Chevron Left
Osteoarchaeology: The Truth in Our Bones(으)로 돌아가기

레이던 대학의 Osteoarchaeology: The Truth in Our Bones 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
300개의 평가
101개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course is about what we can learn from examining the human skeleton, and how we can use this knowledge to reconstruct the lives of people who lived in the past. In archaeology and anthropology, human skeletal remains can provide unique insights into the past and the present; insights that cannot be gained otherwise. These insights are explored in five main themes spread out over five weeks of learning. First, it is shown how age-at-death, sex and stature can be estimated by the close examination of (archaeological) skeletal remains. In subsequent modules it is shown how human bones can provide information about the diseases and injuries that people suffered from and what they ate. Also, it is shown how the human skeleton provides information about the kinds of activities that people engaged in and about how they migrated and moved around their landscapes. In this course, you will examine all aspects of the human skeleton that can provide us with information about these different facets of life. Together we will explore the scientific field that is known as human osteoarchaeology. - Human, because it is about us and our ancestors, - Osteo, because it is about our bones, - Archaeology, because we use this information to better understand the behaviors and events experienced by past people. During the course, you will decipher the clues left behind in the skeletons of past peoples with the methods and techniques that are presented. You may also discover some clues hidden in your own skeleton and what they reveal about the life that you are living. Want to know more? You can take a look at the course trailer here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fJi22TxzpRw...

최상위 리뷰

SS

Nov 08, 2016

Very informative, a good grounding in the subject, I really felt like I gained a lot of valuable knowledge on the subject that will help me in future endeavors. Very well put-together and organized.

PB

Nov 21, 2016

I took this course to find out what osteoarchaeology was all about. Excellent, excellent course! Well planned, laid out and , and very interesting. I have learned a lot. Thank you!!!

필터링 기준:

Osteoarchaeology: The Truth in Our Bones의 99개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Douglas M

Dec 13, 2016

This course is very interesting with well thought-out content that involves the student very actively from the first lesson. The assignments are challenging but also very exciting. I consider is a unique innovation in MOOC courses. The professor give excellent information interspersed with interesting case studies. Unfortunately, there was no interaction in my iteration of the course, or any apparent involvement whatsoever, from any TA's or mentors. All questions remained unanswered (except by other students), and frustrated calls for help and advice were ignored. The majority of the course's mark (60%) is determined by fellow students using a rubric which leaves little true 'wiggle room' between pass and fail marks. The mystery cases on which we worked during the course were never 'resolved' or explained in any way, which would have been nice after the effort that went into them. I would recommend the content of the course 'for fun' but if anyone is looking for an accurate assessment of material learned, try another course.

교육 기관: Melissa S

Feb 20, 2017

I enjoyed this course so much! I learned a lot and I will looking for more courses in the same field.

The lectures, extra videos, and the invited guests explaining a bit about their work were some of the best I've seen in a MOOC. Perhaps I missed my calling when I didn't study osteoarcheology.

This is an awesome course and I'd love to see a followup course.

Congratulations on a fantastic job, Dr. Andrea Waters-Rist and team!

교육 기관: Yelena L

Jun 11, 2017

Wonderfull course, one of the best on Coursera that I have seen. Assignments give students opportunity to try actual methods of osteoarchaeology themselves. Quality videos and interesting case studies.

교육 기관: Di A

Oct 15, 2016

Love the content, tutorials etc. but the peer review way of marking is not fair.

I unfortunately withdrew because of this. I & others were never going to succeed. This is because peers who are also having problems, not sure of what they are doing are the ones marking the assessments.

Not giving refunds after the 2 week cut off is also unfair. This must be how you make your money for these free courses.

교육 기관: Daina N A

Dec 11, 2018

I absolutely love this course (and I haven't even finished yet - almost done with the final module). The instructors are great and there videos are very informative. The optional videos are great ways to better visualize the lecture courses. I thoroughly enjoy the challenge and experience working of each module assignment that culminates into one overall project/case. The assignments are thought provoking, and it is interesting to see the different approaches and conclusions that other's reach upon reading their work for peer review.

The only reason I gave this course 4/5 stars is because, as someone who doesn't have a background in Anthropology or Archaeology, there were times when the technical content was hard for me to conceptualize. I wish that there were reading assignments that can be read in preparation for an upcoming video or module. I think that available reading assignments would have significantly improved my learning experience and understanding of the lesson material.

교육 기관: E M B

Dec 17, 2018

This course provided great illustrations and information regarding the various specialties in human osteology.

교육 기관: Yenny A A S

Feb 12, 2019

Excelente curso, contenido especializado pero muy claro, con muchos ejemplos y bibliografía.

교육 기관: Ivana S

Feb 28, 2019

I liked this course very much, lessons were well prepared, and easy to understand even for me - beginner in the osteoarcheology area. I would recommend this course to anyone interested in anthropology.

교육 기관: Noemí R G

Apr 06, 2019

¡Uno de los mejores curso online que he realizado!

Este curso ha cumplido mis expectativas totalmente, me ha enseñado más de lo que yo esperaba y ha hecho que me guste el estudio de los huesos animándome a aprender mucho más sobre este tema.

One of the best online course I've done!

This course has fully met my expectations, has taught me more than I expected and has made me like the study of bones by encouraging me to learn much more about this subject.

교육 기관: Krystyna S

Feb 20, 2019

Fascinating and very informative course

교육 기관: Claudette D

Oct 12, 2016

Excellent class

교육 기관: Bart S

Oct 10, 2016

great class, please repeat it!

교육 기관: Anthony

Sep 15, 2017

The "solve a mystery" structure of the course makes the assessment part a lot of fun whilst echoing the kind of Problem Based Learning approach common to some of the best university courses. All the materials and contributors work well together to create a fun, welcoming learning environment.

교육 기관: Dr.Martin G

May 20, 2017

Congratulations for this course!!!

교육 기관: Maria G H

Aug 15, 2017

Loved this course! I learned the basics of everything I wanted to learn and I really enjoyed it!

교육 기관: Anne-Marie G

Jan 23, 2017

Loved this course. Allows you to go into more detail if you wish. Friendly lecturer. Facinating subject.

교육 기관: Maria N A

Nov 06, 2016

A truly stellar experience. The course structure is very well thought off and the information given just about right for a short seminar. I would love a sequel with the topics that we did not cover. Thank you very much for this educational experience.

교육 기관: Derek N

Nov 07, 2016

This is an excellently well presented course that is informative, interesting and challenging. Well worth engaging with.

교육 기관: Hasan m

Jun 23, 2018

good

교육 기관: Marloes T

Apr 23, 2017

AMAZING course!!!!! Lectures are well presented, I liked the extra tutorials and the assignment are really fun to do. If you have only a slight interest in skeletons, archeology or maybe even forensics, I would definitely recommend

교육 기관: Savitha

Aug 14, 2017

It's an amazing course.. I LOVED IT!!

교육 기관: Paul R

Mar 07, 2018

Excellent

교육 기관: Brandon E K

Dec 07, 2016

Absolutely a fantastic and brilliant experience, one in which I would recommend to anyone choosing a history, archaeology, anthropology or anatomy related career path. I learned so much and gained both a new insight in studying the human anatomy and a new interest in what I would like to study further for my career.

교육 기관: Alfredo J A G

Aug 18, 2017

dis les bendiga

교육 기관: Vladislav K

Oct 16, 2017

The course is just awesome! This is an excellent course, best of what I have learned on the web. Thank you, professors, creators and technical team!