Chevron Left
Introduction to Typography(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 예술대학의 Introduction to Typography 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
4,242개의 평가
865개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

최상위 리뷰

BG
2020년 8월 3일

I thought the assignments worked really cohesively with one another. It helped to keep terms and skills in mind from one assignment to the next. The lecture videos were great, short, and to the point.

JC
2018년 7월 28일

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Typography의 838개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Priscila A d S

2019년 3월 3일

IT has amazing videos explanations and great history lessons about typography, but I would love to have a proper professor feedback on my designs.

교육 기관: Adler A

2019년 6월 28일

That was a useful and practical course, like the rest in the CalArts specialization Graphic Design. There were some challenges when I got low scores because my work hasn't passed the subjective criteria score given by peers. I still think that subjective criteria are needed, but want to ask, please don't be tough to peers cause it can letdown newcomers in the area. And those who faced the same situation I want to encourage - sometimes it's really not because your work is bad, there is much of subjectivity also and depends on who reviewed it. Just continue.

교육 기관: Stanislav K

2018년 1월 19일

As compared with the first course, this part I found less interesting from the point of view of didactics. My impression was that I did not learn much. It is true, I found myself interested with the matter of typefaces and other elements of the typographic art. So I got inspired to find books and other means to research deeper. I also found the formulations of the assignments not very inspiring, but rather formal, so I could not develop enough enthusiasm to perform more the the necessary minimum .

교육 기관: Cheryl O

2017년 8월 13일

As a complete beginner to typography, I found this course to be exactly what I needed to get competently acquainted with the subject.

Enjoyable and easy to follow, the course provides a fully comprehensive education from the basics all the way to the essential typographic conventions. My favourite part was learning about the the history and evolution of type, as the knowledge informs the progression up to what we know today as typography.

Tip: It's best to work on the assignments using InDesign, as the program allows full control of the type.

Overall an excellent course that I would highly recommend.

교육 기관: Askargali A

2018년 12월 3일

It is informative, accurate and laconic. It has the least degree of subjection, which makes it easier to do tasks and assess your peers work. I enjoyed taking this course and it helped me to become more confident

교육 기관: Bee g

2020년 8월 4일

I thought the assignments worked really cohesively with one another. It helped to keep terms and skills in mind from one assignment to the next. The lecture videos were great, short, and to the point.

교육 기관: Lee S

2016년 4월 6일

Very organized and detailed about the basic, history, characteristics of typography.

I really enjoyed it and wish there were other courses by the same lecturer.

Thanks for the great course!!

교육 기관: David

2017년 5월 13일

The good - The teacher is great, assignments are good as well.

However there was a lot more could be included in this 4 weeks course.

The first 2 weeks could easily be combined into one. Comparing this to the previous course, Fundamentals of Graphic design, I thought we could have learned a lot more in the given time.

교육 기관: Liza D

2016년 3월 14일

Good material, but not nearly enough to justify a full course. Should've been 2X as many lectures and assignments at least.

교육 기관: Sister E B

2016년 6월 17일

This was just a top-notch course. Despite the fact that the lectures were not particularly long, nor the assignments really onerous, I think I learned more in this course than in other similar courses. Perhaps it was because there were so many "aha!" moments, as I realized why my previous attempts to combine typefaces had not been so successful, or exactly what it was that attracted me (or not) to the appearance of a particular type family.

The story is that Steve Jobs was captivated by typography in the days when the text on the screen did not look at all like the text that would print -- people had to use codes for even simple things like bold-face or underline, and wouldn't know what it looked like until it printed on their single-typeface printer. He fell in love with type, and that contributed a lot to the way the Macintosh developed. I never understood that story until I took this course.

Thank you for a great course, and for giving me enough knowledge that I can continue to build on it.

교육 기관: Diogo M

2018년 5월 1일

This course will help you view written text in a completely new light! You will learn basic vocabulary to describe fonts and vital clues for better text organization and hierarchy construction.

You will also get a glimpse of how a font can be molded to express a feeling, this is particularly useful for poster design.

The exercises are peer reviewed and consistent across the course, in a way that allows you to reevaluate your previous work.

The knowledge I got here improved the way I write simple documents, but also the way simple changes to your style can make a huge difference for the reader.

Thank you

교육 기관: Suzanne

2020년 11월 8일

This course gave me an in depth understanding of the history, as well as the technical aspects of typography. Typography is something that has been very interesting for me and upon finishing this course, I now have thorough appreciation of the subject. The lessons were presented in short videos with clear and understandable instructions. I like how the required homework progressed as the lessons advanced. These homework greatly helped in facilitating better understanding of Typography. This is an outstanding course and I commend the instructor, Anther Kiley and his team for a job well done.

교육 기관: Torsten R

2016년 5월 23일

Initially, I took the course just for general interest in typography. The nice experience I made here convinced me to go deeper into the material in the future. I definitely learned something that took me some steps forward.

I especially liked the well-made videos. They are very good to listen to and they are very clearly designed, it is making things easy to understand.

In the exams and in the peer reviews, it seemed to make a difference that some students had already taken the Graphics Design Specialization.

I can definitely recommend this course.

교육 기관: Gail W

2016년 4월 3일

Great lectures & examples! Very appreciative of the California Institute of the Arts for creating this course and others.

One additional thing that would have been nice would have been an organised forum for each typeface to see what others had done. I always wanted to find others who were working on my typeface, but the review process was just random and I only came across a couple. I had some communication in a discussion forum, but only with one person. Would have been efficient to have organised forums by typeface & highly educational too!

교육 기관: Maneesha

2020년 5월 15일

They say this is a basic course, but this have lot more to learn in short time period. This is rally interesting and every little thing is so valuable. All lectures are in short and sweet manner but with lot of details and explanations. Even the assignments are so interesting with lot of steps to follow, which make easily leading through the course. Thank you for teacher and the all the technical team who made this course so interesting and smooth flow.

교육 기관: Gabriella P

2017년 12월 13일

This was a great and informative course. I still find a bit of fault in the fact that all assignments are peer-reviewed. It's hard to learn fully that way. While I appreciate that peer reviewing is incredibly important, especially when it comes to art, it would be nice to have instructor input as well. That being said, I understand that the instructors have a great load with their in-college classes.

교육 기관: Shomaila K

2020년 6월 5일

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

교육 기관: Jillian C

2018년 7월 29일

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

교육 기관: Deanna M

2020년 4월 26일

Learned a lot about typography, but I feel the certificate is worthless, peers don't really take the time to review your work, offer feedback or constructive criticism, sometimes don't even understand the directions, do it wrong themselves and then grade you based on their misreadings. There needs to be some oversight of this course for it to work properly.

교육 기관: Evan M

2018년 8월 19일

I enjoyed learning about the typographic types but wish I could have learned more about the creation of diverse typographical projects. Showing several posters from professional graphic designers is a good way to see what all is out there, but does not help in the creation process.

교육 기관: Digby D

2017년 12월 13일

The first two weeks' material serve as an unexpectedly good sleep aid. The last two offer a very bare-bones explanation of basic typographic principles. Fine for the absolute beginner.

교육 기관: Andre

2016년 8월 4일

Good but nowhere near as in-depth as some of the other courses found on coursera.

교육 기관: Delia C G

2020년 2월 4일

Very underwhelming course. Doesn't even begin to scratch the surface of the topic. A lot of basic information is left out. The two stars are for the reading list--it helped a lot but I guess I could have found out about these books without having to pay a Coursera subscription. More assignments are needed. More basic information. The terms need to be defined more clearly.

교육 기관: David K

2020년 6월 1일

This class seems light on content to me, especially for the price. I expected a deeper dive into typography and came away a bit disappointed.

교육 기관: Lynda R

2019년 10월 31일

The instructions for the final project -- the project is the biggest part of the grade -- are ambiguous. I posted on the Discussion Forum for clarification. No response. I looked up the contact information for and wrote the professor of record for clarification. No response. Peer reviewers marked me down for my interpretation. Disappointing. I want to continue on with the specialization, but if no one of knowledge and experience is monitoring student progress -- why should I? Please note: On other Coursera courses I have sometimes sought and received clarification for assignment instructions. This is first time I have received none, so this is my first bad experience with my go to platform for self-learning. Disappointing.