Chevron Left
Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments(으)로 돌아가기

듀크대학교의 Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
1,166개의 평가
313개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

How to Understand Arguments Think Again: How to Reason and Argue Reasoning is important. This series of four short courses will teach you how to do it well. You will learn simple but vital rules to follow in thinking about any topic at all and common and tempting mistakes to avoid in reasoning. We will discuss how to identify, analyze, and evaluate arguments by other people (including politicians, used car salesmen, and teachers) and how to construct arguments of your own in order to help you decide what to believe or what to do. These skills will be useful in dealing with whatever matters most to you. Courses at a Glance: All four courses in this series are offered through sessions which run every four weeks. We suggest sticking to the weekly schedule to the best of your ability. If for whatever reason you fall behind, feel free to re-enroll in the next session.We also suggest that you start each course close to the beginning of a month in order to increase the number of peers in the discussion forums who are working on the same material as you are. While each course can be taken independently, we suggest you take the four courses in order. Course 1 - Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments Course 2 - Think Again II: How to Reason Deductively Course 3 - Think Again III: How to Reason Inductively Course 4 - Think Again IV: How to Avoid Fallacies About This Course in the Series: When is someone giving an argument instead of just yelling? Which parts of what they say contribute to the argument? Why are they arguing instead of fighting? What are arguments made of? What forms do they take? Think Again: How to Understand Arguments will answer these questions a more. In this course, you will learn what an argument is. The definition of argument will enable students to identify when speakers are giving arguments and when they are not. Next, we will learn how to break an argument into its essential parts, how to put them in order to reveal their connections, and how to fill in gaps in an argument. By the end of this course, students will be better able to understand and appreciate arguments that they and other people present. Suggested Readings: Students who want more detailed explanations or additional exercises or who want to explore these topics in more depth should consult Understanding Arguments: An Introduction to Informal Logic, Ninth Edition, Concise, Chapters 1-5, by Walter Sinnott-Armstrong and Robert Fogelin. Course Format: Each week will be divided into multiple video segments that can be viewed separately or in groups. There will be short ungraded quizzes after each segment (to check comprehension) and a longer graded quiz at the end of the course....

최상위 리뷰

FY

Jul 06, 2018

I found this course very challenging as I find critical thinking very difficult. However this course was extremely rewarding and I will be taking the other three modules in the Think Again series.

RH

Feb 16, 2017

This is a very very engaging and applicable course, and is truly presented with 10/10 efficacy! I couldn't be more sincere and adamant in my recommendation, no matter who you are or what you do.

필터링 기준:

Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments의 305개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Charles C W

Apr 15, 2019

I've taken several online courses on logic and argumentation. This one stands out by virtue of the professor's enthusiasm and clarity of explanations. Worth every minute I've spent on it.

교육 기관: Mauri S G

Mar 31, 2019

I loved this course. The professor is fun and clear and intelligent; the course is complex enough to hold interest and applicable enough to every day life that it will always be useful to each and every person. I personally am a retired person living in "the sticks" of the south of France (Provence) with little access to university learning. I will forever be grateful to Coursera for bringing advanced learning into my living room!!! Thanks to Coursera and to Professor (Doctor) Walter Sinnott-Armstrong...

교육 기관: ling

Jan 20, 2019

Very good course and very humorous professor! Every day we are facing so many propaganda and misleading news from media, if you do not know how to draw valid and sound argument and make good reasoning, it will be easy for you to be misled. Taking this course helps you to distinguish good arguments from the bad ones, therefore, I strongly recommend everyone study this course if you want to be an independent and critical thinker!

교육 기관: dekel l

Aug 20, 2018

This course deals with being able to express yourself in an eloquent, coherent form. It will allow you to understand your claims and opinions about the world by rethinking about them using more constructive and logic way.

Excellent lectures. Lovely examples. Sharp and clear practice questions.

Recommended for everyone.

교육 기관: Joe A

Dec 03, 2018

This is a very hard course but also very rewarding. It's average Joe's antidote to chaos in a world of fake news.

교육 기관: Dr. R C

Dec 17, 2017

This has been an amazing intro to the field of arguments and logic. Highly recommend it. But be aware, it's gonna be addictive.

교육 기관: Ayman K

Dec 14, 2017

Think again of having this course simplified and delivered to students in their early years of education. Elementary school if possible. Doing so would have a positive effect of the future of humanity in avoiding conflicts as this course have the preliminary information for a critical and healthy mind

교육 기관: Ryan H

Feb 16, 2017

This is a very very engaging and applicable course, and is truly presented with 10/10 efficacy! I couldn't be more sincere and adamant in my recommendation, no matter who you are or what you do.

교육 기관: Fiona E Y

Jul 06, 2018

I found this course very challenging as I find critical thinking very difficult. However this course was extremely rewarding and I will be taking the other three modules in the Think Again series.

교육 기관: ola a

Dec 09, 2018

wonderfully presented, clearly explained and very interesting.

i just wish there was a panel/person i could ask questions while i was watching the video as there were some points i wished to clarify and the forum did not address these

교육 기관: Rayna R

Sep 27, 2018

This course was very informative! I would recommend doing the rest of the courses after you've finished this one, because this one is mostly philosophy and grammar of arguments.

교육 기관: Celso E L

Jan 04, 2019

Great ideas and excellent material presented, but, they tend to repeat themselves and extend the videos too much, making them tiring, I believe that, making it more to the point, would be appreciated by most of the students.

교육 기관: Elaine A H

Apr 27, 2019

Ack! I could not listen to these guys for more than 30 seconds without wanting to throw a cat out of a window. They might have something to say, but I will never hear it.

교육 기관: Lucia M

Nov 27, 2018

Great course to learn how to deconstruct arguments and check for soundness and validity.

교육 기관: swastik m

Feb 19, 2019

this is an exceptional course with a lot to learn.the professor makes it so easily understandable that it makes class more fun. the discussion questions increased the level of communication which in turn helps understanding all the perspectives.

교육 기관: Achal M

Feb 27, 2019

It is really appreciating to coursera for framing such a good course and very intellectually designed , you need to very attentive and analytical to understand and crack the

교육 기관: victoria

Mar 26, 2019

Great course! Highly recommend. I knew nothing about logic before this, and I found it understandable and enjoyable.

교육 기관: Nasir A

Mar 31, 2019

Very informative and learned many things from this course thanks for great improvement

교육 기관: Jesse M

Feb 09, 2019

Clear and concise, even though I realize I need not everything is completely clear, but this was my first course in forming arguments, so it stands to reason that I have a lot to learn. I enjoyed the way Dr. Armstrong taught the course. I will definitely take the remaining two courses. Thank you. - Jesse Mara

교육 기관: Lucas F d C M

Feb 09, 2019

The professor is very clear and objective. The lessons are well explored and the examples help a lot. The little quizzes after the lectures are good tool to measure your learning. The humor the professor brings helps to keep lectures fun. I thank you the professor, Duke University and Coursera for providing this course.

Sincerely,

Lucas.

교육 기관: Jung L

Feb 12, 2019

Excellent!

교육 기관: KENNEDY O

Jan 18, 2019

Superb

교육 기관: king

Apr 07, 2019

great

교육 기관: Tina

Apr 07, 2019

Very clear and profound! The profession is clever and funny, explaining the difficult definition in a very detailed and clear way. The only thing that bugs me is that the answer in the exam. It explains the right answer which is good, but it never explains why my answer is wrong.

교육 기관: Xinyi X

Apr 14, 2019

The teacher is really adorable and funny! However, I do hope every question can show the answer to why I am wrong.