Chevron Left
Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments(으)로 돌아가기

듀크대학교의 Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
1,271개의 평가
340개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

How to Understand Arguments Think Again: How to Reason and Argue Reasoning is important. This series of four short courses will teach you how to do it well. You will learn simple but vital rules to follow in thinking about any topic at all and common and tempting mistakes to avoid in reasoning. We will discuss how to identify, analyze, and evaluate arguments by other people (including politicians, used car salesmen, and teachers) and how to construct arguments of your own in order to help you decide what to believe or what to do. These skills will be useful in dealing with whatever matters most to you. Courses at a Glance: All four courses in this series are offered through sessions which run every four weeks. We suggest sticking to the weekly schedule to the best of your ability. If for whatever reason you fall behind, feel free to re-enroll in the next session.We also suggest that you start each course close to the beginning of a month in order to increase the number of peers in the discussion forums who are working on the same material as you are. While each course can be taken independently, we suggest you take the four courses in order. Course 1 - Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments Course 2 - Think Again II: How to Reason Deductively Course 3 - Think Again III: How to Reason Inductively Course 4 - Think Again IV: How to Avoid Fallacies About This Course in the Series: When is someone giving an argument instead of just yelling? Which parts of what they say contribute to the argument? Why are they arguing instead of fighting? What are arguments made of? What forms do they take? Think Again: How to Understand Arguments will answer these questions a more. In this course, you will learn what an argument is. The definition of argument will enable students to identify when speakers are giving arguments and when they are not. Next, we will learn how to break an argument into its essential parts, how to put them in order to reveal their connections, and how to fill in gaps in an argument. By the end of this course, students will be better able to understand and appreciate arguments that they and other people present. Suggested Readings: Students who want more detailed explanations or additional exercises or who want to explore these topics in more depth should consult Understanding Arguments: An Introduction to Informal Logic, Ninth Edition, Concise, Chapters 1-5, by Walter Sinnott-Armstrong and Robert Fogelin. Course Format: Each week will be divided into multiple video segments that can be viewed separately or in groups. There will be short ungraded quizzes after each segment (to check comprehension) and a longer graded quiz at the end of the course....

최상위 리뷰

FY

Jul 06, 2018

I found this course very challenging as I find critical thinking very difficult. However this course was extremely rewarding and I will be taking the other three modules in the Think Again series.

RH

Feb 16, 2017

This is a very very engaging and applicable course, and is truly presented with 10/10 efficacy! I couldn't be more sincere and adamant in my recommendation, no matter who you are or what you do.

필터링 기준:

Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments의 332개 리뷰 중 301~325

교육 기관: W

Aug 14, 2019

Some videos are a little bit long!

교육 기관: Jacob A V

Oct 17, 2019

Good

교육 기관: Samra I

Aug 27, 2019

this is the great course with simple understanding of an argument

교육 기관: Lion F P d S

Aug 18, 2017

This course is funny, and it is really good to introduce people on how arguments are made. It shows a lot of features that makes an anrgument, and also that makes an argument valid and sound (both terms described inside the course). And it teaches how to reconstruct and deep analyse arguments, so you can understand positions, and better argue about all of them. Also, it teaches the abuses of some terms in arguing, in the way you can spot them, and immediately can start to dismiss with knowledge foundations. Tis course is part of a set of courses that go deep inside more content, so what out if you want to go through all of them. The teacher is funny and it is kind stereotype, at the way he looks, to a mad scientist, besides the fact that he is a phylosofer. That also makes the course interesting.

교육 기관: George E

Feb 28, 2017

Very engaging lecturer for what could be a very dry subject.

In depth analysis and examples

교육 기관: sarayudth c

Sep 22, 2017

good course cheer

교육 기관: Bridgette F

Jul 15, 2019

The Instructor Is Fun,I Really Enjoyed The Entire Course Up Until The Awful FInal Quiz.I Have Not Encountered Another Final Test/Quiz Quite As Annoying As This One.

교육 기관: RAFAEL A M A

Feb 16, 2017

Percibí áreas de oportunidad en la claridad de algunos de los ejemplos que el expositor empleó a lo largo del curso. El caso que más crítico fue el de "Búfalo, Búfalo, Búfalo.... hasta llegar a 11 Búfalos..."

교육 기관: Karim H A M

Aug 27, 2017

Nice experience, it was my first time to do a course from COIRSERA and I like the format and technical delivery of the of the program. I would like to thanks our professors at Duke for consolidating this wonderful program.

교육 기관: Eduardo S

Aug 25, 2017

Great Experience! The professor is amazing! Congrats!

교육 기관: YOUSEF A Z E

Dec 11, 2019

This course is very useful for me, but actually it is very hard to understand all material especially the English is not my native language and must know the small different between the meaning of words and using its

교육 기관: NIRMAL K

Jan 18, 2019

g

교육 기관: Jiaojiao Z

May 27, 2019

very useful course to form a thinking formulate about arguments

교육 기관: Guillermo P

Aug 05, 2017

Very well explained every aspect of an argument with examples explained in great detail. Clearly lot of work has put into this and I thank everyone for it.

교육 기관: wai c c

Sep 24, 2016

I do enjoy the course through interaction with other participants and like to express my sincere gratitude to Coursera and Duke University.

교육 기관: Nargis l

Jul 28, 2017

It was interesting working through this course and though I had to repeat my assignments I understood that I need to enhance my skills in argumentation.

교육 기관: mahesh g

Nov 10, 2017

s

교육 기관: KatieD

Oct 24, 2017

Videos cut off before the end and would instantly start replaying from the beginning

교육 기관: Greg G

Aug 16, 2016

Dr. Sinnott-Armstrong does an amazingly thorough and detailed job, and the progression of the course is well planned and well executed.

I wanted to give the course a higher rating, but unfortunately, the good doctor's explanatory skills only served to confuse and frustrate me, the further I progressed through the course. Extemporaneous examples were unintentionally and unnecessarily muddled. There were numerous misspoken or confused terms that could easily have been re-recorded or edited. And the splicing between the old course and the new one is sometimes discontinuous (though, to be fair, they warn us about that at the beginning).

Nevertheless, I would still highly recommend the course to anyone looking for a thorough-going university-level course in critical thinking, and basic argumentation.

교육 기관: Nicole R

May 22, 2018

Somewhat outdated videos.

교육 기관: Charles E D

Feb 17, 2018

One of the questions I got wrong on the final quiz suggest all birds fly as a correct answer, wrong ALL BIRDS do not fly.

교육 기관: Dorothy H

Aug 17, 2016

Hoping that the next sections won't be so laborious and focussed on analyzing texts in detail. If you want to know how to do such things, then this would be a 5-star course for you.

교육 기관: Carl T

Nov 22, 2016

An excellent course for students that require, or want intricate detail on the subject. Not really designed for casual interest, more likely for the philosophy major. Presented very clearly and the discussions and material were interesting. Would have been four stars but the final quiz was excessively difficult.

교육 기관: Kseniia L

Mar 06, 2018

First part is quite intresting, but then lectures are too long and repetitive. I suppose previous course was much better.

교육 기관: Sophie P K

Jun 03, 2018

There was a lot of new information, I learned a lot. A bit too long for me, since I'm only 9 years old. I'm happy I accomplished it, though! The reason why I gave three stars is because the due dates on the quizzes did not show. It made me rush at the end.