학생용
Chevron Left
Understanding Violence(으)로 돌아가기

에모리대학교의 Understanding Violence 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
190개의 평가
52개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

We are so pleased to have you join us as we investigate this crucial topic. Violence is a leading cause of death, disability and health care use worldwide. Violence is a complex problem and can only be understood and reduced though a multidisciplinary approach. This course introduces you to experts who study different forms of violence and we will discuss the various causes of violence. You will also learn about efforts to reduce violence and engage in a day of compassion. We are very fortunate that PRESIDENT JIMMY CARTER is participating in our course. He delivers a lecture on the efforts of the Carter Center to end violence around the world, and he engages in a discussion with us about his life and work in human rights. Do join us for short videos, readings and discussions. And also see our coffee chats, where we (Pamela and Deb) summarize and reflect on each module. And we want to hear from you! Feel free to reach out via Twitter or through the course, or through our Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/groups/understandingviolence01/....

최상위 리뷰

CB
2020년 2월 27일

This course is really helping me to understand what is violence and the different types of violence. It is inline with the research I am presently undertaking.

SP
2018년 4월 8일

Very much informative.. this course may help in understanding complex behavior n could help in various aspect relating violence.

필터링 기준:

Understanding Violence의 52개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Simona M

2019년 2월 5일

The title of the course is misleading, focusing almost exclusively on GBV, gang violence and shooting incidents in the US and leaving out other important forms of violence, like war, terrorism and some general historical, statistical and global dynamics. Gang violence or shooting incidents are relevant in the US, but not in most other countries. While gender based violence is incredibly important, it is not the only type of violence and in this case the focus should be added in the title of the course. The title promises a global perspective on dynamics of violence, but the course adopts almost exclusively a public health approach, which is by far not sufficient for discussing such a broad phenomenon as is violence.

교육 기관: Ashlee M (

2017년 9월 20일

Very informative and interesting. Learned some great new concepts and how different types of violence impact others.

교육 기관: Chris Z

2016년 6월 24일

This course provides a very broad understanding of violence prevalent in the United States and globally. Statistics and critical self-reflection points are provided throughout the course. If you're looking for a course to challenge your views of violence or, simply, to enhance your knowledge of the subject matter, this course is for you.

교육 기관: Ahmer J K

2017년 5월 1일

Excellent course! Great opportunity to express yourself with a video in the final peer reviewed assignment!

교육 기관: Issa H

2020년 3월 30일

I think the course offers very interesting approaches to understanding violence. However, sometimes I felt that it was too carried towards the health approach which surely many people will find interesting and necessary for their fields of study. However, working on social sciences myself, I hoped for a more balanced approach. Nevertheless, the course gave me important insight on such a complicated topic, and I really enjoyed it.

교육 기관: Ignacio R R

2019년 6월 16일

Good, but the people who manage the course don't pay attention to the review of the works. This involves that some reviews from other student can take several months to be done. This is unacceptable.

교육 기관: RBUlrich

2016년 9월 4일

Interesting for US-Americans or people who are interested in US-American Epidemiologics. Very US-centered

교육 기관: Kimble P

2017년 6월 5일

I have trained and work in the branch of violence and its survivors. This is the first Coursera course I have taken and have been totally satisfied with both the presentation and the material. I did not do the paid version so I cannot comment on the peer review process. I hope the material will be updated with the new situation of a USA president disenfranchising many projects and fomenting much fear from the White House. I have already shared a few of the videos with colleagues and friends, which hopefully will make them curious enough to start. I appreciated the layout of the course and was happy that it ended on a positive note of inroads being made. I am particularly happy to know about "Men Stopping Violence" group. Emory University really looks like a forward thinking institution.

교육 기관: Chris E D

2017년 5월 28일

I REALLY enjoyed this course. It contained a vast amount of information on a variety of topics. It was wonderful to have so many different speakers presenting information. The objectives and requirements were clear and reasonable. It would have been nice to have an alternate to completing a peer review for someone who was significantly ahead of schedule, but I understand the value of peer reviews and why they would be particularly beneficial to the learning goals of this course.

교육 기관: Alican B

2017년 9월 8일

A brilliant beneficial course covering different aspects of violence and methods of both prevention and also possible ways to deal with after effects of violence. If you are interested in unsolved parts of human violence and why it emerges pervasively then you should take this course to gain enlightening perspectives about that topic. No matter what you do and what you study, this course is available for anyone who wants to know more about violence to the core. Good luck!

교육 기관: ChP P

2020년 10월 11일

This was one of the best courses taken to address real world issues. I have numerous degrees, but this certification zeroes in on what matters relating to violence on a global scale. I especially enjoyed the mission of President Jimmy Carter and his passion for violence against women. Thank you, Emory for believing in the importance of this delicate subject.

교육 기관: SEJALSRI M

2020년 8월 29일

I loved this course, perfectly encapsulates the nuances of violence, specially the less known about nuances of violence! The professors who took up modules were specialists so there was information-specific credence to everything that was being said here! I recommend this course for all those who want broad perspectives on society and its socializations!

교육 기관: Paco M

2017년 4월 3일

The course is very thorough. It covers so many different fields and gives you a good idea at how broad violence is. It's approach is different and effective. The course is something I'd highly recommend especially if you are someone who's profession deals with violence in some shape or form.

교육 기관: MELIKE Y

2020년 6월 25일

It is a great course. Focusing on different topics every week gives an overall understanding of "violence". I really enjoyed especially the videos where professors explain the topics very well. I definitely recommended it.

교육 기관: Osama I E

2020년 9월 11일

One of the most beautiful courses to date, good and very useful training. Through these courses, a lot about violence, and I became an understanding of violence, and I became a loser in facing violence.

thank you

교육 기관: Eleazar B J

2017년 8월 20일

This is a very interesting course that allow us not only to understand the roots of violence, but also some situations and conditions violence occurs in other regions and within other cultures around the world.

교육 기관: Shampa I

2019년 2월 12일

This course is truly meant for me. I did enjoy every lesson I got here. All videos,lessons and assignments are so thoughtful . I am grateful for offering such dynamic that is helpful for future pursuit, too.

교육 기관: Miguel A P S

2020년 11월 17일

Curso muy interesante que te brinda una perspectiva muy amplia del origen y las consecuencias de la violencia, permite reflexionar y sensibiliza sobre el tema.

교육 기관: Candido B

2020년 2월 27일

This course is really helping me to understand what is violence and the different types of violence. It is inline with the research I am presently undertaking.

교육 기관: Полецкая С

2020년 8월 14일

This is the best course I've ever had on Coursera! Engaging, important, meaningful, useful. I would definitely repeat it again some time.

교육 기관: TOGBOSSI M K

2017년 5월 30일

Parfait cours bien creusé, bien détaillé et bien dispensé par des Prof chevronnés! Tous les aspects y sont abordés. Chapeau tiré!

교육 기관: Shobhraj S P

2018년 4월 9일

Very much informative.. this course may help in understanding complex behavior n could help in various aspect relating violence.

교육 기관: Ana K E B

2020년 6월 17일

Excellent course to understand roots of violence and to implement prevention programs according to the type of violence.

교육 기관: Karin C

2018년 2월 17일

This course gave me the tools for a better understanding of violence. Thank you for this opportunity!

교육 기관: Swany P R

2020년 8월 7일

Disfruté la perspectiva del curso, disfrute el impacto y los ejes de trabajo.