond what I needed. So I give the content a 2 for me personally. The self-paced format worked for me, the video delivery was fine and I liked being able to download the transcripts and the glossaries. I read through the transcription after watching the videos and noticed that the transcriptions had many errors. Had I not listened to the video first, I would have been confused. I also found that I needed to read the transcript to better understand the content. Video only would not have been sufficient for understanding. I think Sarah's delivery was much more engaging and animated than Prof Wimpfheimer's. I appreciated the opportunity to take the quizzes more than once. While this course was taken purely for my personal interest and i didn't need to "prove" completion/passing, I still wanted to know what the right answers were. I would have liked having an easy way to download the completed quizzes with the questions and the correct answers. Rating of 3 for the format/structure. This was the first online course that i have taken that was not work-related and i plan to see what else is available.

교육 기관: Leo H

2018년 10월 22일

great presentation with good dive into historical context and thought provoking material. quizzes are too easy, no real "homework" and self study required, which could strengthen the course. Beware that many academic views diverge from traditional Jewish interpretations and opinions accepted in more observant communities and yeshivot.

교육 기관: Shawn C

2021년 3월 11일

While the content was generally good, some of the explanations were lacking, starting in "the middle" as you say. This is not helped by the poorly edited text that accompanies each lecture. After six years, this should have been fixed. Organization of the material could have been better.

교육 기관: Natasha B

2018년 1월 31일

The professor is speaking as a robot, and not a human being - reading the text without any emotions, pauses, gesticulations etc, All these are necessary to make the lectures worthwhile watching, otherwise we could just read the text.

교육 기관: kouassi n c

2017년 9월 15일

c'est bon pour notre propre culture mais il faut arriver à suivre surtout qu'il y a des termes spéciaux à connaître

교육 기관: Francisco L

2019년 7월 29일

I expected a more general view of the Talmud, I think the course is not for the normal student.

교육 기관: wads

2022년 1월 6일

D​ull as watching paint dry

교육 기관: Maureen C

2020년 7월 3일

Too technical. Boring.

교육 기관: Tina D

2017년 9월 23일

The course was read out by the instructors and read out extremely quickly, which is very annoying.