Chevron Left
Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan(으)로 돌아가기

도쿄 대학의 Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
634개의 평가
199개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

In their ambition to capture “real life,” Japanese painters, poets, novelists and photographers of the nineteenth century collaborated in ways seldom explored by their European contemporaries. This course offers learners the chance to encounter and appreciate behavior, moral standards and some of the material conditions surrounding Japanese artists in the nineteenth century, in order to renew our assumptions about what artistic “realism” is and what it meant. Learners will walk away with a clear understanding of how society and the individual were conceived of and represented in early modern Japan. Unlike contemporary western art forms, which acknowledge their common debt as “sister arts” but remain divided by genre and discourse, Japanese visual and literary culture tended to combine, producing literary texts inspired by visual images, and visual images which would then be inscribed with poems and prose. Noticing and being able to interpret this indivisibility of visual/literary cultures is essential in understanding the social and psychological values embedded within the beauty of Japanese art....

최상위 리뷰

DP

2020년 10월 8일

Very interesting where I finished the whole course 2 weeks before the due date because I really enjoyed it. I have been a Japan fanatic since middle school so this course is really my cup of tea

YM

2020년 11월 30일

It was really fun to learn about the history of such art pieces as well as the notable people behind its creation and influence. Mr. Campbell discussed everything clearly as expected.

필터링 기준:

Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan의 200개 리뷰 중 126~150

교육 기관: Samantha E

2022년 4월 22일

V​ery interesting course and the professor knowledge made me kept my attention through the course.

교육 기관: Prathit B

2021년 6월 26일

Very Good Course, I would recommend it to everyone who are looking for a good taste in literature

교육 기관: Kam L

2020년 11월 26일

Excellent review of how words and pictures are integral to 19th century literary culture in Japan.

교육 기관: Katrin W

2018년 11월 22일

I thoroughly enjoyed taking this course, while at the same time learning a lot about the subject.

교육 기관: Steven T W

2021년 3월 16일

Great course with very interesting insight into art and literature in nineteenth century Japan.

교육 기관: Giuliano B

2021년 1월 16일

This is a fascinating cultural course that I have learned a lot. I am very grateful. Thank you

교육 기관: Shohei W

2020년 5월 18일

Very good overview of relationship between Japanese photography and illustrations and texts

교육 기관: Aurea L R

2019년 2월 10일

It has been very interesting. I've learned a lot about a topic that I do not know

Thank's!!!

교육 기관: Ricardo M

2017년 10월 30일

A great course with plenty of interesting data and delivered by a master in the subject.

교육 기관: yui k

2020년 6월 12일

Watanabe Kazan's insights gave me something for current Black Lives Matter movements.

교육 기관: Sandra R d C

2020년 6월 25일

The content is very interesting and well explained and many beautiful images, too.

교육 기관: Janna T K

2018년 2월 26일

An excellent course worth of seeing for anyone who is interested in oriental art.

교육 기관: Daniel Y

2020년 11월 19일

Fascinating, well edited, served in easy to digest bits, and very communicative.

교육 기관: Mauricio U C

2021년 1월 16일

Very enjoyable and full of interesting information. Allowed me to learn a lot.

교육 기관: Tala B

2018년 2월 7일

An amazing and interesting demonstrations from Japanese visual art and culture

교육 기관: Hayley H

2017년 11월 18일

Love the professor! He explains literature and arts so clearly and elegantly.

교육 기관: Мальчикова С П

2018년 10월 31일

Thank you so much for this course! I had a great pleasure when I passed it.

교육 기관: Brian C S

2017년 12월 6일

Recommended for those interested in studying 19th century Japanese history

교육 기관: Spiros X

2019년 4월 20일

great lecture. I have learn so many for Japanese culture and history.

thx!

교육 기관: Karolina U

2020년 10월 25일

Very useful and interesting for me as a East Asian culture specialist :)

교육 기관: Tran T H

2021년 5월 19일

甚だ有意義なコースだと思います。それを通して、19世紀に日本での芸術と文化に関する多くの見識がはっきり分かります。ありがとうございました~~

교육 기관: Carmen

2019년 2월 21일

Very interesting introduction to a subject I was very ignorant about!

교육 기관: Seif A K

2021년 9월 13일

It was Fabulous, Looking forward to more courses on Japanese Culture

교육 기관: Melina C K

2019년 3월 6일

Very interesting course! Great to start understanding Japanese art!

교육 기관: Sagan-Indiana C

2020년 8월 10일

Loved it! Inspired a whole new literary area of research for me.