Chevron Left
Introduction to Typography(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 예술대학의 Introduction to Typography 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
4,848개의 평가
1,042개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

최상위 리뷰

BG
2020년 8월 3일

I thought the assignments worked really cohesively with one another. It helped to keep terms and skills in mind from one assignment to the next. The lecture videos were great, short, and to the point.

AS
2021년 4월 12일

This was an excellent course. I learned a whole lot about typography. The videos and assignments were interesting and challenging. I'm happy I was able to complete this course and highly recommend it!

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Typography의 1,024개 리뷰 중 901~925

교육 기관: David V

2016년 3월 15일

Nice, brief intro to typography. Good, clear lecture content and interesting assignments. I feel like the "by the book" assignment should not be entirely peer graded.

교육 기관: Katie S

2020년 7월 7일

This was a great course--really introductory and yet also really informative. I will definitely take some of the things I learned into future design work! Thanks!

교육 기관: Georgina P

2017년 9월 20일

Recomendated for those who want to learn about how to be creative with typography and for designers of course. Letters and words are key part of the compossition.

교육 기관: Paola H G

2020년 10월 6일

Me gustó bastante, es un curso introductorio pero que profundiza en algunos conceptos importantes para entender cómo funciona la tipografía en el diseño gráfico

교육 기관: Christine

2016년 6월 12일

I'm hooked on typography now. I've read a number of the books that were recommended. Instructor was interesting and the material was engaging. Would recommend.

교육 기관: Carola M

2020년 7월 10일

A well done course, but it doesn't actually explain you anything about programs of graphics. Assignments can be very hard if you have never used any of them

교육 기관: Alvaro M

2019년 4월 3일

This got me started into typography by giving me the confidence that only foundational theory can. Totally recommended if you want to understand the basics!

교육 기관: Eunice M A

2020년 5월 17일

Muy buen curso, interesante y aprendí muchísimo sobre la historia de la tipografía, creo que le falta más parte práctica, por eso le pongo 4 estrellas

교육 기관: Lidya S

2019년 8월 21일

It's very useful and clear, and I love Week 4's project. But the assignments and videos are less exciting than Fundamentals of Graphic Design.

교육 기관: Regina J

2020년 6월 13일

The course was a little dry, but it was quite informative and made me look at typeface differently. I love that I gained new vocabulary.

교육 기관: yariv d

2016년 3월 30일

Very basic course. I enjoyed the lessons and the assignments. Gave some fundamental view and perspective about the field of typography.

교육 기관: Daniil T

2016년 8월 15일

Nice, interesting course. I went through it with pleasure.

But there is so little information, you can definitely give more :)

교육 기관: Daria H

2016년 6월 20일

Lots of interesting insights and good structure of the course. I wish the areas were covered a little more extensively though.

교육 기관: Diana C V S

2020년 9월 13일

I learned all the architecture of typography, how to recognize them from their parts, their style and their place in history.

교육 기관: Syed M A

2020년 4월 16일

There should have been more content and optional exercise for practices. Also some tips and tricks of using Adobe Indesign.

교육 기관: Tóbiás L

2021년 1월 2일

It is a great start to learn Typography, maybe the course could go a bit more further, and depen the knowledge it gives.

교육 기관: Carmel R

2021년 12월 1일

I enjoyed the course and learned a good deal about typography. Unfortunately, the peer grading model has its drawbacks.

교육 기관: Britt B C

2017년 6월 11일

I found this course, a bit boring on presentation, but really interesting on topic. I also really enjoyed the projects

교육 기관: Alexander H

2020년 2월 1일

I had some trouble with the final project. I felt like it was too subjective and was harder to receive criticism.

교육 기관: Broderick S

2016년 6월 20일

Well-made videos. Assignments could be more rigorous. Not too much overlap with first course in specialization.

교육 기관: Ricardo B

2016년 9월 11일

3.5 stars

A quick introduction to Typography that left me feeling there is so much more to learn and know.

교육 기관: David K

2021년 1월 30일

Good overall. Interesting videos and assignments. Could go in more depths for a four-week course though.

교육 기관: Devi R

2017년 3월 8일

Very Helpful! But maybe when an experienced lecturer grades the assignments it will make a difference.

교육 기관: Simmy S

2020년 5월 11일

The course was exactly what I was looking for, I would have loved to have a more advanced course too.

교육 기관: Gyula W

2017년 1월 22일

Course stuff could have better interaction and response time and grading could be more challenging.