Chevron Left
Unethical Decision Making in Organizations(으)로 돌아가기

로잔대학교의 Unethical Decision Making in Organizations 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
229개의 평가
81개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course 'Unethical decision making in organizations : A seminar on the dark side of the force' will teach you how strong organizational contexts push good people towards unethical decisions. You will also learn how to protect yourself and your organization against such forces lurking in the dark. About the Course This course teaches how narrow frames and strong contexts can push good people towards unethical decisions and how they can protect themselves and their organization against ethical blindness. The goal of this course is to empower the participants to analyze the risks of unethical or illegal behavior that might be triggered by powerful contexts. It draws from various disciplines such as management, psychology, sociology, philosophy, and literature, in order to learn what these disciplines contribute to a better understanding of unethical behavior. The course also analyzes some of the most prominent organizational scandals of the recent decades through the lenses of these disciplines. Whenever we hear about ethical scandals, we tend to believe that unethical or illegal behaviour in organizations is driven by character deficiencies of individual actors. Put differently, we simply assume that bad things are done by bad people. However, numerous corporate scandals have demonstrated that even people with a high level of integrity can break the rules if they are put into a strong context. A better understanding of why and under what conditions good people make bad ethical decisions will enable us to better protect individuals as well as their respective organizations against the potentially overwhelming power of the context. It will also enable us to cure societies from problems like corruption. At the end of the course, you are able to: 1. Explain the impact of social context on individual decision making using various theories (from Management, Sociology, Psychology, and Philosophy) 2. Apply these theories to the analysis of some of the most eminent organizational scandals of the recent decades 3. Assess risks of ethical blindness in your own organizational context 4. Design interventions to reduce such risks for yourself and your organization Recommended Background No background expertise is required. The course is open for interested layperson as well as experts who work on related topics, be it as researchers or practitioners (e.g., compliance managers in corporations). Why is this course important for me? Currently, the understanding of why good people make unethical decisions is rather limited, related research is rather fragmented, and the management of such problems in organizations is overly simplistic, legalistic, and inadequate. Understanding contexts, including the dangers of routines, the mindlessness of our daily decisions, and the healing power of mindful decision-making routines is of increasing importance. In this course, you will learn the latest knowledge and the appropriate tool box for dealing with ethical challenges that you will face throughout your life! What do I need to follow this course? We build bridges between various scientific disciplines and will familiarize you with those disciplines smoothly. You need no expertise, just come and share your own real-world experiences about unethical decisions. After all, we are all experts in making decisions—some more ethically, some less ethically—aren’t we?...

최상위 리뷰

SP

Jul 30, 2017

i am faculty in an engineer college in vizag. I teach Professional ethics to the undergraduate student. Your course content is extremely useful. Thanks for provide great contents

PM

Jun 09, 2018

amazing ideas, lots of all the things mentioned happen at my job and I didn't notice that they are so connected, unethical decisions are a big chain

필터링 기준:

Unethical Decision Making in Organizations의 80개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Maira B

Jul 26, 2017

Excellent course!

교육 기관: Sue C

Mar 27, 2017

G

교육 기관: Rabia A S

May 25, 2018

n

교육 기관: John D B

Nov 15, 2017

Excellent course! Well researched and presented, with topics covering many real-world scenarios that help make the subject sensible.

교육 기관: Riana B

Nov 13, 2017

I really enjoyed this course. It was well prepared and well done!

교육 기관: Noaldo M D F

Jul 01, 2017

This course has given me a broader view of how to look at things in the irganisation and myself. I have had the chance to think about things that I normally would have the oportunity.

교육 기관: Madelene S

Dec 06, 2016

I've really learned a lot from this course, thank

교육 기관: David S

Jun 03, 2017

Excellent designed course with very comprehensive presentation of key issues of unethical behavior in corporate environment. Very good examples demonstrating a particular ethical issues and its consequences. The course helps to understand already known compliance instruments and what could be done for their improvement. For instance, it makes clear why tone on the top is important for building healthy corporate culture, which is often formally declared as an important element in companies, but very often its importance underestimated.

교육 기관: Oriol G i R

Mar 01, 2017

Great course, with interesting contents and new approaches to be used in our daily life. Understanding constellations is much beyond the standard "carrot and stick" policy, making organisations more stable.

Thanks Guido and Ulrich for your time and commitment to this course!!!!

교육 기관: Jason T

Jul 14, 2017

Excellent, so many good case studies and a consistent metaphor used throughout. This is how business ethics should be explained to management. Because it also provides supporting arguments for improving your ethics, may just, actually improve your business longevity. :)

교육 기관: SRINIVAS P

Jul 30, 2017

i am faculty in an engineer college in vizag. I teach Professional ethics to the undergraduate student. Your course content is extremely useful. Thanks for provide great contents

교육 기관: Eugene R

Nov 27, 2016

One of the best courses I've ever attended, so good that I'm taking it again

교육 기관: Alyshah

May 27, 2018

Great course! Could be done at any level of education. Very detailed & descriptive, with amazing theoretical as well as real life examples

교육 기관: Lev K

Apr 30, 2017

Unusual approach to compliance issues from ethical perspective with lots of case study and wonderful lectors

교육 기관: Daniel K

Nov 18, 2017

Great course. Very practical. Very clear explanations with lots of examples. The topic is also very important. Loved it!

교육 기관: Jhonny F A N

Jul 19, 2017

exelent the coursera is a good class, thanks for everyone

교육 기관: Luiz M

Mar 02, 2017

Excellent course, well-planned and carefully executed. Thanks!

교육 기관: Simone E G

Mar 04, 2017

Exceptional course! It should be offered universally to employers and employees all over the world, as well as university students!

교육 기관: rajneesh r

Feb 18, 2017

well organised course.

교육 기관: Dietmar B

May 23, 2018

This course is the best I have attended on Coursera so far. Some of the content is quite surprising to learn, the whole course was fun the whole 7 weeks! Absolutely recommended!

교육 기관: Fernando A

Jan 09, 2017

Excellent content and methodology.

교육 기관: Лабуть Э А

Nov 17, 2017

This course made everyone sure that knowledge about unethical decision making must spread among all people, especially businessmen, student, governmentworkers etc. Good job, Lausanne University!

교육 기관: ARUN S N

Sep 19, 2016

Had a great time listening to the lecture videos. Very informative and insightful indeed! Thank you Coursera :)

교육 기관: Tai T Y

Jul 09, 2018

Straight-forward, practical and powerful introductory course on ethics in decision-making context.

교육 기관: Alexandre S

Mar 14, 2018

Awesome course! It really spreads out our minds and make us think about a variety of issues with an unique, different perspective. It's also very practical. I strongly recommend it! :)