Chevron Left
Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan(으)로 돌아가기

도쿄 대학의 Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
633개의 평가
199개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

In their ambition to capture “real life,” Japanese painters, poets, novelists and photographers of the nineteenth century collaborated in ways seldom explored by their European contemporaries. This course offers learners the chance to encounter and appreciate behavior, moral standards and some of the material conditions surrounding Japanese artists in the nineteenth century, in order to renew our assumptions about what artistic “realism” is and what it meant. Learners will walk away with a clear understanding of how society and the individual were conceived of and represented in early modern Japan. Unlike contemporary western art forms, which acknowledge their common debt as “sister arts” but remain divided by genre and discourse, Japanese visual and literary culture tended to combine, producing literary texts inspired by visual images, and visual images which would then be inscribed with poems and prose. Noticing and being able to interpret this indivisibility of visual/literary cultures is essential in understanding the social and psychological values embedded within the beauty of Japanese art....

최상위 리뷰

DP

2020년 10월 8일

Very interesting where I finished the whole course 2 weeks before the due date because I really enjoyed it. I have been a Japan fanatic since middle school so this course is really my cup of tea

YM

2020년 11월 30일

It was really fun to learn about the history of such art pieces as well as the notable people behind its creation and influence. Mr. Campbell discussed everything clearly as expected.

필터링 기준:

Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan의 200개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: catherine c w

2020년 11월 1일

What a wonderful class! For what I am sure is an extensive amount of information, it was well organized and flowed very well. Something I knew nothing about; Japanese history and photography. I feel I at least have a glimpse into this culture. Thank you so much for creating this class. It has given me ideas for my photography.

교육 기관: Crystal D

2020년 10월 24일

An informative and interesting course on the Artistic culture of 19th century japan, that gives a nice introduction to the art of this time, while showing a deep appreciation of the artists of this time. Robert Campbell clearly has a strong understanding of the written and visual art of this time and it show in this course.

교육 기관: Kevin G M B

2021년 9월 16일

Excellent course! Dr. Campbell's masterful modules give an insightful glimpse of the conjunction between Japanese Art and literature. As an art historian by training, this was a refreshing course, and it also gave a wonderful explanation of the Japanese artistic scene as it transitioned from the 19th century into the 20th.

교육 기관: Leah A M C

2020년 10월 26일

The learning was fun.I enjoyed the lectures and finally I found out the root of Haiku and Tanka which had been clear to me now. In the Philippines we also adore the Japanese poetry writing and this course opened up my mind about more interesting pieces! Thank you Prof. Campbell, University of Tokyo and the Coursera Team!

교육 기관: Ksenia D

2019년 10월 10일

As a student of Japanese studies, I am really happy to learn something more about unique facts of Japanese art history. This course also made me familiar with interesting personalities in Japan between Tokugawa and Meiji period. Thank you so much for such an amazing time spending! I advice everyone to enjoy this course.

교육 기관: akiko k

2017년 10월 12일

For the first time since I graduated from high school, I received a lecture on literature. It was very interesting.In a different way from high school literature classes, the lecture given a wealth of materials was exciting for me.

I would like to receive again if the second Campbell lecture is held.

교육 기관: Antonios Z

2017년 11월 16일

An excellent course, you can learn a lot about Japanese history and culture from a unique perspective. I'd recommend it to anyone interested in Japan, its art history and culture, and its connection with the Western world. Satisfactory for both beginners and people with experience on the subject.

교육 기관: Denis H I

2021년 3월 4일

Very interesting and enlightening course. I had studied bits of Japanese literature and history, and being able to connect my previous knowledge with Professor Campbell's course was fascinating. Prior knowledge might help, but it is definitely not necessary. I am looking forward to more.

교육 기관: Jessica R

2018년 4월 3일

I loved this course - Robert Campbell is expert at conveying not only the knowledge of the material but also his passion for it. I would highly recommend this course to anyone interested in Japanese culture and art. It has certainly enriched my own understanding and appreciation.

교육 기관: Caterina Y P

2020년 6월 23일

I learned a lot about the relationship between words and images in "long" nineteenth-century art and literary culture. The course inspired me to learn more about such images at my local museums and to read some of the novels mentioned in the course that are available in English.

교육 기관: Elena G

2020년 6월 9일

This course is a gem ! I The lecturer is charismatic in the sense of providing a lot of knowledge and information about Japanesese art and litterature , in a way which is easy to 'digest'' ! I am so looking forward for a second - advanced course on this topic , if possible.

교육 기관: peter c

2020년 8월 15일

I really enjoyed this Course and learnt a lot from it, there isn't much in the way of Japanese related courses and this does well to impart knowlage to the viewer of aspects of Japanese culture that I would say are not made clear from a basic understanding of the culture.

교육 기관: radovan m

2019년 3월 5일

This course, presented by a very charismatic lecturer, opened a whole new literary world for me and provided me with a lot of inspiration for my photographic work. I went through all four modules in two weeks and ended up with more curiosity about the subject :)

교육 기관: Hildebrando C

2020년 6월 30일

Un excelente curso que abre el panorama hacia un nuevo enfoque de cómo observar el arte japonés de manera ambivalente: no solo la literatura, sino las artes gráficas y las fotografías de principios del siglo XX. Ojalá hubieran más cátedras dictadas por el Dr.!

교육 기관: Loreta M

2020년 10월 15일

Thank you very much for the course, I loved every single lecture, I learned the way to understand the way of creating text and art and importance of the set of those. Thank you very much and I am looking forward to visit back many Japanese museums again soon.

교육 기관: Yumi S

2017년 10월 21일

I'm a lot of fun of Sir Robert Campbell. At the beginning of the course, it was tough for me to understand the each content. But the each quiz was interesting. I had a really good time with listening to his lecture and reading the transcription. Thank you.

교육 기관: theodore k

2017년 12월 3일

This course was excellent. Robert Campbell was remarkable-a terrific lecturer and generous in sharing so much of his private collection of images. I am grateful to Coursera and to Prof. Campbell for the opportunity to have taken his outstanding course.

교육 기관: Ricardo L

2020년 8월 24일

Amazing overview and analysis of a beautiful creative period in Japan, which also constitutes an insight into a very moral and socially coded society, told with erudition and passion for the subject by professor Campbell in a very calm and clear tone.

교육 기관: Coşkun D M

2021년 11월 2일

Words Spun Out of Images: Visual And Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan, this course also with my classes made me understand a lot about Japanese Culture and History, and I could actually create a great subject in classes to talk about.

교육 기관: Shantilly R

2017년 10월 12일

This course was extremely valuable to me as someone who is extremely interested in both the art and history of Japan. It was compact (4 weeks) but filled with poignant information and a great basis upon which you can continue to learn more from.

교육 기관: Nancy

2019년 10월 31일

Really excellent course. Helped me further my understanding of the Japanese culture and how it reflects, as does any culture, the historical context of the country within it's borders as well as to the rest of the world. Thank you Dr. Campbell.

교육 기관: Djahane Z

2021년 1월 28일

Wonderful course! The modules were very well structured, it was well-paced and I learned a lot! I definitely recommend this course, it offers new perspectives and delves into subjects I knew very little about, so every lesson was interesting.

교육 기관: Ebba J

2017년 12월 5일

The course was an interesting introduction to the combining of images with writing - that's why I took it. For reading and learning the content better, "cleaned up" transcripts and paragraphs would be of great help. Thanks for the course!

교육 기관: Leon B

2020년 6월 13일

This course gives me a new knowledge especially in art culture in Japanese, this course is great for someone who interested in Japanese culture in Nineteenth century and the interpretation behind the art that presented in the course.

교육 기관: Denni D

2017년 10월 4일

This course has surpassed my expectations in every way. Robert Campbell is an engaging, thoughtful and deeply knowledgable lecturer who obviously takes pleasure from sharing his knowledge. I have learnt so much! Thank you.