Chevron Left
Vector Calculus for Engineers(으)로 돌아가기

홍콩과학기술대학의 Vector Calculus for Engineers 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
1,207개의 평가

강좌 소개

This course covers both the basic theory and applications of Vector Calculus. In the first week we learn about scalar and vector fields, in the second week about differentiating fields, in the third week about multidimensional integration and curvilinear coordinate systems. The fourth week covers line and surface integrals, and the fifth week covers the fundamental theorems of vector calculus, including the gradient theorem, the divergence theorem and Stokes’ theorem. These theorems are needed in core engineering subjects such as Electromagnetism and Fluid Mechanics. Instead of Vector Calculus, some universities might call this course Multivariable or Multivariate Calculus or Calculus 3. Two semesters of single variable calculus (differentiation and integration) are a prerequisite. The course contains 53 short lecture videos, with a few problems to solve following each lecture. And after each substantial topic, there is a short practice quiz. Solutions to the problems and practice quizzes can be found in instructor-provided lecture notes. There are a total of five weeks to the course, and at the end of each week there is an assessed quiz. Download the lecture notes: http://www.math.ust.hk/~machas/vector-calculus-for-engineers.pdf Watch the promotional video: https://youtu.be/qUseabHb6Vk...

최상위 리뷰

DK

2020년 5월 22일

i have completed Three courses of Professor Jeffrey. I'm so happy that i learnt a lot from him. Thanks to our professor Jeffrey and thanks to The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology.

BB

2021년 5월 14일

Professor Chasnov is a great instructor. I strongly recommend this course (and others from his). Thank you so much for making such great quality content available for everyone no matter where.

필터링 기준:

Vector Calculus for Engineers의 330개 리뷰 중 276~300

교육 기관: Pablo L

2020년 6월 8일

I took the course as complementary material to my vector calculus class, since I felt many things were skipped and not talked about in my class. I enjoyed that the course encourages you to do derivations and practice by yourself, however, I felt certain problems should have been talked about in the lectures.Vector calculus is a course that deserves more than 4 weeks, however I can understand the time requirements. So overall, the course is good but you will need other resources to fully understand some problems and derivations. For someone like me who was never introduced to Kronecker Delta, Levi Cevita and many many derivations, this was a rewarding but challenging course.

교육 기관: Sarah K

2020년 8월 20일

All in all well-run class. Videos were for the most part clear and well-diagrammed, and organized in a way that made sense. Got a good sense of the basics of vector calculus, since we used divergence/curl etc in problems repeatedly after we learned them.

Several sections relied on outside knowledge - for example, the applications to electric/magnetic fields, particularly in the fourth week, was really hard to understand for someone with only a Calc 2 background.

교육 기관: Peter B

2020년 8월 16일

This class was a very interesting class, but that may be due more to the fact that I am very interested in math than to anything the instructor did. However, I would have appreciated if this class went into more depth about the more abstract, mathematical side of vector calculus, instead of being so laser-focused on practical applications.

교육 기관: Andrew D

2020년 6월 16일

A difficult course, especially week 3. Two lectures - 24 minutes - on line and surface integrals over vector fields is just not long enough - needs more intuition. I can recommend Clark Brays multivariable calculus book for the intuition. Still not sure how I scraped a pass - worth doing though and thoroughly enjoyed as always.

교육 기관: Saman M

2020년 7월 9일

Lectures and accompanying pdf notes are clear, but proofs are sketchy. More worked examples would be helpful (perhaps in the accompanying pdf with solutions). Requires a solid background in linear algebra and calculus. Worth taking, particularly if you want to review this material.

교육 기관: Idorenyin U I

2020년 7월 14일

The beginning was easy and seemed that the rest of the course would be easy, but as you keep on, it gets tougher and harder and only the tough can keep going untill you get to a point where it becomes easy once more to you.

교육 기관: Jose R F

2020년 4월 22일

Some additional time for some concepts would be needed, but in general, a really interesting course. Learnt some new "things" that I hardly knew from my old studies. Congratulations to you too for the course.

교육 기관: Usman E G

2020년 8월 4일

It was a hard course for me, I don't think the math I did in high school was foundational enough for me to understand this course. I suggest doing some fundamental math courses before attempting this course.

교육 기관: Hayford A A

2020년 7월 11일

The quizzes and the practice quizzes were a bit challenging. I feel like the videos need more explanations that can help understand some problems in the quizzes. But in all I felt challenged to learn more.

교육 기관: Kodi O

2020년 7월 18일

It was great, the professor did a great job in explanation, but at the same time, he didn't explain further with examples for some topics which made it really challenging for me to understand.

교육 기관: Jose M B D

2021년 4월 10일

It was exciting and challenging more than anything when you already saw something at school then you reinforce it or learn something new, you even put into practice what you know

교육 기관: simon w

2021년 3월 1일

excellent videos; good problems; unusual to get a series of high quality notes to download. I found the final section demanding and I will need to review this section.

교육 기관: Abir M

2020년 7월 25일

Very good course with difficult problems. Very good instructor. Needs to provide a bit more geometric intuition to the sections involving vector integral calculus.

교육 기관: Jose R H P

2020년 4월 13일

prof. Chasnov explains really goodand all the topics are presented in a well structured way. I wouldn't recommend this course for learn vector calculus from zero

교육 기관: Srivatsan R

2020년 5월 4일

Great course all around. Just one suggestion would be to solve at least 1 example of each type of theorem if possible as it makes problem solving much easier.

교육 기관: Anyiam O O

2020년 7월 9일

It was a very educating course on various theorems, proof of laws, various subtopics on integration and differentiation. I would highly recommend the course.

교육 기관: Peter B

2020년 3월 9일

A well thought out and organized course. A great tool to refresh or learn vector calculus and more importantly it's uses in engineering fields.

교육 기관: Alejandro M

2020년 7월 15일

A short and very complete course of vector calculus, it takes the most important thing to be seen in almost a month.

교육 기관: KARTHIK

2020년 7월 16일

It was challenging to study vector calculus for futher complicated engineering. Made very useful for furthur.

교육 기관: Mohammad Y A

2021년 8월 2일

The course was nice. However, the pace was sometimes faster than appropriate and other slower.

교육 기관: Jeremiah Z W

2020년 10월 4일

Given the imposed time constraint, it is a well taught course on multivariable calculus.

교육 기관: Jayadeep U B

2020년 11월 12일

Contents of fourth week can be expanded into two weeks and covered in more detail.

교육 기관: DUNNA V

2020년 7월 18일

It 's sufficient for easily understand vector calculus and well explained.

교육 기관: Veethika G

2020년 5월 6일

It's a very interesting and fun course you'll understand things easily.

교육 기관: Fabiola A M

2021년 9월 7일

Si me sirvió mucho para mis cursos de mi carrera muy recomendable