Chevron Left
Introduction to Typography(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 예술대학의 Introduction to Typography 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
4,786개의 평가
1,022개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

최상위 리뷰

AS
2021년 4월 12일

This was an excellent course. I learned a whole lot about typography. The videos and assignments were interesting and challenging. I'm happy I was able to complete this course and highly recommend it!

BG
2020년 8월 3일

I thought the assignments worked really cohesively with one another. It helped to keep terms and skills in mind from one assignment to the next. The lecture videos were great, short, and to the point.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Typography의 1,005개 리뷰 중 76~100

교육 기관: Daniel P

2016년 8월 9일

Claro, conciso. Cualquier persona a quien le guste la tipografía aprendería de este curso. Esta introducción permite agudizar la apreciación de la tipografía como el lenguaje no verbal de la escritura, y explorar el potencial estético y expresivo de las letras.

교육 기관: Erik M

2017년 5월 3일

Great courses for pretty much everyone. I'm a marketer, not a designer but I still found it very useful, as sometimes I still have to work with typgraphy a bit. This is a great introduction to typography for designers, copywriters, marketers and everyone else!

교육 기관: Doug W

2019년 4월 29일

This is a fantastic course! The video lectures were exceptionally concise and always compelling. The assignments were very effective in providing opportunities to explore and apply the ideas learned in the lectures. A wonderful learning experience all around!

교육 기관: Muhammad Q

2020년 12월 25일

This course gives you the primary knowledge to dive into the ocean of typography. It is quite helpful. Only thing I find intimidating is that instructors do not grade your assignments. Overall I find it quite helpful. The Teacher has a very relaxing voice.

교육 기관: Mubashir Z

2020년 12월 18일

The course was well designed, it has covered all parameters regarding typography, I was already a graphic designer, but the terminologies used was never before, this really enhance my knowledge about typography...Thanks to Cal arts and specially instructor

교육 기관: Karlem S

2017년 4월 25일

Great course. The videos are jam-packed with information which makes it really worth your money and your time. I am a self-taught designer and truly appreciated all the very specific tips and rules that are not as obvious when you start out on your own.

교육 기관: Joshua O

2020년 5월 9일

This introductory course has definitely kindled my love for Typography. Thanks a lot to Calarts and the instructor Anther Kiley. I gained a lot from this class and if I ever become a successful graphics designer, you will be part of my success story!

교육 기관: Guthrie A

2019년 4월 15일

This course was great! The assignments were challenging and so helpful for me to go through. I learned a tremendous amount of information and feel much more confident in my skills as a designer and gained a deep appreciation for type and typesetting.

교육 기관: Eunice W

2018년 12월 2일

Great course that provided my an overview of the history of type/typefaces. Fed me with interesting general knowledge on the differences between roman type, egyptian type etc.

Would highly recommend if you are interesting in picking up something new.

교육 기관: Md. A R S

2020년 6월 27일

It was really an wonderful experienceduring this course. The way they present metarials was so easy and simple that helped me to learn so fast. This course is really enriched and the assignments were fun-doing. I am really happy to be a part of it.

교육 기관: NGUYEN T B Y

2021년 9월 17일

More than amazing! I've learned a lot through this course. "Introduction to Typography" improves my design and knowledge about the typo, compositions, and layouts. I love every minute of this course. Thanks all the teachers, peers, and Coursera.

교육 기관: guy k

2019년 5월 12일

Very good. The course gave me knowledge about typography and terms. the assignments can be improved, the last assignment shouldn't be based on the previous one in my opinion. in general the last week of the course can consist a bit more content.

교육 기관: Marie-Noëlle W

2016년 4월 20일

This was a quite technical course which allowed me to learn a lot about typography and how it works. I found the video material very interesting and liked how all the assignments were linked to one other by building off each other. Great course!

교육 기관: Egle H

2019년 11월 8일

Loved it! I thought the assignments were really meaningful for the future in design :) Enjoyed this course very much. There was a bit of repetition from the Fundamentals course, but I think it was necessary. Continuing with the other courses.

교육 기관: saloni d

2018년 4월 23일

i really liked the course it encourages me to perform more better in the assignments and the classmates suggestions and very helpful to me. the instructor is well communicative and helps me in better understanding of the topics. nice course.

교육 기관: Kurdiman T

2021년 7월 19일

n​ot learning about calart graphic design study either, this is lecture about knowledge and information typograpghy, i think firstly , student learn about how to make typography , but i'm miss intrepretation. but i like all calart studies

교육 기관: Rom B

2020년 5월 5일

this course was very interesting great material teacher and projects.

one issue i had in the course as well in the first one of the 5 courses series, is that some people don't rate my assignment according to the rules given by the teacher.

교육 기관: Lakkhana T

2018년 4월 14일

It was a good class, learn by studying from history and make me more understanding.

You can bring it and apply with your work or job. Also it's a good experience to share your opinion with your classmate. I hope everyone enjoy this class.

교육 기관: ilias b

2016년 4월 8일

I found this course very well organized and executed. There was clarity and focus in the lectures, and the exercises, should one apply themselves, proved a great space for putting things in practice, in a progressive and meaningful way.

교육 기관: Claudia U R

2019년 11월 17일

Great Introduction to the uses of typography in Graphic Design and how it can be applied. Valuable theoretical and practical content. I enjoyed a lot taking this course. Thank you so much for making this course available for all of us.

교육 기관: Laurel B

2018년 3월 14일

The instructor is interesting and thorough, and the assignments help to put our newly gained knowledge to use. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone who wants to learn more about typography and get a little practice in it!

교육 기관: Liubov S

2019년 12월 4일

This was a very interesting course. It gave me an understanding of how to approach typefaces and what I should consider. But most importantly it was a lot of fun to complete assignments and in the end I got a result I'm very fond of.

교육 기관: Lili C

2016년 4월 11일

I really enjoyed the historical background this course provided. Since finishing the course, I've started to develop a love for typography and it seems to pop into my mind more often when I read or see something visually stimulating.

교육 기관: Олександр С М

2018년 11월 7일

Thank you so much for such a great course! For valuable knowledge, great editing and fun activities. I will be definitely recommending this course to my friends who are also interested in Graphic Design. Wish you all the best! Alex.

교육 기관: Patricia A

2017년 1월 24일

This was a fantastic course in typography. I learned so much about "font". I never imagined all the work that goes into creating new typeface. I was impressed by the history, the process and the strong messages behind each typeface.