Chevron Left
Introduction to Typography(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 예술대학의 Introduction to Typography 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
4,843개의 평가
1,040개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

최상위 리뷰

MB
2020년 7월 25일

The course is very interesting and well presented, the assignments are really helpful for the learning process. I would recommend to anyone interested in design, art, web design or just for curiosity.

BG
2020년 8월 3일

I thought the assignments worked really cohesively with one another. It helped to keep terms and skills in mind from one assignment to the next. The lecture videos were great, short, and to the point.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Typography의 1,023개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: Heleina E

2016년 5월 2일

I really enjoyed this course. I learned so much things and I feel like my typography skills just went up on a whole new level. Signing up to this course helped me understand all the stuff I've been reading about typography. They teach typography in a way that's so easy to understand and process. Highly recommended. :)

교육 기관: Robert C S

2020년 12월 16일

Going in, I knew very little about Typography, but learned so much through this class! Instructors were very clear, and very good about efficiently pointing out just the right things to teach. Impactful, and with some great resource references for further study. Can't recommend this class enough, it was amazing!

교육 기관: Aymen J

2019년 12월 15일

I was always confused whenever I've heard the word typography. This course opened my eyes to the world of typefaces and made me discover the richness and beauty of typography. Now I feel that I have a better understanding.

I can not go without expressing my gratitude for allowing me to benefit from this opportunity.

교육 기관: Abhilash V

2016년 12월 24일

Typography is an important part of graphic design.This course will give a brief introduction to the historical context of typography and the evolution of typography in this modern computerized age.A great course for those interested in graphics design and can be used as a refresher for the working professionals.

교육 기관: Shivansh S

2016년 3월 30일

This is a very informative course. There are so many books available on Typography but I think this is best way typography can be defined for the graphic designer. As a person belonging to design and architecture fraternity, I would definitely recommend this course to every aspiring graphic designer and artist.

교육 기관: Miruna F

2021년 3월 12일

I learned a lot about typography thanks to this course. The projects and the homework make you practice all the theory you learn during this course and i find them awesome and exciting. Of course, you have to read some books/articles on the side but for the fundamentals of typography the course is amazing!

교육 기관: Зубрихина А А

2020년 9월 20일

Hello! I'm Ann from Russia, and I'm really happy to have completed this course! I've found a lot of new information about typefaces, grids, and so on. Now, I'm ready to use it in my work! Thank you so much! I definitely will recommend this course to my friends if somebody gets interested in typography.

교육 기관: Maria I F A

2020년 7월 24일

This course is an amazing tool for anyone who is interested in design and may not know too much about it. I have always had a liking for fonts and typefaces, so this course was amazing to me. The course is easily digestible, the lectures are engaging and visually appealing, and the instructor is great.

교육 기관: Jay M

2020년 9월 18일

I found both the courses so far to the point videos precise and interesting and though (before I joined this course) I had worked with typefaces/ graphic designing yet gained a whole lot of confidence so feel thankful. The assignments were interesting and kept my brain on it's proverbial toes :)

교육 기관: EminOj

2018년 11월 17일

It was one of the best online courses I have attended before. I liked syllabus and teacher. I boosted my knowledge about typography in English and knew good information about some specific typefaces as well. I recommend this course for everyone is interested in typography in English letters.

교육 기관: Megan

2017년 12월 12일

Very interesting course. I learned a lot- about the history of typography, the importance of digital typography today, how to design a poster, different typefaces and their uses and meanings, etc. Highly recommend as an intro to typography class! Some knowledge of InDesign is helpful.

교육 기관: Jory H

2020년 8월 7일

I really enjoyed this course! It really helped me to see type as a medium for creating an interesting compositions. I also really enjoyed learning about and exploring the history of type, it gave me a new respect for those who design typefaces and am eager to continue learning more.

교육 기관: parvez a

2016년 10월 27일

I wish I would have found this course a little earlier in my career. I can now justify my usage of typeface in any projects.

The course is short and well thought.

I would really appreciate if there can be more assignments to design a brand identify, user interface, magazine layout etc.

교육 기관: Jenny T

2020년 9월 30일

As a newbie in this area this course makes me realize the importance of typography in all aspect of our designs. Types can express more than its contents, It can express feelings. The lessons are great and it cover a lot of material in a short way. I enjoyed every week. Thank you!

교육 기관: Mitali D

2018년 9월 3일

The course is very helpful and makes you develop a lot of typographic skills in just 4 weeks. The assignments are very interesting and helps in developing design skills and improves design thinking. The lectures are very explanatory and cover all the important areas of typography.

교육 기관: Natasha G

2016년 12월 27일

Dear Teacher,

thank for your perfect introduction and explanation of the Typographie.

I really enjoyed all 4 weeks. It was my pleasure to learn from you! Very understandable videos and i learned a lot! Thank you! I will enroll further :) I wish you all the best in your future work!

교육 기관: renata i

2020년 12월 11일

i really enjoyed this course's curriculum, and learned a lot about typography as a whole as well as little rules I had not previously known. It was disappointing however how much plagiarism i encountered as well as receiving mostly single word critiques on my own submissions.

교육 기관: Robert I

2020년 5월 26일

This course exposed me to the basics of typography - the instructor provided historical and current day uses of type. The videos in the 2nd & 3rd week were loaded with lots of information, maybe this should have been spaced out a bit more. Good course overall, I recommend.

교육 기관: Alekseeva K

2016년 4월 9일

The course gives fundamentals of typography in a clear and very interesting way. I adore the structure of the course and the lector's speech. The content is extremely useful. Every designer and editor should know those things. Mostly they don't even if they think they do.

교육 기관: Soh W K

2018년 10월 9일

Excellent, now I am equipped with a deeper understanding of Typography. The applications of these knowledge can provide very nicely produced emails, publications, posters, etc. I never thought I could design Text so nicely and neatly, and artistically whenever I choose.

교육 기관: Amanda V

2020년 4월 13일

I did not think I was going to like Typography, but I loved the course and learned a lot. Everytime I see signs or any form of type, I see more than just a billboard or text. If I type something, I double check that it is denotative and connotative and legible. Thanks!

교육 기관: Yiyang Z

2017년 7월 10일

My favorite course in the Graphic Design specialization. The course is very informative, structured, and well-edited. I really enjoyed Anther's lectures. In addition, the mentors and the instructor responded to questions in the Discussion Forum thoroughly and promptly.

교육 기관: Camila V T

2016년 11월 6일

Muy buen curso, cumple con todo lo necesario para ser una excelente manera de introducirse a la tipografía. Cada unidad es muy sencilla de seguir y cualquier puede aprender y realizar los ejercicios. Además, las presentaciones y material visual son de alta calidad.

교육 기관: Jekaterina K

2021년 1월 31일

This course helped me to understand how to decorate or present text in the right way and suitable for the meaning behind it. I am sure that these skills will be developed in future projects in this area and will help me improve my skills and knowledge even more.

교육 기관: Maria A C

2020년 10월 7일

With the Introduction to Typography course, I learned a little about the specific vocabulary, the origin of some typographic families and that there is a huge potential in relation to texts that can be explored at any time, in any type of piece. Really enjoyed.