Chevron Left
Understanding China, 1700-2000: A Data Analytic Approach, Part 1(으)로 돌아가기

홍콩과학기술대학의 Understanding China, 1700-2000: A Data Analytic Approach, Part 1 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
108개의 평가
28개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

The purpose of this course is to summarize new directions in Chinese history and social science produced by the creation and analysis of big historical datasets based on newly opened Chinese archival holdings, and to organize this knowledge in a framework that encourages learning about China in comparative perspective. Our course demonstrates how a new scholarship of discovery is redefining what is singular about modern China and modern Chinese history. Current understandings of human history and social theory are based largely on Western experience or on non-Western experience seen through a Western lens. This course offers alternative perspectives derived from Chinese experience over the last three centuries. We present specific case studies of this new scholarship of discovery divided into two stand-alone parts, which means that students can take any part without prior or subsequent attendance of the other part. Part 1 (this course) focuses on comparative inequality and opportunity and addresses two related questions ‘Who rises to the top?’ and ‘Who gets what?’. Part 2 (https://www.coursera.org/learn/understanding-china-history-part-2) turns to an arguably even more important question ‘Who are we?’ as seen through the framework of comparative population behavior - mortality, marriage, and reproduction – and their interaction with economic conditions and human values. We do so because mortality and reproduction are fundamental and universal, because they differ historically just as radically between China and the West as patterns of inequality and opportunity, and because these differences demonstrate the mutability of human behavior and values. Course Overview video: https://youtu.be/dzUPRyJ4ETk...

최상위 리뷰

AA
2017년 5월 24일

I loved the course. It gave me a totally different view of pre-revolution China. Even though I am not into\n\nquantitative data, I still learned from the conclusions and interpretations of the data.

RH
2020년 11월 11일

This course was very informative and engaging. The questions were a great way to check understanding. I can't wait for Part 2!

필터링 기준:

Understanding China, 1700-2000: A Data Analytic Approach, Part 1의 28개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Jun M

2021년 5월 17일

Typical teacher who might be knowledgeable but bad at explaining it to others.

교육 기관: Jialin B

2018년 5월 23일

Brilliant course. High quality information, comprehensive sources and interesting tests. Part 1 puts the revolution in a new perspective and connects imperial China with contemporary China. The course also throws a light on equality vs inequality globally and in China. The course is controversial in that it reflects duly and appropriately the complexity of Chinese social history and its development as opposed to the black-and-white view on China which still persists in the West. I also liked the very down-to-earth approach of Prof Lee.

교육 기관: JOHN Q

2017년 11월 20일

I enjoyed this course tremendously, and discovered that there was a vast amount of information that I needed to learn about this SuperPower. China is an amazing country with an enormous population and economy, a history of remarkable achievement, and yet still unknown in many ways. Thanks for putting this course together.

교육 기관: Phuong N

2020년 7월 25일

Assumptions or discourses of social diversity, wealth distribution/inequality were examined in a multi-faceted manner. Appropriate coverage of social theories as background for the discussions, which made it very interesting for a natural science student like me. Nice course! I'm very happy I took it.

교육 기관: C.S Y

2021년 6월 16일

I really enjoy all the topics hat I studied in this course, and I felt a little difficulty in analysing the graphs but overall in my opinion the faculties did their work relating to research efficiently and this course gives a lot of information about the social history of china.

교육 기관: Toni H

2020년 8월 8일

This is a very short but informative course comparing the wealth distribution between China and the United States / UK throughout times of history. It features history but also data analysis looking at education levels influenced social mobility in society. Eyeopening course.

교육 기관: Lucy X

2021년 6월 23일

Very interesting evidence-based approach in delivering insights on Chinese society and its development. As a native Chinese, I still learned a lot about the societal characteristics of my home country.

교육 기관: Asir A

2017년 5월 25일

I loved the course. It gave me a totally different view of pre-revolution China. Even though I am not into

quantitative data, I still learned from the conclusions and interpretations of the data.

교육 기관: Roxanne H

2020년 11월 12일

This course was very informative and engaging. The questions were a great way to check understanding. I can't wait for Part 2!

교육 기관: Bhoomi A

2020년 9월 18일

Very relevant and precise information, videos were also very engaging. I am definitely doing the second part of this course.

교육 기관: Matt M

2017년 10월 19일

Informative, relevant, and unique. The focus on recent discoveries unearthed through original research is refreshing.

교육 기관: Riga Q

2020년 4월 12일

A very in-depth introduction to Chinese society. This learning experience is very valuable. Thanks a lot.

교육 기관: Joy S

2018년 12월 29일

The truth about China. This is fact, by evidence, by statistics. Very good to know.

교육 기관: Sara T

2017년 10월 25일

Well presented material, new and surprising insights. Rewarding experience.

교육 기관: Marcos O

2020년 11월 1일

Excellent to know a little about this great nation, culture and philosophy

교육 기관: Sathyajith M 1

2020년 7월 14일

This is the best course on Chinese history I've attended..

교육 기관: Médéric D

2018년 1월 17일

Very interesting, I would recommend this course.

교육 기관: Nhat L

2017년 9월 26일

It is a very short and concise course.

교육 기관: Hoàng T

2021년 8월 29일

I'm so happy for join in this course

교육 기관: Keawalin S

2020년 7월 10일

totally useful! love it!

교육 기관: Yuda P A S

2021년 5월 28일

Good course

교육 기관: lichuangye

2017년 4월 4일

good

교육 기관: Yasmin C

2018년 7월 6일

A little bit slow at first, amazing for people who just want to have some contact with the history and culture of china!

교육 기관: Fabian F

2017년 7월 24일

I liked the data-driven, very analytic approach to understand Chines history better. Thank you for a great course.

교육 기관: ERIC N J V

2020년 8월 19일

The video lessons were kind of long