Chevron Left
Understanding Terrorism and the Terrorist Threat(으)로 돌아가기

메릴랜드 대학교 칼리지파크 캠퍼스의 Understanding Terrorism and the Terrorist Threat 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
229개의 평가
66개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

The National Consortium for the Study of Terrorism and Responses to Terrorism (START), a Department of Homeland Security Center of Excellence housed at the University of Maryland, offers a course looking at the who, what and how of Terrorism Studies, by introducing students to cutting-edge research from the social and behavioral sciences and the experts investigating these topics. The course will begin with a unit looking at widely held myths about terrorism and utilizing empirical data to discuss the realities of broad trends and patterns in terrorist attacks over time. The course will then review the psychological factors at play in individual radicalization and recruitment into terrorism, followed by an analysis of terrorist group dynamics. The course will next look at terrorist group operations, including their attacks and some of the supporting behaviors that allow them to carry out attacks, including use of media, financing, recruitment, and training. The course will conclude by looking at the factors that drive terrorist group persistence or endurance versus terrorist group desistance, and will bring the varied course concepts together through a detailed look at the case of Al-Qa’ida. Throughout the course, students will have the opportunity to study and work with the University of Maryland’s Global Terrorism Database (GTD), the largest database of terrorist incidents in the world, learning its capabilities and developing basic skills in searching and displaying terrorism data....

최상위 리뷰

JC

Oct 09, 2018

very dynamic, focused on factual accuracy versus popularized propaganda. the psychological models and structural organization are applicable and invaluable in many areas. well worth the time.

DB

Nov 15, 2018

Really enjoyed the course, signed up thinking I would learn much because I had studied terrorism before. I was wrong, they had some great analysis using the database the school founded.

필터링 기준:

Understanding Terrorism and the Terrorist Threat의 62개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Beka K

Jul 31, 2017

I would change nothing in this course. It’s very comprehensive and enlightening one. I have enriched and increased my supply of knowledge about terrorism. Presentation slides are perfect and I’m excited about high quality of interaction of existing professors. There are quizzes, which are not overwhelmingly complicated and also final peer-graded assignment about particular terrorist group. Thanks to University of Maryland for such a great adventure. Besides, there is no need of any previous knowledge and by this mean, I recommend this course to everyone generally interested in the issues of terrorism.

교육 기관: Ivan J

Oct 25, 2017

A very good course diving into the foundations to understand the threats out of terrorism and counter-terrorism aspcts. It is inter-disciplinary oriented and putting analysis in context to frameworks from psychology and sociology and considers in depth as well data collected from global terrorism databases. It was pivotal to a structured understanding of terrorism basics, the use of terrorist incidents data as well as in particular on getting view into the radicalisation process and dynamics of indidviduals, groups and organisation being involved in terrorism.

교육 기관: Paul

Jul 17, 2017

Excellent introduction to terrorism studies. The lectures were interesting and engaging, and the course materials were well-presented. The final assignment gave us the chance to apply many of the things we'd learned in the course. I'd highly recommend this!

(This was also my first MOOC - and I enjoyed the experience greatly. Looking forward to taking my next course...!)

교육 기관: Alfred W P I

Jun 20, 2017

This was an excellent course that gave me a broad view of the terrorism threat. At the same time, we examined many specifics particular to certain groups and and challenges faced when dealing with terrorism. I highly enjoyed the course and will continue my studies on this subject.

교육 기관: Melissa J H

Dec 16, 2016

I really enjoyed this course and learned a lot. Much of the knowledge I thought I had coming into the course was erroneous or skewed by the media. Highly recommend this course to anyone in the law enforcement field/homeland sec field, or who just wants to learn more on the subject!

교육 기관: Tofail A

Sep 28, 2019

Nowadays, "Understanding Terrorism and the Terrorist Threat" is a big challenge to the humankind. We have to know in concise way of extremism to prevent and protect it through the channel and respond in proper mechanisms. It's a correct time to learn and put in practice...

교육 기관: Sohail N K

Aug 11, 2017

An excellent course well designed to elucidate the chores of terrorism through an empirical perspective so as to base the countering endeavours on a logical edifice of practical and appropriate solution to eradicate this menace from the civilized world. Well done.

교육 기관: Joseph A J

Mar 28, 2017

I loved this course! I have taken a variety of other terrorism courses over the years and this is definitely one of the best courses I have ever been involved in. I will recommend this course to anyone seeking to expand their knowledge base!

교육 기관: James C

Oct 09, 2018

very dynamic, focused on factual accuracy versus popularized propaganda. the psychological models and structural organization are applicable and invaluable in many areas. well worth the time.

교육 기관: Dominic B

Nov 15, 2018

Really enjoyed the course, signed up thinking I would learn much because I had studied terrorism before. I was wrong, they had some great analysis using the database the school founded.

교육 기관: Alejandro A B

Nov 28, 2017

Es un curso que abre la mente a quienes nos interesa el tema, y particularmente a los que vivimos en paises que no controlan ni tienen en cuenta estos tópicos.

교육 기관: Diganta B

Jul 19, 2017

Well researched course documents and very nice video lectures, which really helped me to grab the understanding of complexities of terrorism. Thanks a lot..!!

교육 기관: Udo H

May 04, 2018

Definitely raises the understanding of Terrorism and the Terrorist Threat and puts a lot of bias and preconditions into the "right light". Worth attending!

교육 기관: Nev D

Apr 23, 2017

Great course. Thank you. The information was very comprehensive, and thorough, and very professionally presented. Very enjoyable and I learned a lot.

교육 기관: Katarina M

Jan 15, 2018

Very good course, I got a lot out of it. Recommended for its clarity, organisation, scope of issues that it covers and the way they are presented.

교육 기관: Jesse H

Mar 27, 2017

I enjoyed going through this course. The material was fascinating and the instructors provided great detail regarding the data and research.

교육 기관: Ivan M

Mar 08, 2019

Great course to build upon existing knowledge of terrorism, media and the impact of terrorism internationally. Highly recommend.

교육 기관: Neisha

Apr 13, 2019

I enjoyed the content and it's presentation. I feel like I gained a comprehensive understanding from this course.

교육 기관: Muhammad Y B S

Feb 26, 2017

A refreshing course that widens your opinion on Terrorism with information and datas to back up the research.

교육 기관: Aren F

Jun 20, 2017

It was an excellent course. A follow up course should be done with greater focus on organizational analysis.

교육 기관: Ivan A B C

Dec 03, 2018

excelente me entrego las herramientas necesarias para poder iniciar mi trabajo en el campo designado.

교육 기관: Livingstone N M

Dec 21, 2016

A very good course in the modern times where there is increased terrorism threat across the globe,,

교육 기관: Nabin C J

Oct 13, 2017

Very nice course and flow of materials. A good learning for Urban socio-political Disaster

교육 기관: BILU K

Feb 24, 2017

I love this course..thanks to coursera and professors for the course..wonderful

교육 기관: Ahmad T B M S

Jan 01, 2018

A good and comprehensive introduction course on understanding terrorism.