Chevron Left
Unethical Decision Making in Organizations(으)로 돌아가기

로잔대학교의 Unethical Decision Making in Organizations 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
236개의 평가
83개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course 'Unethical decision making in organizations : A seminar on the dark side of the force' will teach you how strong organizational contexts push good people towards unethical decisions. You will also learn how to protect yourself and your organization against such forces lurking in the dark. About the Course This course teaches how narrow frames and strong contexts can push good people towards unethical decisions and how they can protect themselves and their organization against ethical blindness. The goal of this course is to empower the participants to analyze the risks of unethical or illegal behavior that might be triggered by powerful contexts. It draws from various disciplines such as management, psychology, sociology, philosophy, and literature, in order to learn what these disciplines contribute to a better understanding of unethical behavior. The course also analyzes some of the most prominent organizational scandals of the recent decades through the lenses of these disciplines. Whenever we hear about ethical scandals, we tend to believe that unethical or illegal behaviour in organizations is driven by character deficiencies of individual actors. Put differently, we simply assume that bad things are done by bad people. However, numerous corporate scandals have demonstrated that even people with a high level of integrity can break the rules if they are put into a strong context. A better understanding of why and under what conditions good people make bad ethical decisions will enable us to better protect individuals as well as their respective organizations against the potentially overwhelming power of the context. It will also enable us to cure societies from problems like corruption. At the end of the course, you are able to: 1. Explain the impact of social context on individual decision making using various theories (from Management, Sociology, Psychology, and Philosophy) 2. Apply these theories to the analysis of some of the most eminent organizational scandals of the recent decades 3. Assess risks of ethical blindness in your own organizational context 4. Design interventions to reduce such risks for yourself and your organization Recommended Background No background expertise is required. The course is open for interested layperson as well as experts who work on related topics, be it as researchers or practitioners (e.g., compliance managers in corporations). Why is this course important for me? Currently, the understanding of why good people make unethical decisions is rather limited, related research is rather fragmented, and the management of such problems in organizations is overly simplistic, legalistic, and inadequate. Understanding contexts, including the dangers of routines, the mindlessness of our daily decisions, and the healing power of mindful decision-making routines is of increasing importance. In this course, you will learn the latest knowledge and the appropriate tool box for dealing with ethical challenges that you will face throughout your life! What do I need to follow this course? We build bridges between various scientific disciplines and will familiarize you with those disciplines smoothly. You need no expertise, just come and share your own real-world experiences about unethical decisions. After all, we are all experts in making decisions—some more ethically, some less ethically—aren’t we?...

최상위 리뷰

SP

Jul 30, 2017

i am faculty in an engineer college in vizag. I teach Professional ethics to the undergraduate student. Your course content is extremely useful. Thanks for provide great contents

PM

Jun 09, 2018

amazing ideas, lots of all the things mentioned happen at my job and I didn't notice that they are so connected, unethical decisions are a big chain

필터링 기준:

Unethical Decision Making in Organizations의 83개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: rajneesh r

Feb 18, 2017

well organised course.

교육 기관: Dietmar B

May 23, 2018

This course is the best I have attended on Coursera so far. Some of the content is quite surprising to learn, the whole course was fun the whole 7 weeks! Absolutely recommended!

교육 기관: Fernando A

Jan 09, 2017

Excellent content and methodology.

교육 기관: Лабуть Э А

Nov 17, 2017

This course made everyone sure that knowledge about unethical decision making must spread among all people, especially businessmen, student, governmentworkers etc. Good job, Lausanne University!

교육 기관: ARUN S N

Sep 19, 2016

Had a great time listening to the lecture videos. Very informative and insightful indeed! Thank you Coursera :)

교육 기관: Tai T Y

Jul 09, 2018

Straight-forward, practical and powerful introductory course on ethics in decision-making context.

교육 기관: Alexandre S

Mar 14, 2018

Awesome course! It really spreads out our minds and make us think about a variety of issues with an unique, different perspective. It's also very practical. I strongly recommend it! :)

교육 기관: Denise A

Jun 04, 2017

Everyone in the world who works which is almost everyone on earth unless you are born into wealth and you don't have to work....but everyone else should take this course and watch it over and over again because this is hugely important to making the world a better place. If I were a manager of a company I would do this course with all my company. We don't have enough of this. It talks very efficiently about unethical problems and it offers concrete solutions. One of the best courses I have taken so far in Coursera. THANK YOU!!

교육 기관: HARUN S

Dec 20, 2017

One of the best online courses that I see. Topic is well prepared and supported with many case studies. I really enjoyed this course and benefited.

교육 기관: Fichtberger O

Nov 08, 2016

I really apreciated this course. It was my first experience with coursera. I did a lot of peer review and saw that a lot of my "classmates" used a lot more than the 1000 allowed words. The texts of the videos should be in another format than just "*.txt" because thus they are quite hard to read... But beside this I learned a lot.

교육 기관: Назмутдинова Р Х

Jan 29, 2017

something new!

교육 기관: Manoj S

Aug 13, 2016

This is fantastic. It answered my long sought questions on why bad decisions are so rampant.

교육 기관: Peter B

May 24, 2017

Excellent course in both content and delivery. Clear explanations provided for what for many people is a new and unusual topic. Thanks!

교육 기관: Michalis O

Jun 22, 2017

Very good course. Had some flashbacks due to the fact that I studied Business Management but there were lots of aha! moments.

교육 기관: Guillaume B

Sep 23, 2016

I already participated in 2015 but was unable to complete the course (made around 25%) due to lack of time to follow the lessons. I remember having learned a lot and read interesting "stories/experiences" from other students in the course forums. Highly recommended.

교육 기관: Theodore K

Jan 08, 2018

Great course!

교육 기관: Timur v D

Jul 17, 2017

An excellent course, I will help me enormously in my future work.

교육 기관: Manoel S

Sep 21, 2017

Great topics, discussions. It made me rethink a lot of assumptions.

교육 기관: Gopi K V

Feb 16, 2017

very structured course from the foundation level.

thanks

교육 기관: SAUVIK K B

Jan 31, 2017

Amazing Course. Informative, Productive and Fulfilling.

교육 기관: Mannika S

Feb 11, 2017

Short, but informative course. Great for working professionals.

교육 기관: Louis B

Jan 06, 2017

A great addition and extension of other behavioral economics material on the same subject.

교육 기관: Paulo R V P

Sep 06, 2017

Excellent course on how to avoid to made unethical decisions in organizations.

교육 기관: Pau B O

Dec 02, 2016

Great course. The level of depth of the analysis on how and why good people behave unethically exceeded my expectations. A very interesting cocktail of psychology, ethics, behavioural economics and sociology. Recommended for everyone.

교육 기관: Paraskevi M

Jun 09, 2018

amazing ideas, lots of all the things mentioned happen at my job and I didn't notice that they are so connected, unethical decisions are a big chain