Chevron Left
Transmedia Storytelling: Narrative worlds, emerging technologies, and global audiences(으)로 돌아가기

UNSW 시드니(뉴사우스웨일스 대학교)의 Transmedia Storytelling: Narrative worlds, emerging technologies, and global audiences 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
606개의 평가
222개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Transmedia storytelling is the practice of designing, sharing, and participating in a cohesive story experience across multiple traditional and digital delivery platforms - for entertainment, advertising and marketing, or social change. Have you ever read a book, seen a movie, watched a television show, or played a game that centred around different aspects of a larger story or universe? You may be familiar with popular examples of such universes like Star Wars, Marvel, and The Walking Dead (to name a few). How do the professionals develop such expansive narratives? How do they ensure that each element stays true to the original story? How do they innovatively use different technologies to share the stories, grow audiences and create an active and involved community of fans? More and more, we are also engaging with elements or franchises of larger and more complex stories across a much more diverse range of platforms like interactive web experiences, social media communities, mobile devices, theme parks, and even augmented and virtual reality. A major challenge that current and future storytellers face is being able to engage different audiences in a story that is seamlessly told across all of these different platforms. WHAT WILL I LEARN? This course will help you to design a strategy for developing and telling your own transmedia story. You will learn about what it takes to: • Shape your ideas into compelling and well structured narratives and complex story worlds • Identify, understand, and engage different audiences in your stories • Create cohesive user experiences across different platforms • Evaluate existing and emerging technologies to share your story with the world, and help your audience participate in the larger storyworld you create The course provides you with a unique, authentic, and industry relevant learning opportunity. You will have access to current theory, industry examples and advice and undertake learning activities that will equip you with the tools you need to start developing your own ideas. WHO WILL MY INSTRUCTORS BE? You will learn effective transmedia design strategies from leading UNSW Australia Art & Design academics. You will also examine case studies that demonstrate how amazing ideas, technology and audience contributions can be brought together to create dynamic storyworlds. You'll see examples of major, successful transmedia storytelling projects involving movies, digital entertainment, gaming, virtual reality and more. In collaboration with our industry partner X Media Lab, the course will give you inside access to the personal stories, insight and advice of the following innovative transmedia storytelling professionals from Hollywood USA, Canada and Australia. • Susan Bonds, 42 Entertainment, Los Angeles, USA • Flint Dille, Screenwriter, Game Designer and Novelist, Los Angeles, USA • Cindi Drennan, Illuminart, Australia • Tom Ellard, UNSW Art & Design, Sydney, Australia • Catherine Fargher, Dr Egg Digital, Sydney, Australia • Hal Hefner, 3AM Creative, USA • Brian Seth Hurst, StoryTech, Los Angeles, USA • Henry Jenkins, School for Communication and Journalism, University of Southern California, USA • Mikey Leung, Digital Storytellers, Sydney, Australia • Alex Lieu, 42 Entertainment, Los Angeles, USA • Geoffrey Long, Annenberg Innovation Lab, University of Southern California, USA • John McGhee, UNSW Art & Design, Sydney, Australia • Joseph Narai, Transmedia Entertainment, Sydney, Australia • Jeff Nicholas, The Uprising Creative, Los Angeles, USA • Sergio Paez, Graphic Artist working in animation, TV, video games, and film. Co Founder, StoryboardArt, California, USA • Steve Peters, No Mimes Media, Los Angeles, USA • Stuart Samuels, Stuart Samuels Productions, Toronto, Canada • Charles Santoso, Concept Artist, Sydney, Australia • Seth Shapiro, New Amsterdam Media, Los Angeles, USA • Scott Snibbe, Eyegroove, San Francisco, USA • Tracey Taylor, The Pulse, Sydney, Australia • Robert Tercek, Public Speaker, Digital Media Strategist, and Executive Leader for Creative Ventures and Business Innovation, • University of Southern California, USA • Kevin Williams, Founder & Director of KWP Ltd and DNA Association, UK • Brent Young, Super 78, Los Angeles, USA • Maya Zuckerman, Transmedia SF, San Francisco, USA COURSE CONTENT DEVELOPMENT Karin Watson, Iman Irannejad, and Dr. Simon McIntyre....

최상위 리뷰

MP
2021년 5월 23일

I definitely recommend this course to all those who want to improve their creativity, their storytelling skills and learn to use different technologies to engage all types of audiences.

NT
2020년 4월 26일

Great Course. Love the inputs from all the professionals and the various tools and methods provided to the students to complete the modules. Very interesting and enriching. Thank you

필터링 기준:

Transmedia Storytelling: Narrative worlds, emerging technologies, and global audiences의 219개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: Стэлла Б

2019년 7월 9일

Great course, I'm so happy to be a part of it. It changed my mind, my vision, updated my entire business experience and improved my English skills. It takes a little time for the information to settle down. Too much new things ) I feel my new knowledge helps me to rebuild my ideas, i live in another world now after course.

교육 기관: Mantas

2020년 9월 26일

100% recommended to everyone. Whether a beginner storyteller or already experienced. This course provides such a massive dive in transmedia storytelling that once one graduates the course the person feels overwhelmed. This course provided me with an insurmountable amount of data, influence and knowledge. Give it a try!

교육 기관: Lázaro V C J

2020년 7월 22일

I’m thankful for this course. It brings new aspects of a story that I had never thought before. It also helped to review some content that I have previously studied about storytelling. Besides that, the assessments of my course colleagues pointed out some aspects of my idea that I hadn’t considered before.

교육 기관: Caroline S

2020년 5월 4일

The course is well structured and I really liked the video illustrating the concepts, and sharing real life experiences. I also really like the perspective given: no need to jump on to new technologies, choose the best technology for the story - and the story comes first.

Very inspiring course, thank you

교육 기관: Deepit S

2020년 6월 18일

This is an extremely informative, and just a great course for people to discover just how deep the upcoming world of storytelling goes. I really enjoyed this course! The usage of verious technologies and gauging at your audiences' interests is something that this course teaches eceptionally

교육 기관: Marne L P

2020년 4월 15일

Excellent overview of storytelling and how the different aspects of the story, the intended audience and the different potential technologies fit together. I learned quite a bit, and I didn't even have a well-crafted story.

Fun, interesting and worth taking, even if you are not tech-savvy

교육 기관: Ricardo d A K J

2020년 9월 30일

An amazing course. Not only it helps with the basics of storymaking and creating concise and appealing storyworlds, it also brings interesting concepts about UX design, Marketing, knowing the public, emerging technologies, and project developing. It was very helpful for my thesis.

교육 기관: Alexandra M

2021년 6월 20일

This is a fantastic course! I learnt so much and developed a story, which I'm going to continue developing with great videos from both academic and industry experts. The assignments and tasks really get you to think outside the box and push you to think outside your comfort zone.

교육 기관: Guy A I

2018년 3월 14일

Great professors , Great materials, Great lecuturer - Over all great learning experience. Bridges the gap between creative storytelling and technology as such appropriate both for the creative professional and the technologist. There are so many different ways to tell a story!

교육 기관: Cheng M H

2019년 3월 24일

I got more out of this course than I expected. The reading material was fantastic; I found many of the papers and articles deeply engrossing. This course really laid the groundwork for my first foray into transmedia and digital storytelling. I cannot recommend it enough!

교육 기관: Esra E

2020년 4월 16일

I'm reeeaaly so happy to be able to take this course. All of the instructers all af the interviews they provide to us and all of the informations they give are so important and valuable. So thank you UNSW and Coursera for giving me this opportunity. 100% recommend!

교육 기관: Marika O

2019년 10월 3일

The training schedule was very well thought out which provided me a valuable insight into the ways that Transmedia Storytelling do work. It was not a walk in the park to accomplish it, as the Transmedia storytelling is a complex project to carry through.

교육 기관: Chinemelu O

2020년 6월 5일

This course was really good. I hope that I can have access to the content to review when can. Learned a lot from the videos, readings and my classmates. It also gave me new ideas and removed my fears regarding virtual media platforms. Thank you.

교육 기관: MIMANSHA W

2020년 10월 17일

I loved this course! It helped me become more confident in my story and also gave me new insight into the transmedia world. It introduced me to the necessary concepts and urged me to move forward with my story. This was all amazing. Thank You!

교육 기관: Sigourney R B M

2020년 11월 28일

This course offered rich insights from some of the best industry experts. The assignments were the right kind of difficult, and makes sure that learners put some effort and thinking on their answers. Overall, it was a nice experience. Thanks!

교육 기관: Itika S

2020년 5월 19일

When a course is crafted with full passion, it is visible. I could see the hard work put in creating this course and throughly enjoyed it. Thank you for bringing in industry experience than just concepts and presentations. Kudos to the team!

교육 기관: Yazmin H Z G

2020년 6월 24일

I really enjoyed this course. I am not from a storytelling background; however, I took it because I thought it could be useful for science diffusion and I will be working on how to make that happen with what I have learn in this course.

교육 기관: Aileen A K

2021년 6월 13일

It's a very insightful course especially for those in the creative industry, it gives a fresh perspective in understanding our audience and how we can adapt to fast evolving trends but focus on the important elements of storytelling.

교육 기관: Pooja I

2019년 2월 27일

Just what I needed as a development communication practitioner with a knack for filmmaking, and all other things creative! Kudos to the course designers for gathering so many industry insights onto a single platform for the learners.

교육 기관: lizzete n

2020년 7월 27일

thanks for the oportunity to learn something new, i will hope to accomplish what i learn and to make the strategy to the trasmedia storytelling thrue, no all but some and i will keep fighthing to make that happen, thanks everyone

교육 기관: Uta F

2020년 3월 10일

I loved this tools, it is a perfect mix of guidance, practical tools, but it also requires you to think, be analytical, be creative. The discussions and feedback gave further inspirations and new aspects to my stories.

교육 기관: Alexandra G

2020년 1월 26일

I have been in media for a few years now, but this course opened my eyes more, to know how to create a better storytelling campaign and how different platforms can be used. Definitely it's a must on your list!

교육 기관: Julia G

2020년 3월 12일

Great tasks, even if I'm not a screenwriter or producer, but just a Content Specialist. Anyway, this course gave me a deep understanding of how to interconnect different media and keep the story aligned.

교육 기관: Martina D P

2021년 5월 24일

I definitely recommend this course to all those who want to improve their creativity, their storytelling skills and learn to use different technologies to engage all types of audiences.

교육 기관: Daniel D

2020년 5월 24일

En exceptionall course with lots of information! I would have loved assignments where the student gets to be more practical maybe actually produce some parts of the transmedia strategy.