Chevron Left
Visual Perception and the Brain(으)로 돌아가기

듀크대학교의 Visual Perception and the Brain 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
142개의 평가
40개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Learners will be introduced to the problems that vision faces, using perception as a guide. The course will consider how what we see is generated by the visual system, what the central problem for vision is, and what visual perception indicates about how the brain works. The evidence will be drawn from neuroscience, psychology, the history of vision science and what philosophy has contributed. Although the discussions will be informed by visual system anatomy and physiology, the focus is on perception. We see the physical world in a strange way, and goal is to understand why....

최상위 리뷰

XG

Apr 13, 2017

The course has got everything clearly conveyed and has enabled me (not at all familiar with the topic) to understand the major points. Thanks very much for offering it~

JB

Apr 04, 2017

Very interesting MOOC. The instructor is very knowledgeable in the area and uses interesting examples to explain the content.

필터링 기준:

Visual Perception and the Brain의 38개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Marco M

Jun 20, 2019

The course started amazingly, with really interesting discussions, but ended being an introduction to weird perceptual phenomena explained through empirical experience. Important if you want to get a certificate: the final essay is almost impossible to get evaluated!! Too few people

교육 기관: Himanshu A

Jun 17, 2018

Although the course material is absolutely fantastic. Some concepts should be elucidated further.

교육 기관: Xue K

May 29, 2018

A very insightful course. Super straightforward. A perfect choice as an introductory course.

교육 기관: Diego A G G

May 15, 2018

Excellent!!

교육 기관: Guillermo U O G

Feb 23, 2018

It was a good course and very helpful

교육 기관: Alessandro R

Jan 27, 2018

The course is very interesting, it explains the basic features of the human visual system in a nice and understandable way, providing many interesting example of how our perceptron is affected by the external world and our own experience.

교육 기관: Clare H

Jan 13, 2018

Starts you off in the weeds of the anatomy and physiology of vision, but quickly gets to the heart of the philosophical problem of connecting subjective visual perception to objective external physical properties of the world. I found the problem very well defined, the argument organized and compelling, and the material engaging. I appreciated the relative rigor of the quizzes and the fact that the material was presented in a way I thought was accessible and interesting to both beginners and mid-level students alike. It gave me a new perspective.

교육 기관: Al-Rashid J

Dec 27, 2017

Interesting and thought provocative

교육 기관: Maria S

Nov 18, 2017

Excellent course!

교육 기관: Joseph T

Nov 16, 2017

Excellent course. Did a lot to change my views of perception and reality.

교육 기관: Salman M

Nov 11, 2017

An absolute pleasure of a course. Most of the stuff is well-explained, even for people outside of Neuroscience. As a person working in Machine Learning, this course also broadened my views about how vision and the brain works.

교육 기관: Donald L G

Oct 07, 2017

Very professional and easy to follow lecture side by side with a presentation.

교육 기관: Thiago G d S M

Oct 06, 2017

very good

교육 기관: Julia Z

Jul 02, 2017

Ótimo curso! O professor é excelente, explica muito bem, tornando todas as aulas muito interessantes.

교육 기관: Rustan A

May 25, 2017

A revelation...

교육 기관: Simonov O

May 11, 2017

This course gave me another view at the problem of visual perception. The course relates more to psychology than to medicine. Essay writing is mandatory for the completion of the course. Thanks to Professor Purves and his team from the Duke Institute for Brain Sciences.

교육 기관: Yusun L

Apr 29, 2017

Hard topics but easy explained or illustrated.

교육 기관: David B

Apr 20, 2017

Great Job!

교육 기관: Mustafa S Y

Apr 15, 2017

The course is excellently done with well-ordered sequence of lectures that explains visual perception in a new and very interesting way. The instructor speaks in an easily understood English, and his presentation of the material is very well done. I highly recommend this course to anyone interested in psychology, vision, neuroanatomy and neurophysiology.

교육 기관: Anna J

Feb 18, 2017

The course introduces new information gradually, within a known context, as well as exploring the use of images (of the brain, for example). These procedures facilitate learning. I was not able to keep up with the course at the pace of the class (on the dates stipulated) because I am learning English in parallel. But that is a deficiency of mine and I did not give course. Congratulations to the Coursera, Duke University, the organizers of the Visual Perception and the Brain course, and especially to Professor PhD Dale Purves, for excellent content quality, approach, theme, and the opportunity to democratize knowledge to anyone in the world. Thank you!!

교육 기관: Shreya T

Jan 26, 2017

It is a must for all those who would love to explore vision at the perspective of neuroscience and evolution.

교육 기관: Eric W

Jan 23, 2017

An awesome course to get familiar with the mechanism of visual perception.

교육 기관: Chris L

Jan 23, 2017

great layout and well presented. concepts were stimulating and I felt I learnt a lot. I would have liked some discussion around topics such as amblyopia and development, effects of observer movement, and the links between visual perception and the vestibular system. Having said that, I think the content was plenty for a 5 week course.

교육 기관: Pramit B

Dec 18, 2016

Course was amazing. It deals with how to correctly understand visual illusions through empirical data collection. It does not delve into the anatomical aspects, or the cellular aspects, of vision. Some drawbacks would be the lack of explanation on how to model or collect the data, which is probably too complicated to state in a online course anyway.

교육 기관: Aleksandr V

Nov 03, 2016

Carefully listen to "About the Course" video, so your expectations won't be deceived