Chevron Left
Introduction to Typography(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 예술대학의 Introduction to Typography 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
4,848개의 평가
1,042개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

최상위 리뷰

BG
2020년 8월 3일

I thought the assignments worked really cohesively with one another. It helped to keep terms and skills in mind from one assignment to the next. The lecture videos were great, short, and to the point.

AS
2021년 4월 12일

This was an excellent course. I learned a whole lot about typography. The videos and assignments were interesting and challenging. I'm happy I was able to complete this course and highly recommend it!

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Typography의 1,024개 리뷰 중 876~900

교육 기관: Irina V

2021년 11월 22일

The content of the course is informative and easy to understand. The assignments are interesting and can be used for a portfolio. But the assessment system by fellow students is too dependent on the moral qualities of the assessor and, in most cases, is not objective.

교육 기관: Jason Y

2018년 5월 14일

Perfect fundamental typography course for those like me who learned on the job, but now need to learn the "why" things needs to be the way they are regarding type. Loved the section on modern day typography characteristics and enjoyed completing my typographic poster!

교육 기관: Meron N

2020년 7월 7일

Some good introductions to typography and its history and also a good component of the 5 course graphic design specialty. Some frustration with individuals not giving feedback on assignments although you can resubmit assignments if looking for more peer reviews.

교육 기관: Marilou M

2020년 12월 10일

The course is well organised and provideds you with key knowledge and some great inspirational material! I wish there would be more assignments and extra resources at the end of week 4 for people that would like to expand their portfolio, like myself.

교육 기관: C. M C

2016년 4월 14일

I was not 100% motivated about this cours and I thought it would be easy...but I was wrong!, it was serious stuff to deal with typo and I learn so much in the process, I saw some pretty works of my peers and it gave me the push to make my best!

교육 기관: Kristín L

2016년 6월 5일

Overall I really enjoyed this course. My only input is that it could be a bit more advanced. I realize it's an "Introduction" course, but if you have just the smallest interests in typography, theres a lot of these things, you already know.

교육 기관: Thomas C

2021년 7월 15일

The lectures are wonderful and insightful. The only issue is that when it came to the assignments (especially the later ones) the prompt/instructions could be a little bit confusing. But I was able to figure it out eventually.

교육 기관: Raquel Z W

2017년 7월 17일

It was really good to learn about the fundamental of Typography in this course. The only con is that, in my point of view, it is really hard to give a consistent feedback for other colleagues when you are just a beginner.

교육 기관: Natascha B

2021년 2월 4일

Sometimes there are other participants that don't bother grading peer assignment correctly, but otherwise I mostly had pleasant contact with peers. The course taught me a lot, and I'm sure I can use this in my job life!

교육 기관: Sakshi J

2018년 5월 12일

It was a wonderful course with brief but concise delivery of various aspects of typography. I wish the grading was done by experts and not peers, as it would have helped me receive some valuable expert feedback.

교육 기관: Leroy S

2016년 5월 23일

Very good overall explanations on the basics of Typography. Anther Kiley did a great job of explaining things in a simple yet detailed format. I never realized there was so much to letters and words in type!

교육 기관: Helen H

2019년 3월 20일

I liked the course overall and found it informative. I think that the topics in week 3 and 4 could be combined. I also wasn't sure where I could post questions to clarify something in the assignments.

교육 기관: Rose G

2019년 8월 2일

I was excited to learn about typography, these assignments were fun to do. I wished there were more assignments to create more posters for this typography course, overall I enjoyed and learned a lot.

교육 기관: Roger X M

2018년 4월 10일

Good way to start with typography. The only problem I see is that there is not enough practice. I think that maybe with two or three more exercises it would be better. But in general, good course!!

교육 기관: Louise D

2017년 6월 14일

Clear content and actual homework that lets you understand what you just studied. A very useful course ! Thank you so much for sharing this, it's incredible to be able to learn from home.

교육 기관: Allison C

2016년 11월 26일

I would have liked a few more / longer videos, but I really found the assignments helpful. I like how each one built off of each other, so the final project did not feel so overwhelming.

교육 기관: Stefano S

2020년 8월 1일

It was a nice course with a lot of information and good practice good for the beginning. As always I would like to have some recommendations of books and web sites from the teachers.

교육 기관: Md. N M H

2020년 5월 14일

I recommend enrolling in online courses that allow you to gain insights into how you want to build yours typography differently. All of this can be done if you take this course.

교육 기관: Sazidur R

2020년 6월 24일

I really enjoyed the course. The instructor was able to communicate the importance aspect of typography. Being an introductory course, the content was really diverse. Thank you,

교육 기관: Harshal B

2016년 11월 29일

This is a fantastic course to start with Typography. This course will help you get the basics of typography and fonts. Highly recommended if you are starting out in this field.

교육 기관: Matias B

2021년 10월 24일

Muy buen aporte educativo, la teoria es muy clara, los contenidos faciles de leer y entender. Lo unico malo es que a veces los subtitulos en español no están bien traducidos.

교육 기관: Aditya R

2021년 5월 15일

It's good but they have left the judgement of last 2 major assignments on their users which is a drawback bcoz some of them have literally no idea how to rate people's work.

교육 기관: Emmelie K G

2020년 1월 26일

In general a great course where you learn a lot about typography. But it was a little to easy I think. Worked through this course in 1 week and didn't feel pressured at all.

교육 기관: Christos C

2016년 8월 18일

Thoroughly enjoyable and didactic! Some further elaboration on each subject would do it merit. Poster design should be optional — not everyone is keen on handling software.

교육 기관: Ana M

2020년 12월 14일

Thanks to Coursera for providing these courses. Thanks to the teacher, it was very clear and the classes were didactic. Thanks to the people who corrected my assignments.