Chevron Left
Transgender Medicine for General Medical Providers(으)로 돌아가기

마운트사이나이 아이칸 의과대학의 Transgender Medicine for General Medical Providers 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.9
별점
177개의 평가
57개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

The course is a comprehensive set of didactic lectures surveying fundamentals of transgender medical and surgical treatment. The material is meant to provide the student with core knowledge that is essential for current primary care providers caring for transgender patients. There are 10 modules led by the expert clinical faculty from the pioneering Center for Transgender Medicine and Surgery, located within the Mount Sinai Health System and the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai in New York City. The course begins with an introduction to frame the sea change that has taken place in the current medical practice of transgender health care. Subsequent modules allow individuals to learn key elements necessary to provide quality transgender medical care. As a whole, the modules provide an opportunity to develop a knowledgeable approach to behavioral health, primary care, hormone therapy, and the surgical options. Module 1: Introduction - Joshua D Safer Module 2: Making the Determination - Hansel Arroyo Module 3: Primary Care for Transgender Women - Zil Goldstein Module 4: Primary Care for Transgender Men - Zil Goldstein Module 5: What are the Essential Strategies to Transgender Hormone Therapy? - Joshua D Safer Module 6: Initiation and Maintenance of Hormones for the Trans Masculine Patient - Joshua D Safer Module 7: Initiation and Maintenance of Hormones for the Trans Feminine Patient -Joshua D Safer Module 8: Transgender Surgery: Chest & Face - Bella K Avanessian Module 9: Transmasculine Genital Surgery - Bella K Avanessian Module 10: Transfeminine Genital Surgery - Bella K Avanessian...

최상위 리뷰

RR
2020년 8월 11일

It was an amazing course throughout and a special appreciation to the meticulous surgery modules which manged to cover the entirety of the procedures and still managed to be short and crisp.

FY
2020년 8월 15일

That was amazing! Many thanks from bottom of my heart:)) I have learnt the basic of transformations and ı found it very useful to mutual understanding of trans people.

필터링 기준:

Transgender Medicine for General Medical Providers의 59개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Sharon S B

2020년 3월 12일

the course was helpful to me as a primary care physician

However, there were at least 2 glaring errors in the presentations. Because of these errors, I am forced to worry that there were additional mistakes that I didnt catch and that I have been misinformed about some aspect of transgender care. There were also a number of typos in the text versions of the oral presentations. The 2 errors which I spotted were: 1) in the psychiatry presentation, it was stated that the "rate of suicide" among transgender people is 40%, and that this is 8X the rate in the general population. This is a gross overstatement of the suicide rate in the general population, and presumably apparently also an overstatement of the transgender rate; I assume the lecturer meant suicide attempts. 2) regarding the possibility of pregnancy in transgender men, the lecturer, Zil Goldstein, suggested that the use of testosterone is not detrimental to the fetus (this may have been implied, rather than stated outright, but it was certainly misleading). In fact, testosterone definitely has an effect on the fetus, and this should have been discussed.

Thank you

교육 기관: Dr. S B

2020년 4월 9일

Great course to understand the medical and surgical management of Transgender population. Strongly recommended for anyone who takes care of such patients

교육 기관: Bentawich S

2019년 12월 30일

such an excellent course for Family doctor and primary care providers

교육 기관: Kinusan D S

2019년 5월 7일

Good course, a step further may include actual footage of various operations with medical context, and patient interviews pertaining to surgeries, healing, and satisfaction.

교육 기관: Anamaria S

2020년 4월 15일

Even though this class is listed as intermediary, it is quite basic, I expected more detail and harder quizzes. I do really like the MD and NP instructors. Also, no activity in the forums whatsoever, seems I was the only person in this class.

교육 기관: Giovanna B

2020년 3월 20일

Evidence-based, thorough introduction to health care for transgender patients. My only critique here is that content is repeated a few times, and that I wish there was more, in-depth content to go through, because what I saw in the course so far is excellent!

교육 기관: Stacie P

2020년 1월 5일

Very good course for a broad overview of transgender healthcare and can help get you started on hormone therapy education.

교육 기관: Pilar M H L

2021년 4월 15일

Excelente,explicade forma muy clara todos los aspectos relacionados a las necesidades de los pacientes transgenero

교육 기관: Alicia R

2019년 8월 3일

excellent

교육 기관: Mariechen P

2021년 8월 6일

A​s an anaesthetist interested in working in transgender surgery, this course was invaluable to me. This is not something that was covered during my training less than a decade ago - hopefully that will change. The material is well-presented, not overly convoluted, and clinically relevant. It also demystifies the various treatments, and instills confidence.

M​y only recommendation is a module more about insight/"soft skills". I would love to hear feedback from inidividuals who have transitioned (whether medically or surgically), and what doctors could have done to make their experience less stressful. It would also be really great to have a supplementary section hearing from the lecturers about their road to the field of Transgender Care.

교육 기관: Levi D

2021년 7월 11일

A really great course as an introduction to transgender medicine. I'm exceedingly grateful that Icahn School of Medicine is invested in this often-misunderstood, yet life-saving area of medicine, and especially that they're sharing it with the world. Some improvements for future courses: it would be great if the presenters were consistent in introducing themselves with their names and pronouns (helps viewers catch onto the habit and more likely to apply it in practice). A more detailed course with more rigorous quizzes would also be nice as a future venture. Good stuff!

교육 기관: Aedrian A

2021년 6월 20일

I completed this well-made concise overview with a better understanding of the unique primary care needs of the transgender community. Important pearls for directed history-taking & physical examination, options for hormonal treatment & monitoring and providing primary care-level informed guidance should they pursue surgical means for gender identity affirmation, among others, are appropriately emphasized in this offering. I highly recommend this course for medical students, general practitioners and even medical specialists to allow them to be sensitive providers of care.

교육 기관: Mariana L

2020년 10월 17일

Good overview of the implications of the surgical techniques to be able to initially discuss them with interested patients. Excellent source of initial information about what is available to the patient interested in transitioning. Good overview of hormone therapy. Would have liked an option to ask questions about topics mentioned but not fully discussed in the videos and a deeper discussion of tools and strategies available to support patients dealing with social rejection causing mental health distress.

교육 기관: C J V

2021년 8월 5일

I am so excited to show this certificate off! I went through this course and wrote out 32 pages of notes. I just wanted to be sure I didn't miss A THING. I am so inspired by this course Bella Avanessain was great at explaining the surgeries, but Zil Goldstein was a TRUE inspiration. I want to follow in her footsteps one day soon. As a cisgender man, I certainly learned a lot and I recommend this course to everyone. The more people understand, the fewer health disparities we have in our trans population

교육 기관: Samuel M P

2021년 1월 1일

As a medical student from Guatemala, I can say that I would probably never receive any assessment about Transgender Medical Care anywhere in my country, so this is a very valuable course that all medical providers should go through, because transgender people exist, even in a oppressive, conservative and transphobic country like mine, and everyone deserves to feel safe, specially while seeking for medical assistance. Thank you.

교육 기관: Laurie F

2021년 1월 14일

Excellent course that gave a good overview when beginning to work with Transgender patients and how to assist them along their journey. As a nurse and nurse practitioner it was easy to understand and gave me a great deal of information I was missing regarding care and research around this population.

교육 기관: Gustavo F A d A

2020년 7월 17일

This is a must-do course for every medical practitioner or medical student! Unfortunately, we still don't learn a lot about transgender care on medical school, and this is a great opportunity to understand it and enhance the quality of our assistance! Strongly recommended!

교육 기관: Esdras S

2020년 7월 11일

EU AMEI! Faço medicina em uma universidade pública do Brasil, mas esse tema sobre pessoas trans nunca foi abordado. Esse curso me caiu como uma luva, pois quero ser um médico com um olhar mais holístico sobre os meus pacientes. Eu só tenho a agradecer! Muito obrigado!

교육 기관: Bárbara I R R

2021년 4월 12일

Excellent course! This should be an mandatory course in medical schools everywhere. It really helped me to learn about the treatment of transgender men and women. I know it will be very useful when I get the opportunity to meet a transgender patient and help them <3

교육 기관: Martha P C

2021년 1월 26일

Excellent Course. Very comprehensive. Thanks for clarifying me many doubts I had regarding care for trans patients. I think as physicias we should all be informed about at least about the general concepts of transgender medicine, regardless of our area of practice.

교육 기관: Therese M

2021년 8월 12일

The course was a basic introduction to Transgender Medicine for all members of the health care team.

The overview of the surgical treatments used was excellent.

The information provided has increased my comfort when interacting with transgender pts.

Thank you

교육 기관: Michael R C B

2021년 10월 19일

Very informational and insightful. The course helps attendees to understand better the transgender medicine/treatments that can be provided medically and the considerations that medical providers must observe for the duration of care.

교육 기관: Alicia C

2020년 10월 18일

All the medical terms and the explication are easy to Understanding. I love the short but very complete videos. Awesome classes, I hope you can make more Courses with university credits. Greetings Fromm Panamá

교육 기관: Ramakalam.A

2020년 8월 12일

It was an amazing course throughout and a special appreciation to the meticulous surgery modules which manged to cover the entirety of the procedures and still managed to be short and crisp.

교육 기관: Victoria A R I

2021년 4월 4일

Excellent course. It is easy to follow and has all the content relevant for general providers in the transgender people general care. It takes topics that I never see in my medicine school.