Chevron Left
Transmedia Storytelling: Narrative worlds, emerging technologies, and global audiences(으)로 돌아가기

UNSW 시드니(뉴사우스웨일스 대학교)의 Transmedia Storytelling: Narrative worlds, emerging technologies, and global audiences 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
362개의 평가
132개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Transmedia storytelling is the practice of designing, sharing, and participating in a cohesive story experience across multiple traditional and digital delivery platforms - for entertainment, advertising and marketing, or social change. Have you ever read a book, seen a movie, watched a television show, or played a game that centred around different aspects of a larger story or universe? You may be familiar with popular examples of such universes like Star Wars, Marvel, and The Walking Dead (to name a few). How do the professionals develop such expansive narratives? How do they ensure that each element stays true to the original story? How do they innovatively use different technologies to share the stories, grow audiences and create an active and involved community of fans? More and more, we are also engaging with elements or franchises of larger and more complex stories across a much more diverse range of platforms like interactive web experiences, social media communities, mobile devices, theme parks, and even augmented and virtual reality. A major challenge that current and future storytellers face is being able to engage different audiences in a story that is seamlessly told across all of these different platforms. WHAT WILL I LEARN? This course will help you to design a strategy for developing and telling your own transmedia story. You will learn about what it takes to: • Shape your ideas into compelling and well structured narratives and complex story worlds • Identify, understand, and engage different audiences in your stories • Create cohesive user experiences across different platforms • Evaluate existing and emerging technologies to share your story with the world, and help your audience participate in the larger storyworld you create The course provides you with a unique, authentic, and industry relevant learning opportunity. You will have access to current theory, industry examples and advice and undertake learning activities that will equip you with the tools you need to start developing your own ideas. WHO WILL MY INSTRUCTORS BE? You will learn effective transmedia design strategies from leading UNSW Australia Art & Design academics. You will also examine case studies that demonstrate how amazing ideas, technology and audience contributions can be brought together to create dynamic storyworlds. You'll see examples of major, successful transmedia storytelling projects involving movies, digital entertainment, gaming, virtual reality and more. In collaboration with our industry partner X Media Lab, the course will give you inside access to the personal stories, insight and advice of the following innovative transmedia storytelling professionals from Hollywood USA, Canada and Australia. • Susan Bonds, 42 Entertainment, Los Angeles, USA • Flint Dille, Screenwriter, Game Designer and Novelist, Los Angeles, USA • Cindi Drennan, Illuminart, Australia • Tom Ellard, UNSW Art & Design, Sydney, Australia • Catherine Fargher, Dr Egg Digital, Sydney, Australia • Hal Hefner, 3AM Creative, USA • Brian Seth Hurst, StoryTech, Los Angeles, USA • Henry Jenkins, School for Communication and Journalism, University of Southern California, USA • Mikey Leung, Digital Storytellers, Sydney, Australia • Alex Lieu, 42 Entertainment, Los Angeles, USA • Geoffrey Long, Annenberg Innovation Lab, University of Southern California, USA • John McGhee, UNSW Art & Design, Sydney, Australia • Joseph Narai, Transmedia Entertainment, Sydney, Australia • Jeff Nicholas, The Uprising Creative, Los Angeles, USA • Sergio Paez, Graphic Artist working in animation, TV, video games, and film. Co Founder, StoryboardArt, California, USA • Steve Peters, No Mimes Media, Los Angeles, USA • Stuart Samuels, Stuart Samuels Productions, Toronto, Canada • Charles Santoso, Concept Artist, Sydney, Australia • Seth Shapiro, New Amsterdam Media, Los Angeles, USA • Scott Snibbe, Eyegroove, San Francisco, USA • Tracey Taylor, The Pulse, Sydney, Australia • Robert Tercek, Public Speaker, Digital Media Strategist, and Executive Leader for Creative Ventures and Business Innovation, • University of Southern California, USA • Kevin Williams, Founder & Director of KWP Ltd and DNA Association, UK • Brent Young, Super 78, Los Angeles, USA • Maya Zuckerman, Transmedia SF, San Francisco, USA COURSE CONTENT DEVELOPMENT Karin Watson, Iman Irannejad, and Dr. Simon McIntyre....

최상위 리뷰

NT

Apr 27, 2020

Great Course. Love the inputs from all the professionals and the various tools and methods provided to the students to complete the modules. Very interesting and enriching. Thank you

LL

Mar 23, 2018

Very engaging. I have not seen this level of interviewing before. It's very educational and intensive. But less so on the education side, more on the motivational one. -L

필터링 기준:

Transmedia Storytelling: Narrative worlds, emerging technologies, and global audiences의 129개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Uwem O

May 04, 2020

I wanted 'something' that would move me from the regular, ordinary experience- 'something' holistic. Holistic used not as a cliche, but having a universal experience that will make the experience of the world being a 'global village' a reality, and I found that in the Transmedia Storytelling: Narrative worlds of emerging technologies, and global audiences.

교육 기관: Claire R

Jun 04, 2018

Great course! I gained so much from this, both in insight and confidence. Thoroughly recommend this for people wanting to improve their understanding of how transmedia storytelling can work for you and how you can implement it. Creating my own story helped what I learned sink in and I'm excited to try some transmedia techniques in my role. Thanks

교육 기관: Sabrina L

Apr 26, 2020

I enjoyed this course thoroughly. I feel like it gave me a much deeper understanding of all the elements that go into creating a story and catering to my audience in a more effective and meaningful way. I highly recommend this course to anyone who is considering any field in creative writing, journalism, marketing, or content writing. So good!

교육 기관: Lokapriya

Feb 12, 2017

The best online course I've learned by far. Right from the course structure to the content everything was just awesome. The team has relentlessly worked in getting the global gurus to talk about the content and created the best content online for trans media storytelling. I've already recommended my colleagues to take this course.

교육 기관: Victor M M A

Jul 31, 2019

Realmente disfruté mucho del curso. La información que se brinda es invaluable, los profesionales a cargo de los cursos son de primera y las experiencias que comparten y sus conocimientos son enriquecedores. Recomiendo este curso completamente, especialmente para personas que están relacionadas al marketing y al diseño gráfico.

교육 기관: Patrícia H D

Apr 16, 2020

Great course! I learned a lot and I'm sure all of this knowledge will open new doors for me. The interviews are very educational and explanatories. Teachers are great, they have a lot of valuable tips; the exchange with the colleagues are nice too. I truly recomended it. Thanks Coursera and UNSW Sidney for this opportunity!

교육 기관: Stella B

Jul 09, 2019

Great course, I'm so happy to be a part of it. It changed my mind, my vision, updated my entire business experience and improved my English skills. It takes a little time for the information to settle down. Too much new things ) I feel my new knowledge helps me to rebuild my ideas, i live in another world now after course.

교육 기관: Caroline S

May 04, 2020

The course is well structured and I really liked the video illustrating the concepts, and sharing real life experiences. I also really like the perspective given: no need to jump on to new technologies, choose the best technology for the story - and the story comes first.

Very inspiring course, thank you

교육 기관: Marne L P

Apr 15, 2020

Excellent overview of storytelling and how the different aspects of the story, the intended audience and the different potential technologies fit together. I learned quite a bit, and I didn't even have a well-crafted story.

Fun, interesting and worth taking, even if you are not tech-savvy

교육 기관: Guy A I

Mar 14, 2018

Great professors , Great materials, Great lecuturer - Over all great learning experience. Bridges the gap between creative storytelling and technology as such appropriate both for the creative professional and the technologist. There are so many different ways to tell a story!

교육 기관: Timothy N

Mar 24, 2019

I got more out of this course than I expected. The reading material was fantastic; I found many of the papers and articles deeply engrossing. This course really laid the groundwork for my first foray into transmedia and digital storytelling. I cannot recommend it enough!

교육 기관: Esra E

Apr 16, 2020

I'm reeeaaly so happy to be able to take this course. All of the instructers all af the interviews they provide to us and all of the informations they give are so important and valuable. So thank you UNSW and Coursera for giving me this opportunity. 100% recommend!

교육 기관: Marika O

Oct 03, 2019

The training schedule was very well thought out which provided me a valuable insight into the ways that Transmedia Storytelling do work. It was not a walk in the park to accomplish it, as the Transmedia storytelling is a complex project to carry through.

교육 기관: Itika S

May 19, 2020

When a course is crafted with full passion, it is visible. I could see the hard work put in creating this course and throughly enjoyed it. Thank you for bringing in industry experience than just concepts and presentations. Kudos to the team!

교육 기관: Pooja I

Feb 27, 2019

Just what I needed as a development communication practitioner with a knack for filmmaking, and all other things creative! Kudos to the course designers for gathering so many industry insights onto a single platform for the learners.

교육 기관: Uta F

Mar 10, 2020

I loved this tools, it is a perfect mix of guidance, practical tools, but it also requires you to think, be analytical, be creative. The discussions and feedback gave further inspirations and new aspects to my stories.

교육 기관: David A

Apr 05, 2020

Super fun and educational course. I recommend this to anyone who is studying (content) marketing or in the storytelling business! I study content marketing myself and I see that this has given me a lot of insights.

교육 기관: Alexandra D G G

Jan 27, 2020

I have been in media for a few years now, but this course opened my eyes more, to know how to create a better storytelling campaign and how different platforms can be used. Definitely it's a must on your list!

교육 기관: Julia G

Mar 12, 2020

Great tasks, even if I'm not a screenwriter or producer, but just a Content Specialist. Anyway, this course gave me a deep understanding of how to interconnect different media and keep the story aligned.

교육 기관: Daniel D

May 24, 2020

En exceptionall course with lots of information! I would have loved assignments where the student gets to be more practical maybe actually produce some parts of the transmedia strategy.

교육 기관: Noopur T

Apr 27, 2020

Great Course. Love the inputs from all the professionals and the various tools and methods provided to the students to complete the modules. Very interesting and enriching. Thank you

교육 기관: LeAttol ( E L

Mar 23, 2018

Very engaging. I have not seen this level of interviewing before. It's very educational and intensive. But less so on the education side, more on the motivational one. -L

교육 기관: Juan P G U

May 05, 2020

Is a great course, i learn a lot personally for the transmedia storytelling. This is necesary to chilean journalism, for get out of the media crysis.

교육 기관: Barrett B

Apr 03, 2020

Great course! Very informative and engaging! I thoroughly enjoyed it and gained strong perspective about the world / universe I am creating from it!

교육 기관: Csaba T S

Sep 25, 2018

It was absolutely worth buying this course, I learnt a lot about storytelling itself and about transmedia storytelling, as well. Fully recommended!