Chevron Left
Transmedia Storytelling: Narrative worlds, emerging technologies, and global audiences(으)로 돌아가기

UNSW 시드니(뉴사우스웨일스 대학교)의 Transmedia Storytelling: Narrative worlds, emerging technologies, and global audiences 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
592개의 평가
218개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Transmedia storytelling is the practice of designing, sharing, and participating in a cohesive story experience across multiple traditional and digital delivery platforms - for entertainment, advertising and marketing, or social change. Have you ever read a book, seen a movie, watched a television show, or played a game that centred around different aspects of a larger story or universe? You may be familiar with popular examples of such universes like Star Wars, Marvel, and The Walking Dead (to name a few). How do the professionals develop such expansive narratives? How do they ensure that each element stays true to the original story? How do they innovatively use different technologies to share the stories, grow audiences and create an active and involved community of fans? More and more, we are also engaging with elements or franchises of larger and more complex stories across a much more diverse range of platforms like interactive web experiences, social media communities, mobile devices, theme parks, and even augmented and virtual reality. A major challenge that current and future storytellers face is being able to engage different audiences in a story that is seamlessly told across all of these different platforms. WHAT WILL I LEARN? This course will help you to design a strategy for developing and telling your own transmedia story. You will learn about what it takes to: • Shape your ideas into compelling and well structured narratives and complex story worlds • Identify, understand, and engage different audiences in your stories • Create cohesive user experiences across different platforms • Evaluate existing and emerging technologies to share your story with the world, and help your audience participate in the larger storyworld you create The course provides you with a unique, authentic, and industry relevant learning opportunity. You will have access to current theory, industry examples and advice and undertake learning activities that will equip you with the tools you need to start developing your own ideas. WHO WILL MY INSTRUCTORS BE? You will learn effective transmedia design strategies from leading UNSW Australia Art & Design academics. You will also examine case studies that demonstrate how amazing ideas, technology and audience contributions can be brought together to create dynamic storyworlds. You'll see examples of major, successful transmedia storytelling projects involving movies, digital entertainment, gaming, virtual reality and more. In collaboration with our industry partner X Media Lab, the course will give you inside access to the personal stories, insight and advice of the following innovative transmedia storytelling professionals from Hollywood USA, Canada and Australia. • Susan Bonds, 42 Entertainment, Los Angeles, USA • Flint Dille, Screenwriter, Game Designer and Novelist, Los Angeles, USA • Cindi Drennan, Illuminart, Australia • Tom Ellard, UNSW Art & Design, Sydney, Australia • Catherine Fargher, Dr Egg Digital, Sydney, Australia • Hal Hefner, 3AM Creative, USA • Brian Seth Hurst, StoryTech, Los Angeles, USA • Henry Jenkins, School for Communication and Journalism, University of Southern California, USA • Mikey Leung, Digital Storytellers, Sydney, Australia • Alex Lieu, 42 Entertainment, Los Angeles, USA • Geoffrey Long, Annenberg Innovation Lab, University of Southern California, USA • John McGhee, UNSW Art & Design, Sydney, Australia • Joseph Narai, Transmedia Entertainment, Sydney, Australia • Jeff Nicholas, The Uprising Creative, Los Angeles, USA • Sergio Paez, Graphic Artist working in animation, TV, video games, and film. Co Founder, StoryboardArt, California, USA • Steve Peters, No Mimes Media, Los Angeles, USA • Stuart Samuels, Stuart Samuels Productions, Toronto, Canada • Charles Santoso, Concept Artist, Sydney, Australia • Seth Shapiro, New Amsterdam Media, Los Angeles, USA • Scott Snibbe, Eyegroove, San Francisco, USA • Tracey Taylor, The Pulse, Sydney, Australia • Robert Tercek, Public Speaker, Digital Media Strategist, and Executive Leader for Creative Ventures and Business Innovation, • University of Southern California, USA • Kevin Williams, Founder & Director of KWP Ltd and DNA Association, UK • Brent Young, Super 78, Los Angeles, USA • Maya Zuckerman, Transmedia SF, San Francisco, USA COURSE CONTENT DEVELOPMENT Karin Watson, Iman Irannejad, and Dr. Simon McIntyre....

최상위 리뷰

NT
2020년 4월 26일

Great Course. Love the inputs from all the professionals and the various tools and methods provided to the students to complete the modules. Very interesting and enriching. Thank you

CL
2020년 6월 22일

All aspects of story telling and trans media story telling are discussed. The resource persons shared their experiences very effectively to keep the interest building. Thank you!

필터링 기준:

Transmedia Storytelling: Narrative worlds, emerging technologies, and global audiences의 213개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Daniel J V I

2017년 5월 8일

it is a detailed course that help the learner to understand the power of transmedia storytelling for promoting merchandise, social causes and ideas. It help to understand many concepts of marketing used in the creation of transmedia campaigns for products and services, it has a huge quantity of examples and experiences shared by professionals in the field which help a lot to understand how the concepts are used in the real world, it has a huge quantity of reading and extra materials that let you understand more deeply any topic of the course, the course staff engage on the discussion of the forums and provide feedback on your forum activities. This is one of the best courses that I ever took on Coursera, totally recommend it.

교육 기관: Alberto L A

2020년 5월 24일

Definitely, the knowledge I got from this course has enriched my vision, it helped me visualize my own story in a new way. It brought my attention to some details and aspects I had not thought of before. I think I will continue to improve the storytelling and the planned sharing with the audiences my story is aimed at. The course has taught me a lot of new stuff on modern storytelling across several media platforms, on changing communications paradigms, and it has given me valuable insight into how this looks like in practice by listening to practitioners and leaders of the industry.

교육 기관: Aaron d l C

2017년 2월 11일

Es un excelente curso para quienes quieren proyectar su talento artístico en proyectos de cualquier tipo. Los profesores son claros y concisos, y el material de estudio es abundante para entender el propósito de contar historias a través de diversas plataformas de forma sustentable en el tiempo.

This is an excellent course for those who want to project their artistic talents in any kind of project. Teachers are clair and concise, and the material to study is numerous. It is a great course to understand the purpose of telling stories across diverse platforms and in a sustainable form in time.

교육 기관: Ugochi E

2020년 4월 1일

I really enjoyed this course and the the structure of the videos along with the reading materials. Each of the weeks flowed seamlessly into the next. I kind of wish I had studied something like this earlier or when I was in school. However, this course gave me so much and I am glad I can go back and access the lessons whenever I feel like it. I just wish that for some of the assignments we had a little more time to complete, so we could really thoroughly go through the material and then write. That stated, I had a phenominal experience and I am happy I chose this course.

교육 기관: Pam C

2021년 4월 19일

Thanks to the diverse, experienced combination of instructors in this course, I learned a great deal about transmedia storytelling. Each video is kept short and focused, so I never felt overwhelmed by the content. The assignments are clearly defined, and each assignment addresses a discrete, focused aspect of the transmedia storytelling process, from audience to purpose. so I was able to apply what I was learning. Again, I truly appreciate the expertise of the instructors. I got a great deal out of this course, and I have solid next steps for my work. Thank you!

교육 기관: Chandrakant S

2020년 6월 7일

This is a wonderful course, and thanks to UNSW, and Coursera for the opportunity. For me, this has given a new dimension to my writing which I love to do. This course not only developed my story-world but would be useful to revisit some of the stories I had written.

How to disperse the story? How to engage the audience? How the co-creation and fandom can help to build the story-world? Which technologies and platforms are best suited to which segment? These are some of the questions that were best addressed through this course.

Thanks for the opportunity!

교육 기관: Nevena B L

2016년 11월 20일

A great course that will let you in on a world of possibilities when it comes to storytelling. Videos and readings are focused and to the point, with many points of view from both specialists and interdisciplinary experts as to give you a wide variety of opinions, approaches, and food for thought. Even if you're not interested in marketing your stories and making money, this course is still a top resource to refresh your Storytelling 101, as well as enrich your toolkit for the purposes of giving your story the best chance by enhancing it the right way.

교육 기관: Estrellita R

2020년 12월 22일

I really enjoyed this course and the weekly assignments. I liked how they focused on the different pillars of transmedia and shared great examples of how each of them work in the real world. The assignments were helpful in thinking about the other aspects of a story, such as audience, technology, and format, all of which are just as equally important as the story itself. If you are interested in creating a larger world for your story, or want it to be accessible on various platforms I recommend taking this course!

교육 기관: daniel

2020년 8월 29일

Es un curso muy interesante donde te muestran las nociones básicas del Storytelling acompañado de bases teóricas y cómo la estrategia no solo es contar una historia sino todos los elementos que se unen a su alrededor, por ejemplo las nuevas tecnologías como VR y AR, otros campos del transmedia como distintos medios: libros, videojuegos, comics, etc. Además otro elemento importante es la música por ejemplo y los aspectos visuales que pueden ser determinante a la hora de diseñar una narrativa.

교육 기관: Vickery P

2020년 11월 30일

Really well structured learning experience, and a long list of talented instructors and guest lecturers. Rigorous, thoughtful content that will give you a solid grounding in this subject and as many tools and references as you could want to build out your own transmedia project, be it for entertainment, social change or marketing. Having peers review work was hit and miss. I only had one person provide more than a few words, so that is the biggest drawback. Otherwise, well worth the time!

교육 기관: Екатерина С

2020년 5월 10일

This is a great course with amazing instructors, who put a lot of work into creating the materials including the tasks. It has taught me how to get to know my audience and to make sure they get a fulfilling experience. It has taught to focus on what is important while developing and delivering a story. Thanks to the information and the tasks I have designed my own project and received constructive feedback which helped along the way.

교육 기관: Yogitha S

2020년 11월 11일

This truly is one amazing gem for students interested to step into the world of Transmedia storytelling and learn the basics from the art of storytelling, knowing the audience to sculpt user experience design, and technology. The assignments will enable the students to equip their ideas from a linear format to a multimodal storytelling experience with the help of lecturers from various media backgrounds and industrial experts.

교육 기관: Jasmine Y

2020년 5월 11일

This was a very exciting and interesting course and I've learned a lot in the six weeks that I've done the course. The instructors and both the video and the reading materials were quite helpful. The peer-reviewed assignments and also reviewing other participants' assignments were quite helpful in developing the story that was part of the assignment. Some links provided in the reading materials were not working.

교육 기관: Elias K

2017년 8월 25일

An excellent course. It makes clear why transmedia storytelling is triving, while giving you the tools to set up your own story. I'd recommend any professional involved with media to become more acquainted with the topic of transmedia experiences on itself; and, for that, I have to say that this course provides a great insight on the structure, purpose and design of such projects.

교육 기관: Shashank U

2018년 9월 13일

The course is well structured and filled with abundant resources. I loved the assignment section that helped me organise my thought process and be productive. Plus, this industry is something I really want to be working in, so I might be biased. Also, what makes this course truly valuable is that one gets to hear so many experienced professionals and their stories.

교육 기관: Uwem O

2020년 5월 4일

I wanted 'something' that would move me from the regular, ordinary experience- 'something' holistic. Holistic used not as a cliche, but having a universal experience that will make the experience of the world being a 'global village' a reality, and I found that in the Transmedia Storytelling: Narrative worlds of emerging technologies, and global audiences.

교육 기관: Claire R

2018년 6월 4일

Great course! I gained so much from this, both in insight and confidence. Thoroughly recommend this for people wanting to improve their understanding of how transmedia storytelling can work for you and how you can implement it. Creating my own story helped what I learned sink in and I'm excited to try some transmedia techniques in my role. Thanks

교육 기관: Sabrina L

2020년 4월 25일

I enjoyed this course thoroughly. I feel like it gave me a much deeper understanding of all the elements that go into creating a story and catering to my audience in a more effective and meaningful way. I highly recommend this course to anyone who is considering any field in creative writing, journalism, marketing, or content writing. So good!

교육 기관: Djahane Z

2021년 4월 10일

Excellent course!! It really gives you all the tools to build a solid strategy for your transmedia project, and the insight from people working in the industry is very helpful! The course is also very well structured and the assignments make you put to use all that you learn, so all in all a definite five stars course! I highly recommend it.

교육 기관: TANG Y

2020년 10월 11일

The four assignments of this course is a bit challenging but a very evoking process for me to think about how to create a true transmedia story and how to engage audience properly then deeply. Transmedia storytelling is required in different areas increasingly, I think this course is a good start for any beginners who are interested in it.

교육 기관: Mauro I V

2020년 6월 8일

Great content, well researched refferences. If you want to go deep on the subject of transmedia storytelling, you will find lots of invaluable links to bibliography and authors. Professionals and professors involved in the videos are recognized authorities and provide interesting insights. Very inspirational assignment. Really loved it.

교육 기관: Lokapriya B

2017년 2월 12일

The best online course I've learned by far. Right from the course structure to the content everything was just awesome. The team has relentlessly worked in getting the global gurus to talk about the content and created the best content online for trans media storytelling. I've already recommended my colleagues to take this course.

교육 기관: Victor M M A

2019년 7월 31일

Realmente disfruté mucho del curso. La información que se brinda es invaluable, los profesionales a cargo de los cursos son de primera y las experiencias que comparten y sus conocimientos son enriquecedores. Recomiendo este curso completamente, especialmente para personas que están relacionadas al marketing y al diseño gráfico.

교육 기관: Patrícia H D

2020년 4월 16일

Great course! I learned a lot and I'm sure all of this knowledge will open new doors for me. The interviews are very educational and explanatories. Teachers are great, they have a lot of valuable tips; the exchange with the colleagues are nice too. I truly recomended it. Thanks Coursera and UNSW Sidney for this opportunity!

교육 기관: Стэлла Б

2019년 7월 9일

Great course, I'm so happy to be a part of it. It changed my mind, my vision, updated my entire business experience and improved my English skills. It takes a little time for the information to settle down. Too much new things ) I feel my new knowledge helps me to rebuild my ideas, i live in another world now after course.