Chevron Left
Vector Calculus for Engineers(으)로 돌아가기

홍콩과학기술대학의 Vector Calculus for Engineers 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
1,199개의 평가
324개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course covers both the basic theory and applications of Vector Calculus. In the first week we learn about scalar and vector fields, in the second week about differentiating fields, in the third week about multidimensional integration and curvilinear coordinate systems. The fourth week covers line and surface integrals, and the fifth week covers the fundamental theorems of vector calculus, including the gradient theorem, the divergence theorem and Stokes’ theorem. These theorems are needed in core engineering subjects such as Electromagnetism and Fluid Mechanics. Instead of Vector Calculus, some universities might call this course Multivariable or Multivariate Calculus or Calculus 3. Two semesters of single variable calculus (differentiation and integration) are a prerequisite. The course contains 53 short lecture videos, with a few problems to solve following each lecture. And after each substantial topic, there is a short practice quiz. Solutions to the problems and practice quizzes can be found in instructor-provided lecture notes. There are a total of five weeks to the course, and at the end of each week there is an assessed quiz. Download the lecture notes: http://www.math.ust.hk/~machas/vector-calculus-for-engineers.pdf Watch the promotional video: https://youtu.be/qUseabHb6Vk...

최상위 리뷰

DK

2020년 5월 22일

i have completed Three courses of Professor Jeffrey. I'm so happy that i learnt a lot from him. Thanks to our professor Jeffrey and thanks to The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology.

BB

2021년 5월 14일

Professor Chasnov is a great instructor. I strongly recommend this course (and others from his). Thank you so much for making such great quality content available for everyone no matter where.

필터링 기준:

Vector Calculus for Engineers의 328개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: RLS

2020년 8월 2일

This is a very good course. It covers a lot of ground in a clear manner but it don't think they have allowed enough time for students to get fully familiar with something before the course moves on to the next topic. Each of the last two weeks should be expanded to two week each.

교육 기관: TJ L

2020년 3월 9일

Awesome course! I could have used more detail in the solutions given for some of the derivations at the end. This might just be because I haven't taken any physics yet. This course was a huge help in getting a handle on the divergence theorem, Green's theorem and Stokes' theorem!

교육 기관: Kazem A

2021년 4월 13일

Very good and well--organized course accompanied with concise and useful notes. It is just a bit too much to be completed in five weeks compared to many other Coursera courses. I would like to thank Professor Chasnov for the time and effort he has invested in this useful course.

교육 기관: Timur C

2020년 5월 27일

Lectures notes came very handy, a lot of good stuff there. Prof. Chasnov compresess information to the core essentials so i recommend using some complementory material as you pass his course. Overall great experience looking forward for his diff equations course!

교육 기관: Tadeo A

2020년 10월 21일

Este curso es una excelente fuente de información.

Los temas son variados y están muy bien enseñados, con una profundidad muy adecuada.

A pesar de que en ciertos momentos puede hacerce desafiante, es un gran curso para aprender sobre cálculo vectorial.

교육 기관: Robert B

2020년 12월 4일

This is a good course for the more practical students. It is well titled "for Engineers", but also provides a good basis for going on to other courses that might delve deeper into the more developmental and proof oriented vector calculus material.

교육 기관: SOUGAT P

2020년 11월 22일

I loved this course. Especially the application of vector calculus in fluid mechanics and electrodynamics and the physical meaning of divergence and curl were excellent. Thanks a lot, Prof Chasnov for this superb course. Forever indebted to you.

교육 기관: KEVIN A C M

2020년 8월 29일

It is a good course of vector calculus, but I think it is helpful mainly for students who have already taken this course before. Overall, I enjoyed this course. (Sorry if my writing has some mistakes, English is not my native language).

교육 기관: Weli R R

2020년 8월 11일

i really enjoyed the course as it was explained to my detailed understanding. i learned a lot from this course as a mathematics student. Thank you for this great lecture. my name is Rikenga Weli and i am a student of covenant univeristy.

교육 기관: Stephen M

2020년 8월 13일

Well presented; concise with examples; suitable for Physics undergrads in addition to Engineering students; the extensive PDF "book" with everything from the lectures + practice quizzes and worked answers makes an invaluable resource.

교육 기관: Alex W

2022년 5월 9일

A​nother excellent course with Dr. Chasnov. It's a difficult subject, but Dr. Chasnov did a great job of breaking it up into manageable segments, as well as making the connections between the material and engineering applications.

교육 기관: Holger W

2020년 7월 28일

Very good course, clear explanations, helpful examples and exercises and on top an excellent tutorial!

Trainer is very good in explaining these mathematical concepts. One of the best online courses I came across so far :-)

교육 기관: Valeria I C M

2021년 11월 27일

Un curso muy completo, recomentable para todos aquellos que estudian ingenieria, bien estructurado y retoma conocimientos primordiales de primeros cursos de calculo diferencial, integral, multivariable tambien

교육 기관: Luiz F S A d C

2021년 2월 13일

All the aplications and tools are so impressive, the Krocecker Delta and Levi-Civitta symbow change my way to calculate...the best methematic knowledge for engineers....a strong base for the future projects.

교육 기관: Vishwajeet V K

2020년 6월 16일

The content is excellent for a four week course. The technique of delivery is awesome. Learner doesn't lose interest at any point. It also gives insights about the application of the multi-variable calculus.

교육 기관: Ng T E

2020년 12월 2일

Very difficult course, but at least provides a better picture of what to really expect from Vector Calculus. The sections on Applications provide a better understanding of why Vector Calculus is important.

교육 기관: Kevin Y

2020년 11월 23일

The instructor was awesome with regards to his ability to clearly explain the content! He displayed a wonderful sense of humor. I have a much greater appreciation of vector calculus and its applications.

교육 기관: Dr.J.Uma

2020년 6월 1일

This course was very useful and In a very short duration this subject covers all important aspects. We could understand it very easily because of the clear and easy explanation from the expert instructor

교육 기관: MARTIN T C

2020년 11월 18일

According to what I have seen in this course, I feel satisfied and at the same time grateful since it was of great importance for my learning since I reinforced many topics and clarified some of my doubts

교육 기관: Prashant K

2021년 7월 20일

Great abstraction, loved the course -- keeping pouring in your knowledge Professor. And tie in Vector calculus with vector spaces, would be awesome. Waiting for some reply on the last part.

Thank You!!!

교육 기관: David S M B

2021년 8월 30일

Es un curso muy bueno para afianzar la materia de calculo en varias variables, no es complicado y no tiene un nivel muy alto pero es útil para repasar la teoría y ver algunas aplicaciones útiles.

교육 기관: Dr. A K

2020년 5월 23일

i have completed Three courses of Professor Jeffrey. I'm so happy that i learnt a lot from him. Thanks to our professor Jeffrey and thanks to The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology.

교육 기관: Ben P

2021년 5월 15일

Professor Chasnov is a great instructor. I strongly recommend this course (and others from his). Thank you so much for making such great quality content available for everyone no matter where.

교육 기관: Nguyen D L

2021년 12월 5일

Great overview of Vector Calculus, I have confidence to tutor my son on this subject now. It's been many decades since I first learn the subject. Prof Chasnov made the class very clear.

교육 기관: Hayyim D R R

2020년 9월 27일

This course help me to understand a lot of problems on three dimensions, I'm from Mexico, and I study Computer Engineering, I will recommend this course to my classmates and friends.