Chevron Left
World Design for Video Games(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 예술대학의 World Design for Video Games 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.4
548개의 평가
140개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Start creating your world. A game world is not just a backdrop for your game—be it minimal or detailed, contained or part of a much bigger universe, it provides the context for your player. Ultimately, a game world should feel alive and wholly unique to any player who will experience it. In this course, we will explore game worlds in existing games and study the art and influences that inform their themes and styles. We will also investigate key components of environment and level design as well as strategies designers use to define gameplay or advance it. We’ll also look at navigation and the elements that make your world as real (or unreal) as you want it to be. A weekly challenge will prompt you to explore styles and inspirations for possible game worlds, and you’ll learn effective ways to communicate your ideas from concepts to presentation-worthy proofs of concept....

최상위 리뷰

SA

Sep 21, 2019

i really loved this course. it inspired me to be more innovative and think out of the box. it changed my mindset a lot. so thanks to my instructor and my peers. your words meant a lot to me.

TT

Feb 07, 2018

The videos are nice and clear, and I love seeing examples for the homework, it really helped. I also loved reviewing my peers and having them review me, they had awesome ideas!

필터링 기준:

World Design for Video Games의 132개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Gianmarco D

Nov 01, 2017

The assignments are ok and the material too, the fact is the course is basically dead, as I have no possibility to let others review my work (reviewed 6 people during week 2 and got nobody reviewing my work, misteriously, even though I submitted three days before the due time). This is a serious problem as paying learners (as I am) risk having to switch session and to pay more, with their learning plans destroyed. Also, there is no moderator, no instructor, no staff member, I'm the only one surfing the forums, and the course content is a pack of advices without a structured form and solidity. Hope Coursera and CalArts staff do something to rekindle this course as it could be really awesome.

교육 기관: Carlo S C

Oct 12, 2016

A very poor course. The teacher just ask questions in order to stimulate students, but doesn't teach anything. Incorrect terminology (Ah-ah? Please, study Aaron Allston works before inventing other words).

Test are cool.

교육 기관: Ran C

Jan 23, 2019

I'm not a effective learner so I can't get much from it, but I certainly learn some rules for building world, I would review these contents some days, thank you so much for your teaching!

교육 기관: Rodrigo G d C

Mar 10, 2016

Great Course, highly recommended, great explanations and nice ideas to help you think diffently about level and world design, concise and clear and has creative exercises. Loved it.

교육 기관: Umair R

Aug 08, 2016

I m loving it

교육 기관: José D A

Jan 27, 2016

I learned a lot in this course, it was very helpful. World design is key to defining your game.

교육 기관: Jessica W

Dec 15, 2016

Definitely a challenging course but I enjoyed it very much and learned a lot!

교육 기관: Rodrigo E

May 26, 2016

it's Fun and worth the time

교육 기관: Tata D

Feb 08, 2016

Good course, but there are not much useful information. It's more analytic

교육 기관: Khendy R M A

Apr 05, 2016

I like the course

교육 기관: Brit T

Nov 17, 2016

This is an excellent way to learn the steps of approaching BG design. I entered this course not having the slightest clue of how to start research, and now I feel I have a much better grasp on it thanks to this course. I think my favorite assignment was looking up all the reference photos (project 2?) and explaining what they meant to our game and how they fit in not just with the game mission but related to our characters too. I would like to take another class, focusing on drawing/creating the backgrounds now.

교육 기관: Sergey K

Jan 18, 2016

Interesting and easily understandable! Thank you!

교육 기관: Dolapo A

Oct 16, 2017

This was a fun class. It was really helpful and covered all aspects of game worlds from the appearance to the inhabitants. Theo raised points I'd never thought about which was really helpful. I recommend you give it a shot.

교육 기관: Jaime A

Aug 26, 2016

Gives you a lot to think about and ideas to Build! Build! Build!

교육 기관: Álvaro B F

Aug 30, 2016

A totally great course that makes clear the concepts we should be careful with when developing video games.

교육 기관: Licinio S

Mar 19, 2018

great!

교육 기관: Mufizul I

Jan 29, 2017

Great courses

교육 기관: David T

Nov 01, 2016

Muy buen curso :)

교육 기관: Nadya S

Dec 18, 2016

Before enrolling this course, I expected to obtain some technical skills for creating game environments by different software products, etc. I was surprised: this course teaches the future professionals to THINK ! One can't produce anything without know what he would make. This course will give you clear direction of your ideas about YOUR GAME environement. Like in the drawing: you should know what you would draw. Having the "color palette" is nothing without structuring in your mind your ideas, planning what you would do. Similarly is in my profession - architecture - there are some already graduated students who can only to draft what somebody else tells them to draft. This course will teach you how to create.

교육 기관: Alisson P G d S

Jun 16, 2017

Too Much!!

Very, very good.

교육 기관: Deidre G

Feb 07, 2016

Really great course which got me thinking about the game environment a whole lot more than I have ever considered the large impact it has on the successful ability to engage the player and successfully submerge them in the game world. I highly recommend this course to anyone wanting to obtain an insight into games.

교육 기관: Angelo B

Feb 02, 2016

A very good experience, but if it could've helped me to find a job it would have been even better.

교육 기관: Alejandro M G M

Oct 31, 2017

Beautiful. : 3 Really enjoyed it

교육 기관: Antonio B M

Dec 24, 2015

Great course

교육 기관: Barnabás N

Feb 25, 2016

Pretty great course for a total beginner!