Chevron Left
Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan(으)로 돌아가기

도쿄 대학의 Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
634개의 평가
199개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

In their ambition to capture “real life,” Japanese painters, poets, novelists and photographers of the nineteenth century collaborated in ways seldom explored by their European contemporaries. This course offers learners the chance to encounter and appreciate behavior, moral standards and some of the material conditions surrounding Japanese artists in the nineteenth century, in order to renew our assumptions about what artistic “realism” is and what it meant. Learners will walk away with a clear understanding of how society and the individual were conceived of and represented in early modern Japan. Unlike contemporary western art forms, which acknowledge their common debt as “sister arts” but remain divided by genre and discourse, Japanese visual and literary culture tended to combine, producing literary texts inspired by visual images, and visual images which would then be inscribed with poems and prose. Noticing and being able to interpret this indivisibility of visual/literary cultures is essential in understanding the social and psychological values embedded within the beauty of Japanese art....

최상위 리뷰

DP

2020년 10월 8일

Very interesting where I finished the whole course 2 weeks before the due date because I really enjoyed it. I have been a Japan fanatic since middle school so this course is really my cup of tea

YM

2020년 11월 30일

It was really fun to learn about the history of such art pieces as well as the notable people behind its creation and influence. Mr. Campbell discussed everything clearly as expected.

필터링 기준:

Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan의 200개 리뷰 중 176~200

교육 기관: Juan M C M

2020년 4월 23일

Ha sido de gran ayuda!!

교육 기관: Lisheng H

2017년 12월 9일

Unique scope of history

교육 기관: Vy N

2019년 3월 16일

I love this course!!!

교육 기관: jordi o j

2017년 12월 7일

so interesting info!

교육 기관: Dinno B L

2022년 4월 17일

thank you very much

교육 기관: Douglas Q

2020년 5월 18일

Very Interesting!

교육 기관: Sebastian G

2017년 12월 1일

Excellent Course!

교육 기관: Fabíola d S F d R

2022년 4월 24일

Excelente curso.

교육 기관: Britt W

2021년 4월 16일

great professor

교육 기관: Sofiia Z

2021년 2월 22일

Amazing course!

교육 기관: Hisanori S

2021년 3월 24일

Hisanori Sato

교육 기관: Kleber L d S

2019년 10월 24일

Muito bom.

교육 기관: Pratap J

2020년 11월 30일

Loved it

교육 기관: Gabriela A C

2017년 12월 29일

Great.

교육 기관: Lee Y S J

2017년 12월 3일

I found the course content very interesting and the delivery generally very easy to understand. The professor also showed his wealth of knowledge in the subject matter through his lectures. If there is one thing which I was unhappy about, it has to be the subtitles for the lectures which were riddled with mistakes and the Japanese terms had a fair number of spelling mistakes. If this can be improved, it will help the students learn better. On a related note, it would be good to have the Japanese names of the individuals featured in the course as I find that there are limited resources in English if I want to do further reading on these people and would need their names in Japanese script to find resources in Japanese.

교육 기관: Thana S

2021년 2월 9일

The course is very good for non-Japanese reader by having an English professor convey the class. The story and guide gave me new knowledge that could not be found from the book. The only minor thing is I'd expect more photographs and paintings demonstrated in this course. Thank you

교육 기관: Ebru O

2018년 1월 4일

The course presents an interesting point of view that combines literature and visual materials (ukiyo-e, illustrations and photographs) in Japanese culture. There are many specific examples that we study and make the concept easier to understand.

교육 기관: Michael K

2021년 5월 2일

Robert Cambell is clearly knowledgeable and very motivated to share his knowledge to others. Sometimes he deviates from his main topic and that makes it difficult to keep track of his main point.

교육 기관: Sumyi L

2020년 4월 19일

Nice learning pace and interesting pick of works of art. It will be great if it can come with a suggested reading list.

교육 기관: Pilar P d C

2018년 4월 13일

Fascinating information of Japans changing mindset in reference to the image and the onset of photography.

교육 기관: Michelle M

2021년 8월 21일

I found this to be an exceptionally interesting course and learned a lot, thank you.

교육 기관: Kellan M

2020년 3월 31일

Very interesting subject for those interested in art of the world.

교육 기관: Vivek S

2020년 8월 13일

A nice course on the literary prowess of 19th century Japan.

교육 기관: Caroline H

2018년 1월 24일

It was a surprise to see a course on this topic. At first I found the central premise fascinating, but would have preferred more conciseness in the lectures and a wider variety of assessment tasks. For instance, why not have students analyse some images themselves?

교육 기관: Justin H

2019년 12월 23일

There was some interesting information here, but I can not imagine any situation where a certificate of completion for this course would be useful. About half of the images could have been interchanged with any number of random photos from the period.