Chevron Left
Paradoxes of War(으)로 돌아가기

프린스턴 대학교의 Paradoxes of War 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
600개의 평가
130개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

The Paradoxes of War teaches us to understand that war is not only a normal part of human existence, but is arguably one of the most important factors in making us who we are. Through this course, I hope that you will come to appreciate that war is both a natural expression of common human emotions and interactions and a constitutive part of how we cohere as groups. That is, war is paradoxically an expression of our basest animal nature and the exemplar of our most vaunted and valued civilized virtues. You will learn some basic military history and sociology in this course as a lens for the more important purpose of seeing the broader social themes and issues related to war. I want you to both learn about war, but more importantly, use it as way of understanding your everyday social world. So, for example, the discussion of war and gender will serve to start you thinking about how expectations of masculinity are created and our discussion of nationalism will make clear how easy “us-them” dichotomies can be established and (ab)used. I will suggest some readings for you to complement the class and assign some activities through which you will be able to apply the theoretical insights from the course to your observations of everyday life. At the end of the course, you will start to see war everywhere and come to appreciate how much it defines our life. All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

최상위 리뷰

JP

Jun 02, 2016

One of the best academic experiences I had.\n\nAs a soldier I would recomend it to my fellow soldiers and to my civillian friends so they could understand a little better the paradoxes of war.

DW

Mar 15, 2018

Very interesting topic and well-presented, too. Covers virtually every historic period in which there's been warfare (which, I guess, is every historic period in which there's been people).

필터링 기준:

Paradoxes of War의 130개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: kittikoon s

Aug 14, 2015

This course has changed my view of war. It's very exciting course!

교육 기관: Mark M

Aug 23, 2016

I appreciated the professor's clear and articulate lectures, together with the use of in-lecture questions to reinforce the main concepts.

I may not completely agree with all of the points raised by the good professor, but the perspective he offered on historical events was greatly appreciated.

I also appreciated that approaching the methods of war within different cultures would have required a much larger and longer course and so I am grateful to the professor for placing his focus where he did.

It is unfortunate that my timing in participating in this class reduced my ability to properly interact with other students during the progress of the lessons, but I have to accept responsibility for that aspect.

Still, I consider this to be one of the more exceptional courses offered by Coursera and credit that largely to the presentation skills of the good professor. I thank him for sharing his knowledge and this opportunity to consider a topic I would not ordinarily study in such detail.

교육 기관: Ricardo P A

Dec 22, 2015

Bom Dia

sou jornalista do terceiro site mais acessado do Brasil nas redes sócias na categoria geopolítica, o nome do meu site e Assuntos Militares ( www.assuntosmilitares.jor.br ) e minha 6 tentativa de finalizar esse curso, que seria de extrema importância a no meu currículo, mais infelizmente não estou conseguindo, gostaria de deixa registrado

Ricardo Pereira Azevedo

Journalist and Photographer

Site Assuntos Militares (Military Affairs)

Find us on Facebook

https://www.facebook.com/assuntosmilitaresbr.

For additional information, visit our website at: www.assuntosmilitares.jor.br

Add our Twitter: https://twitter.com/AssuntoMilitar

Thank you for visiting our website, have a great day!

교육 기관: Elizabeth S

Jun 29, 2016

Paradoxes of War was maybe one of the most interesting course I've enrolled in Coursera.

I can say for sure that I've learned a lot via Prof. Miguel Centeno through all those weeks. I admire him for his passion and his knowledge. I was really surprised to watch how many things he knows about Ancient Greek history and Mythology and most of all I was really pleased to listen to him using a great deal of "hellenic vocabulary". That amazed me!

I would like to thank him personally about this course.

I am looking forward to take another class of yours again in the future.

Thank you!

Elizabeth (Greece)

교육 기관: Ning J

Mar 29, 2016

Great lectures. The course material spans from ancient warfare and tactics all the way to modern wars that involve atomic bombs and guerrillas. He not only introduces us to the history of western warfare, but more importantly he focuses on the relationship of war and society -- on how wars arise from societal needs or conflicts as well as on how wars shape and transform society. He strikes a good balance between addressing the paradoxes of war and avoiding getting too much in politics and ideologies of war.

교육 기관: Krajc, D

May 29, 2016

Thank you for this brilliant insight about the nature of war. I am now "20.000 leagues" closer to understand the nature of war. In other words "Aha!". Sure, this course isn´t to replace real studies in sociology of warfare. Nevertheless: "How can I know what I say, until I see what I say." --- Thinking, speaking, acting --> makes us ethical blind or brings us to freedom and peace, changing everyday life in peace. Knowing to defend our planet, even to be in war with clashing ideology.

교육 기관: Gene P

Mar 29, 2016

Excellent course. I really enjoyed it! My most recent educational experience (I am 72 and a vet of the vietnam era) has been with the Great Courses from the Learning Company. This rates with the best of those many courses I have taken. I really appreciate the quizzes at the end of every lesson since they help to reinforce the key points (they also remind me of my college experience and the philosophy that every cadet will be graded in every class, everyday!)

Kudos to the Prof!

교육 기관: Evgenia C

Nov 11, 2015

Very interesting course. It helped me gain a more profound understanding of the methods of warmaking and the power an organised, well-coordinated action of a group of people has in general. The teaching approach of the professor Miguel Centeno has been one of the basic reasons for which this couse has been both so delightful and enriching. I would strongly recomend this course to everyone that is interested in the field of international affairs.

교육 기관: Timothy

Jun 12, 2018

Thank you, Miguel. I watched your videos with great interest. You and I are the same age so it was interesting hearing your perspectives on things. I have spent most of my life in the Defense industry, both in uniform and now as a contractor. While having never served in combat or seen it from up close, I found your research and application of the sociological aspects of war on a civilization as extraordinarily fascinating. Thank you! Tim

교육 기관: Nichols J

Jun 15, 2018

Great class according to its objective, to study wars from a sociological point of view. There is perhaps a need for a deeper review from the military point of view and the eastern form of conflict, but such matters are beyond the scope of the course as the teacher says. It aroused curiosity on various subjects and will certainly help me in the masters!

교육 기관: Maren M

Aug 20, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed the course. Professor Centeno guided us through history to show that even wars can make some positive contributions to societies and to soldiers. You do not have to agree with him to notice that he is a very good online lecturer. It was my first MOOC where I felt I'm in an auditorium and not at my computer.

교육 기관: William M

Oct 05, 2017

This is an outstanding course. I was not sure that I would be interested in the topic, but it turned out to be a very interesting course. It is a course about the sociology of war, but it also covers some military history, philosophy of war and psychology of war, which gives it an intriguing interdisciplinary spirit.

교육 기관: Mladen V

Aug 16, 2015

Nice course with broad overview, appropriate to wide audience concern to warfare, politics, defense and security. Also, literature is very interesting and suggested books have reasonable price. Topics of discussions are inspiring and ingratiating. Teaching style is relaxed, well pointed and very interesting.

교육 기관: Shirley s

Nov 29, 2019

Excelente enfoque, invita al tema. Definitivamente me abrió una nueva perspectiva a la política.

Cabe una continuación del curso abarcando los centros de poder que crean la facturación o debilitamiento de los estados por las mafias. La estrategia del foro de Sau Paulo y sus alcances.

교육 기관: Arianne L

Jul 28, 2016

Great course! Good, clear and well structured lectures and interesting readings. Although much of the information in the course was not new to me, the course taught me several new viewpoints and that was really nice. Thank you for providing this course and for the effort!

교육 기관: Manuela E

Oct 08, 2015

This was a very interesting course - clearly presented and well paced. The assignments were at a good level - with my only recommendation being a bit more detail in the marking rubrik.

Thank you - it was a thought provoking analysis on a topic that could be very emotional.

교육 기관: Carolyn S

Jun 02, 2016

This course is entirely riveting and imminently informative, timely, and important. Dr. Centeno is a wonderfully engaging instructor and he does an excellent job of discussing these often difficult, thorny issues with sensitivity, academic acuteness, and balance.

교육 기관: Tracey P

Sep 22, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and thought it was an excellent introduction to thinking about war from a sociological perspective which picks apart our 'common sense' and 'everyday' understandings. I've also found it a great launchpad for further study.

교육 기관: Gustavo B

Dec 22, 2015

The professor is excellent, great didactic. Good material, readings and pictures to illustrate the course.

I would only suggest to try to not repeat the content on the classes, but I understand he was repeating some topics in order to state some points.

교육 기관: Tom H

Sep 04, 2015

I found this course extremely interesting and very informative. I have long been interested in the evolution of society and in particular the advances made by society. The development of the nation state and its institutions was fascinating.

교육 기관: Ricardo P

Jul 12, 2016

Excelente. Ofrece una gran cantidad de elementos teóricos para entender el fenómeno de la guerra. Como historiador militar me resulta muy constructivo conocer la visión sociológica que ayuda a comprender y complementar mis investigaciones.

교육 기관: Swen L

Mar 09, 2017

Interesting approach and good overview of the long history and development of the Western way of war.

A bit of a gap between the long historical development lines up until WW2 and the the last lectures about more recent events.

교육 기관: Dennis V

Jul 17, 2016

Great. Gives very interesting points of view and he enlightens interesting aspects.

I like his style of presentationand and he is very good to understand. If he would do another project with Cousera - I would join.

Thanks!

교육 기관: Angela J

Oct 31, 2016

Fantastic course on war by a professor who is passionate, articulate, and very focused in his effort to provide primer material on such a wide and complex topic. Thanks very much for creating this course! I've learnt a ton.

교육 기관: JOHN Q

Jan 25, 2016

As a 24 yr military officer from a service academy I would like to complement the instructor......He is doing a great job, especially given no military service and direct experience in battle. I complement him.