Chevron Left
Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan(으)로 돌아가기

도쿄 대학의 Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
634개의 평가
199개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

In their ambition to capture “real life,” Japanese painters, poets, novelists and photographers of the nineteenth century collaborated in ways seldom explored by their European contemporaries. This course offers learners the chance to encounter and appreciate behavior, moral standards and some of the material conditions surrounding Japanese artists in the nineteenth century, in order to renew our assumptions about what artistic “realism” is and what it meant. Learners will walk away with a clear understanding of how society and the individual were conceived of and represented in early modern Japan. Unlike contemporary western art forms, which acknowledge their common debt as “sister arts” but remain divided by genre and discourse, Japanese visual and literary culture tended to combine, producing literary texts inspired by visual images, and visual images which would then be inscribed with poems and prose. Noticing and being able to interpret this indivisibility of visual/literary cultures is essential in understanding the social and psychological values embedded within the beauty of Japanese art....

최상위 리뷰

DP

2020년 10월 8일

Very interesting where I finished the whole course 2 weeks before the due date because I really enjoyed it. I have been a Japan fanatic since middle school so this course is really my cup of tea

YM

2020년 11월 30일

It was really fun to learn about the history of such art pieces as well as the notable people behind its creation and influence. Mr. Campbell discussed everything clearly as expected.

필터링 기준:

Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan의 200개 리뷰 중 101~125

교육 기관: Diana

2022년 6월 24일

A​mazing introductory course into the art and literature of 19th century Japan. I couldn't get enough of this fascinating subject. Thank you!

교육 기관: Hiranmoy L

2017년 10월 16일

Great course, excellent teaching by sensei. ALthough subtitles sometimes are wrongly interpreted (like 'major restoration' nstead of 'Meiji'

교육 기관: Andrea K L

2017년 12월 28일

Excellent introduction, I enjoyed this course tremendously, very informative, learned a lot.

Many thanks to Professor Campbell and his team!

교육 기관: Bert S

2020년 7월 25일

Surprisingly interesting to me. I first thought it had a limited scope but that gradually proved wrong. Thank you for creating the course.

교육 기관: Jerome H

2020년 7월 10일

面白かった. It is the first time i understood that combination of images and poems or words was a specificity of Japan in the 19-20th century.

교육 기관: Itziar B

2020년 11월 19일

I really enjoyed and learned, maybe a little short ...

Right now, I want to read a lot of about the themes suggested !!!

Thanks a lot !!!

교육 기관: Raul R

2021년 5월 31일

This is a one of a kind splendid course, where you'll be able to see some of the 19th and early 20th century art and culture history.

교육 기관: William D

2020년 12월 29일

This course provided me a perspective on writing and imagery that I had not considered. A welcome addition to my knowledge of Japan!

교육 기관: Yujin L

2018년 11월 2일

the lecturer is knowledgeable and engaging. it greatly enriched my appreciation of japanese arts and culture. i highly recommend it.

교육 기관: Justyna P

2021년 1월 4일

Excellent quality resources (presentations, videos), perfect instruction (the lecturer), and a very, very interesting topic itself.

교육 기관: Sevde B

2020년 11월 28일

It was definitely a great course! I've learned so much from this course and I'm willing to learn more about all of these subjects.

교육 기관: Marina d L

2021년 2월 9일

Very interesting, it is a side of Japanese history that I have never got in touch with as a brazilian. Thank you for the classes!

교육 기관: Evisa T

2021년 9월 10일

S​uper interesting course, the subject is limited, but that doesn't take at all from the amount of information we get. Thank you

교육 기관: Anuja S

2021년 1월 27일

Thoroughly fascinating, well-structured, and detailed. Of great value to anyone interested in Japanese history/literature/art.

교육 기관: Alice L

2021년 7월 2일

​This was such an amazing course and I highly recommend this to people interested in this topic. It was so fascinating!!

교육 기관: Maria J T P

2020년 9월 18일

It was really interesting, I learned a lot about Japan and its ways of expressing true human feelings, I really loved it

교육 기관: Victor S

2021년 3월 21일

What an interesting course! A lot of quality content, I'm really happy with the experience and insights provided by it.

교육 기관: Ozge C

2017년 10월 15일

It was a truly enlightening and highly enjoyable course with an amazing lecturer. My gratitude to all who was involved.

교육 기관: Daniela M P

2022년 1월 16일

The course has very interesting information about Japanese art, its history, influences and historical processes.

교육 기관: Susan S

2020년 8월 27일

The course was fascinating and well presented. I look forward to other courses by Mr. Robert Campbell. Thank you.

교육 기관: Javier A P

2019년 7월 30일

I really like Japan, and I wanted to learn a little more about its culture, so this course has served me a lot.

교육 기관: Fanny W G

2019년 4월 9일

I love this course. Amazing content provided in very easy to understand lessons! I enjoyed every minute of it!!

교육 기관: Vira T

2018년 5월 10일

Gives a deep and detailed image of the period. Helped a lot in my understanding writers of 19th cent in Japan.

교육 기관: Eniko M

2020년 11월 11일

It was a very interesting course on japanese culture - could proceed were quickly and finish it in 2 weeks.

교육 기관: Priscilla N

2020년 11월 29일

I really enjoyed listening to the lectures. The examples shown were uniformly interesting and beautiful.