Chevron Left
Introduction to Typography(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 예술대학의 Introduction to Typography 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
2,676개의 평가
535개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

최상위 리뷰

LS

Apr 07, 2016

Very organized and detailed about the basic, history, characteristics of typography.\n\nI really enjoyed it and wish there were other courses by the same lecturer.\n\nThanks for the great course!!

JC

Jul 29, 2018

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Typography의 509개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Priscila A d S

Mar 04, 2019

IT has amazing videos explanations and great history lessons about typography, but I would love to have a proper professor feedback on my designs.

교육 기관: David D

May 13, 2017

The good - The teacher is great, assignments are good as well.

However there was a lot more could be included in this 4 weeks course.

The first 2 weeks could easily be combined into one. Comparing this to the previous course, Fundamentals of Graphic design, I thought we could have learned a lot more in the given time.

교육 기관: Stanislav K

Jan 19, 2018

As compared with the first course, this part I found less interesting from the point of view of didactics. My impression was that I did not learn much. It is true, I found myself interested with the matter of typefaces and other elements of the typographic art. So I got inspired to find books and other means to research deeper. I also found the formulations of the assignments not very inspiring, but rather formal, so I could not develop enough enthusiasm to perform more the the necessary minimum .

교육 기관: Ivan K

Dec 10, 2018

Superb course! Very insightful.

교육 기관: Eunice W

Dec 03, 2018

Great course that provided my an overview of the history of type/typefaces. Fed me with interesting general knowledge on the differences between roman type, egyptian type etc.

Would highly recommend if you are interesting in picking up something new.

교육 기관: Askargali A

Dec 03, 2018

It is informative, accurate and laconic. It has the least degree of subjection, which makes it easier to do tasks and assess your peers work. I enjoyed taking this course and it helped me to become more confident

교육 기관: Allison W

Jan 15, 2019

This was a thoroughly enjoyable course. I wish there was another followup to it!

교육 기관: Redha S

Jan 03, 2019

Waw ! I like this course

교육 기관: Efren A

Jan 24, 2019

Amazing course! Very well explained, full of useful information and nice to do. Thank you!

교육 기관: Camila R

Jan 26, 2019

Excellent course, highly recommended! It provides a lot of useful concepts. You will love typography after it.

교육 기관: Claudio C G

Mar 02, 2019

I never thought this topic would trigger such passion in me. I loved it!

교육 기관: Noha K K E

Mar 03, 2019

i think its great

교육 기관: Gunjan

Mar 26, 2019

A good return to basics

교육 기관: Julia G

Mar 28, 2019

I think this is my favorite course in this specialization, I actually learned a lot about making my written text legible, thanks!

교육 기관: Medhat H M M

Jan 28, 2019

Nice

교육 기관: Manuel A R S

Feb 12, 2019

Very practical content

교육 기관: Felipe F A

Feb 11, 2019

If you like typography, take the course. If you dont, take the course! =)

교육 기관: Leonardo A E M

Feb 02, 2019

well!

교육 기관: Ismail A

Apr 01, 2019

great class! Im a beginner and learned a lot

교육 기관: LU F

Apr 02, 2019

I enjoyed this course a lot!

교육 기관: Rounak B

Apr 05, 2019

Quite an eye-opener as far as type is concerned.

교육 기관: Sarah K

Apr 07, 2019

Very interesting theory. Good balance between knowledge (quizzes) and practice (assignments) to ensure learning.

교육 기관: Shimaa G A

Apr 01, 2019

It is a good course

교육 기관: Leon B

Mar 12, 2019

Basic information, but gave me great insight into how typography is created and works.

교육 기관: Julie S

Mar 08, 2019

Very interesting and informative.